We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Craigmonie is about ten minutes walk from the city centre. On arrival, Norma on reception was very helpful and keen to take time telling us about the local area. We were also upgraded to a very large and comfortable room - one of the new rooms at the back of the hotel. The bed was very comfortable - and enormous! The swimming pool, sauna and mini gym were fine though quite small. They were not busy when we used them but would quickly become overcrowded. There was a good choice at breakfast, better quality sausages and bacon than in some other places we have been and, again, very friendly staff. Its true that some areas of the hotel (corridor toward the pool, the breakfast room) are a little tired and dated but overall, its a nice hotel and although we did not dine there, the conservatory at the front of the hotel would be a great spot for lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: The new "family rooms" (ours was 256) are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 537 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for a week for business reasons. Couldn't fault the staff one bit, everyone I came into contact with was very friendly and efficient. Food was lovely, not too fancy and big portions. My room was clean and comfortable, but the window kept being left open which was annoying as I wasn't quite tall enough to close it properly, so it kept swinging open through the night. There was also a lose bulb on the ceiling, although it was working. Facilities were fine, including a small gym, pool and sauna. Clean and useable, although a bit dated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inbetweener33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

stayed here for buisness trip. rooms well lovely and clean however one spot light above my bed was out, one bedside light was out and bathroom mirror had no bulbs working. the rooms were extremelly hot i was on first floor and only way to open window was fully open as til made full window come out and i didnt feel comfortable leaving a window wide open there is air con but its quite noisy when your trying to sleep. when i had arrived in my room my window was wide open also on first day it was cleaned cleaner left it wide open and weirdly plugged my straigtners back in i always unplug everything and the other people i stayed with said the same their hairdryers were plugged back in.
food was really nice, nicley presented to. soup and roast was the specials and they were the same for a few days running so menu started a bit samey, no pasta options, only a caeser salad option.
i used the swimming pool it was lovely and clean changing facilites could do with an overhaul missing roof tiles and cold and really tired looking felt like i was in another hotel compaired to the rest of it.
overall i would go back but just not for as long a few simple tweeks maintenence wise would make a difference.

Room Tip: double check your window is fully closed before you leave the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauramer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My mum and I have just arrived home. We stayed for 2 nights. I wil be recommending this hotel to all my friends and family. The hotel was first class from the food to the rooms. But what was excellent was the welcome we received from when arrived until we checked out. Many thanks to all staff at this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor. My mum is 81. There was a lift in hotel, so no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arrived at the hotel on the Friday afternoon, and were warmly greeted by the reception staff.
Check -in was hassle free and set the tone for the whole weekend.
Family room was surprisingly large, with good view out over the front of the hotel.
Restaurant meals were a real treat, with service to match.
Ample areas to relax, ad enjoy the pleasant surroundings within the hotel.
Good size swimming pool, which proved popular with most guests taking advantage of the chance to exercise a little at least once dur5ing their stay.
Highly recommend this hotel, for those seeking a quality service, with a location close to the city centre, yet quite enough to unwind should you feel the need.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The staff here were the most helpful I have ever meet in a hotel,Neill the manager made special effort to find us a room when he heard we were on a hospital visit,and would be staying a few times.The girls on front desk were so kind to us and helpful.The food was also lovely and it was nice to relax in the sauna,. then we relaxed after our meal in front of lovely fire.We are looking forward to staying there again this week.
p.s. must not forget the rest of staff who were really nice .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcoag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Craigmonie as a party of 10 for lunch to celebrate my mother's 70th.
We were not disappointed. Everybody was happy with their meal. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It was no problem to take a cake with us nor to sit in the lounge for a fair amount of time after our meal to catch up.
Highly recommend.  

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank finlaymcculloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,840 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 36 in Inverness
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.

Address: 9 Annfield Road, Inverness IV2 3HX, Scotland (Formerly Swallow Craigmonie)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $78 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmonie Hotel And Leisure Ltd.
Craigmonie Hotel Inverness
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing