We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An Inverness Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trafford Bank Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trafford Bank Guest House
Ranked #13 of 239 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Inverness Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

From the comfortable, chic decor to the warm, welcoming atmosphere, Trafford Bank is amongst the elite of Inverness' Bed and Breakfast establishments. Lorraine, our hostess, was friendly and helpful, quick to make us feel at home and point out great local restaurants which were, due to Trafford Bank's convenient location, just an easy walk away. We stayed in the newly redecorated "Thistle Room". Our only complaint? We wish we could have stayed a few days more!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KREstes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    28
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
250
21
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent 3 nights here on a recent trip and loved the place. It's a great house with lovely grounds and it's decorated very artistically, featuring the art of some local artists. Our room (the Floral Suite) was nicely sized and airy, as were the common rooms. The location was fine, with a 10-15 minute walk into the city center, and our host, Lorraine, was quite helpful whenever necessary. (The off-road parking was a plus too.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IBJeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you are looking for luxury and comfort combined with a mixture of peace & quiet but still within walking distance of Inverness city centre for all the best restaurants - then this is the place to stay. The rooms are unique with various artworks collected personally by hostess Lorraine who provides a warm welcome to everyone. Each room reflects a different aspect of the Highlands of Scotland with emphasis on buying from local manufacturers, even down to the toiletries (the Victorian roll top bath is amazing!).The breakfasts are wonderful with so much variety - you will not need to eat again until evening dinner! I felt as though I had been away for much longer than the 4 nights I stayed there such was the relaxing atmosphere and the exclusive surroundings which you will not find in any other guesthouse - therefore it is something special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 688ElizabethH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a find. Everything is brilliant from the food to the relaxing and comfortable rooms. Excellent facilities available in the lounge from DVD's to a small library. The sherry also goes down well as a night cap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyDavie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We've been on the road for three months, and appreciate small details when we stay somewhere -this place had so much attention to detail and lovely surprises that made us feel both comfortable and like we were having a big treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent a lovely evening at the Trafford Bank Guest House in Inverness. Hostess Lorraine was cordial and the room extremely clean, with a pleasing decor and an incredible eye for detail. The toiletries wonderfully unique and organic. Her restaurant recommendations were tantalizing yet we got a little turned around with her directions (but that's another story... Thanks Tony-the-ex-Cabbie!). Breakfast was wonderful and on par with the best we had in Scotland. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandKPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Last July, I stayed with my husband at Trafford Bank Guest House.
A warm welcome. A modern style furniture of the living room. Many paintings and art objects in the house. A particular taste for the art details. Everything very clean. A lovely room. A tasty breakfast with special different kind of cheese. In the room very good cookies and fair trade teas. Bath products from local producers. A nice garden, even if we could not enjoy it because of the rain. About 20 minutes walk to reach the city center.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nany2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
4.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#5 of 33 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 33 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#8 of 239 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trafford Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafford Bank Guest House

Property: Trafford Bank Guest House
Address: 96 Fairfield Rd, Inverness IV35LL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 239 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trafford Bank Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1873 Trafford Bank was the house sof the BIshop of Moray and Rosshire. A Boutique style guest house full of orignal art and local pottery and furniture. 5 ensuite double rooms furnished to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HRS, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your Trafford Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafford Bank Guest House Hotel Inverness
Trafford Bank Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing