We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in unique place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trafford Bank Guest House
Ranked #17 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay in unique place”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We've been on the road for three months, and appreciate small details when we stay somewhere -this place had so much attention to detail and lovely surprises that made us feel both comfortable and like we were having a big treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    29
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
86
269
21
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent a lovely evening at the Trafford Bank Guest House in Inverness. Hostess Lorraine was cordial and the room extremely clean, with a pleasing decor and an incredible eye for detail. The toiletries wonderfully unique and organic. Her restaurant recommendations were tantalizing yet we got a little turned around with her directions (but that's another story... Thanks Tony-the-ex-Cabbie!). Breakfast was wonderful and on par with the best we had in Scotland. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandKPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Last July, I stayed with my husband at Trafford Bank Guest House.
A warm welcome. A modern style furniture of the living room. Many paintings and art objects in the house. A particular taste for the art details. Everything very clean. A lovely room. A tasty breakfast with special different kind of cheese. In the room very good cookies and fair trade teas. Bath products from local producers. A nice garden, even if we could not enjoy it because of the rain. About 20 minutes walk to reach the city center.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nany2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My mum and I stayed here for three nights ( 19 20 21 jan 2013) ! It was a bit of a pilgrimage for my mum as she was born in Inverness and had not been back since her family moved to Australia 56 years ago. So being a special occasion, we were so happy to have found a place that matched the importance of the stay. It's a lovely pink sandstone building and with wonderful design inside by the owner Lorraine. She was a great host with yummy breakfasts ( WE loved the square sausage things ;) ) and enjoyed our chats over our coffees. As mentioned the house is designed beautifully, with a touch of quirkiness ( I loved my alien coffee plunger!!! ) It also has lots of great art and pottery where ever you turned. We stayed in the green room which was beautiful. The touches of luxury were seriously first class. Wonderful coffee machine. Luxury hand made soaps and toiletries, sewing kits, grooming kits, bath robes, complimentary yummy sherry.... It goes on and on and on. We also loved the huge selection of DVDs which we could watch in our room. It was a wonderful stay and hard to beat! Thank you Lorraine, and Enjoy Goa! Jared and Audrey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had the pleasure to stay at Trafford Bank in September 2012 for 3 nights. Our travels in UK and Scotland involved about 12 different accommodation locales.
This was the best--in every respect--by a country mile.
The epitome of excellence, elegance and perfection.Warm and inviting.
Would not hesitate to return.
Please, fellow travellers, do yourself a favour and put this on your bucket list.
Veronica and Mike--Australia
PS Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Tartan room was superb--large and comfortable. Veryusable bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

First, this is a beautiful old house and wonderfully restored. The bedrooms and bathrooms have been renovated in high-quality style, arranged elegantly and conveniently. There are several extra complimentary items that ensure guests are perfectly comfortable. The house is a short walk from the river and located in a quiet neighborhood.

Second, the homemade breakfast was absolutely top notch. Great variety and the breakfast room was lovely, overlooking the gardens.

Finally, Lorraine was wonderful. She has literally thought of everything a guest could need and has supplied it. She is friendly and ready with suggestions for place to eat and visit. She has created a truly lovely experience at Trafford Bank. I would easily stay here again and will recommend to friends/family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Thank you Lorraine for your kind hospitality, wonderful fresh homemade breakfast and great recommendations on where to eat in Inverness. The house benefits from being so close to great restaurants well within walking distance, lovely decor and homely atmosphere. Would not stay anywhere else in Inverness and looking forwad to my return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
545 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 34 in Inverness
612 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trafford Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafford Bank Guest House

Property: Trafford Bank Guest House
Address: 96 Fairfield Road, Inverness IV3 5LL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trafford Bank Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1873 Trafford Bank was the house sof the BIshop of Moray and Rosshire. A Boutique style guest house full of orignal art and local pottery and furniture. 5 ensuite double rooms furnished to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Trafford Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafford Bank Guest House Hotel Inverness
Trafford Bank Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing