We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far one of the best hotels we have stayed in.!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“By far one of the best hotels we have stayed in.!!!!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for our anniversary and could not have picked a better place to stay. The cleanliness, the service, and the very nice staff who could not do enough to make our stay very pleasant. Also the excellent food was first class will definately be back again, hopefuly sooner rather than later. Will also gladly recomend to our friends. Thank you very much Craigmonie for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    172
    82
    29
    16
See reviews for
109
197
21
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
skyte
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Craigmonie Hotel in Inverness, and we were very glad to have visited this hotel. the room was quite adequate, nice and clean, plenty of hot water, and certainly warm enough. the staff were friendly, welcoming and always very polite. we arrived early, which meant our room was not quite ready( our own fault) but we were treated to a large cup off coffee and some shortbread biscuits by the fireside for the short wait. the evening meals were well prepared and presented, with plenty to choose from on the menu, try the "Haggis, neeps and potato cake" as a starter, mmm, tasty, i had it both nights. breakfast was buffet style, all freshly cooked and piping hot, again plenty options to choose from. so all in all a nice hotel and one we will certainly pick when we decide to visit inverness for a short stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogsandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Rooms spacious and comfortable, always clean and tidy. Food superb, value for money. An excellent hotel for business use.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We had a family wedding in the hotel but left it late in the day trying to get a room, The hotel website and various online sites said that the hotel was fully booked and the rate was £90 for bed and breakfast for 2. I phoned the hotel anyway and to my surprise they had a room and a special offer of b&b for £70 which was brilliant.
Admittedly we were in one of the last rooms in the hotel 228 i think? And there was 230-something rooms, it was small but comfortable with up to date decor. The bathroom was quite big for the size of the room and looks to have been recently installed. The only downside of the bathroom is that it didnt seem to have a fan so when we showered it got quite steamy.
We decided to have an evening meal in the hotel and the food was lovely. There was an a la carte menu or a 2 courses for £15 which was brilliant- being that it was a saturday night.
After our wedding reception the kind staff let us stay in the small lounge having some drinks into the small hours and they kindly made coffee etc even though it ment cranking on the turned off coffee machine in the small hours of the morning.

Breakfast time was excellent- hot buffet with cereals etc. Lovely surprise and just what the doctor ordered after the night before.

Had a look at the swimming pool which looked nice but we didnt use it.
Its a 10 minute walk down hill to the centre of town (but a steep hill on way back), but we took the car as we didnt know where we were going. We parked in a multi-story car park in the centre of town and it was only 90p for 2/3 hours!! In aberdeen you would be at least £3 +

Would stay in the hotel again if it was the same price - considering the travel lodge was going to be £60! If it was £90 then i might consider looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aberdeenlass1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We booked for one night at extremely short notice. I asked for a good sized room in view of some of the criticisms. Reception was very friendly when we arrived (after a horrible journey), our room very large with a four poster bed, bathroom small but spotless, with shower over bath. Dinner was good without being outstanding, wine reasonably priced, and breakfast excellent. All the staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Not a sophisticated hotel, but altogether excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Visited Inverness en route further north &decided to stay over. Chose the Craigmonie Hotel from googling Inverness Hotels &are definately happy that we did. As Premier Inn was looking for £80 B&B we decided to check out traditional hotels chose this one. We have a very clean, modern room in a well presented hotel in a lovely area. We have dined in the conservatory which has a very pleasant, relaxing atmosphere and have both thoroughly enjoyed our meals. They were perfectly cooked, presented &portioned. There is a very comfortable lounge bar with a 'real' fire. Our room is adequately sized with a sparkling bathroom with shower &toiletries. It is traditionally furnished, unmarked & spotless :-) The staff have been very helpful both at reception &at dinner...looking forward to breakfast now! The pool is very inviting so we're sorry not to be using it...THIS VISIT! Would most certainly return &thoroughly recommend the Craigmonie.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koli7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed for one night en route to Harris. We booked 2 rooms and we had a dog with us. We had stayed at the malmaison in glasgow ther night before so we were not expecting to be impressed. The hotel is in a lovely resedential area and has plenty of parking. The staff were very nice....some very young but cheerful and competant. The swimming pool was a big hit with the children and its a bonus. We ate at the hotel and the food was fine and well priced - not michelin but fine! The public areas are nice and old school - its in keeping with the building! Ther rooms were good with very nice bathrooms and they were spotless. We got free wi-fi which was also a bonus. The only downside is that you have inconsiderate neighbous it is noisy - upstairs went to the bathroom about a dozen times - LOUDLY! For one night though we didn't care. Worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna26Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.

Property: Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Address: 9 Annfield Road, Inverness IV2 3HX, Scotland (Formerly Swallow Craigmonie)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmonie Hotel And Leisure Ltd.
Craigmonie Hotel Inverness
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing