We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family lunch”

Tomich Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 253 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Family lunch”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had lunch here with my mum, partner and seven month old son. It's a very traditional Scottish hotel and has a lot of charm and its nice and relaxing. There was plenty of room for a buggy too which is always a bonus.

The food was pretty good, we ate off the bar menu, I had curry and the others had cheese burgers. I thought the curry was excellent and there was plenty of it, there were no complaints about the cheeseburgers either.

Service was also good and including a few drinks the lunch came in at just over forty pounds which is reasonable for the quality of the food. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights here and had dinner both nights. Would thoroughly recommend it. Choice was limited but that is no bad thing....quality of food was fantastic and in particular the rump of lamb and game casserole. Staff were attentive without being overbearing. All made for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashwooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dinner in Tomich”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been visiting Tomich for 25 years and have eaten at the Tomich Hotel many times and been satisfied with the experience. This last time was truly awful. My main course was "fish and chips", the chips were in fact mini potato wedges which was alright but they had very obviously been kept over from the previous day and reheated, they were inedible. The fish was the smallest I have ever seen. My wife had a sweet of chocolate fudge cake with cream, the wedge of cake at the thick end was less than an inch; this cost £5.50!
Will I visit again? Certainly not.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LancashireOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive poor quality”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Ate here as a family of seven after a walk to the waterfalls. Food was expensive for what it was. Vegetables good. Customer service very poor. One meal (fish) was poorly cooked and therefore not eaten. Was offered 2 pounds off the price of this meal. Had to negotiate hard for a 50% reduction in the price of one meal. We will not be returning

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Whilst staying locally in Glen Affric lots of good things heard about this pub/restaurant. The service is good but the food it merely adequate; portions are extremely small and overpriced.
We had steak pie and new potatoes (three tiny ones) and whole baked trout (small, not especially fresh and coated in a very rich sauce).
Down the road at the Slaters arms we had the same main courses for £5 less each and they were far more tasty and filling.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank couns40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomich Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Tomich, Scottish Highlands
Struy, Scottish Highlands
 
Beauly, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Tomich Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing