We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages
Ranked #60 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My parents from India, who are visiting the UK have stayed here for 2 nights in their Scottish Highlands tour and rate this as the best of all places they have stayed at, all tour. The place is full of character, and the hosts could not be more hospitable. The Location is far enough and near enough to Inverness. (Other reviewers have detailed how best to find the house, as the sat navs aren't very accurate here) An excellent full vegetarian breakfast was provided on request and all the little details were taken care of. Some stunning drives were pointed out, which made our day. We had to get a takeaway as it got late and the hosts were kind enough to accommodate. The antiques shop is great, as is everything in, around and about the house.

Room Tip: We were in the triple room upstairs but cant see how one can go wrong with any room really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kryshno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torguish, Owner at Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write a review , we appreciate all of your comments. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us, It was lovely to meet you all and we hope that you will choose to saty here again if you are passing this way.
Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    18
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
39
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Mike and Angie treated me like one of their own. I was made a cup of tea and offered cake no sooner had I sat my bahookie on the chair after a long day in the hills. Warm, funny folk who looked after me. Without word of a lie, I had one of the best nights of sleep in my life and the breakfast was perfect from cracking porridge to scrambled oeufs. Some of the antiques are stunning. The world is full of cardboard people but Mike and Angie are real personalities. Mike's story of his interactions with the squirrels were brilliant and stories of peanut butter and monkey nuts had me laughing all the way back to Glasgow. What characters! Rosehip syrup anybody?!

Room Tip: I had the 4 poster bed in Room R - fab sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevabsld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torguish, Owner at Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hello K, We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the rest of your weekend on the hills was as enjoyable as your stay here.
For us it is always a pleasure meeting our new guest and we enjoyed our bit blether, but you don't have to spend time chatting if you would rather not. (the cakes are optional too)
I hope that you can make it back when tackling your next Munro/Graham .
Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your experience here at Torguish,
looking forward to seeing you again,
Angie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This trip was to celebrate our 2nd Wedding Anniversary. I had booked it because the old stone building showed so much character and fitted in to our criteria for a hotel/Bed & breakfast, we have got into not visiting glam and glitzy hotels. It is very easy to find just as long as you don't pay to much attention to sat nav, just follow the A9 west out of Inverness (such a lovely city), for about 10-15 mins and you will see it on your left hand side it is very well sign posted, if you make it to the sign for Daviot West you have gone to far. Once you arrive at the front of the house...........well that's where your adventure begins. Mike and Angie your hosts are the most friendliest and warmest couple and will cater for your every need. A warm welcome and a friendly smile will greet you. The bedrooms are simply divine and well thought out, The beds are very comfortable and ever so warm. As for Breakfast, If you like Porridge you will love Mike's, it's one of the best I have had, and also the English cooked breakfast will set you up for the day.All allergies are catered for which was great in our case. Torguish House is a great place to use as a base to visit the rest of what Scotland has to offer, That's if you can tare yourself away from the wonder and adventure that awaits you inside the house, that is a reflection of the wonderful character and personality of your hosts Angie & Mike Whether you are on a business trip, a weekend away or a long holiday break this B&B gives you everything in a big package. "IT'S A MUST VISIT & STAY B&B, YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED" (NB. make sure you phone Torguish house b&b direct to book it's the best way and best price) Great biker packages are also available.

Phil & Sylwia Nowecka Glasspool
Bristol.UK

Room Tip: The Honeymoon suite has a great view of the grounds and is extremely comfortable with by far the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaG360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torguish, Owner at Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hello,
We hope that you had a good journey home. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope that you will return, Thank you for your comments here, We truly appreciate that you have made the time to to let other trip adviser users know about our guesthouse.
Best wishes for your future, Mike and Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Where do I start! We were looking on the internet last year for a place to stay in Scotland and we came across Jenny's Cottage and we book for a week, we found from the start how warm and friendly Mike, Angie, Ben and Siobhan were. The cottage was so clean and tidy, everything was there that you needed and we were told by Ben if we found we needed anything else just to go to the main house and they would assist. We enjoyed our stay at Jenny's Cottage so much we booked up again for this year. We have just returned home and would like to say thank you to this wonderful family for yet another wonderful stay in such a charming, clean and quiet cottage! The family go an extra mile to ensure enjoyable stay so much so we will be booking up again next year. A+++++ service

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annapaola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torguish, Owner at Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us. It was good to see you all again this year. We know that you are all enjoying your visits to the highlands, you manage to fit so much into a week whatever the weather.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Mike and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a business trip hard to describe in words this place as there are so many descriptive's you could use including quaint,quirky,eccentric the list goes on all i can say is experience it for yourself and go you wont be disappointed Angie and Mike are more than welcoming and i will def be returning at some point.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romeo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torguish, Owner at Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hello, It was our pleasure to have you staying with us!
We appreciate the time taken to post a review and your good comments.
Hope to see you again in the near future.
Team Torguish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I visited Torguish House last week with a friend of mine. We had been doing John O'Groats to Lands End and we were looking for accommodation. We had been running late and came across Torguish House. We were at the end of the drive when Mike and Angie's son Ben was coming home and told us that they had rooms available. Well, from the start we were made to feel very welcome, the house has a great selection of antiques that really sets the character of the house.
The house may look too close to the A9 but rest assured theres no noise when at the house.
The rooms facilities were excellent and the breakfast was hearty and plentiful.
I will definitely be returning to this wonderful B & B, my only fault with Torguish House would be that I didn't stay long enough.
I will be recommending this B & B to anyone who wishes a central base camp to visit Scotland and I certainly will be returning.

Room Tip: Forget the big chain hotels, this one has character and service with that personnel touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rae2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torguish, Owner at Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hello, we are pleased that you got home safely, It was a long trip on a motorbike!
we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though you nearly didn't come at all!
we enjoyed meeting you and hope that you will come again when visiting the Highlands.
thank you for your comments, always appreciated.
Ben, Mike and Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We took half-a-dozen Austrian friends on a two-week Scotland tour and Torguish was voted one of the highlights. With its charm, its eccentricity and its friendliness, it was the British 'Olympic Games' of B&Bs. Definitely a Gold for Angie & family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azoura-OCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torguish, Owner at Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We really loved your " tourbus" and we all fanicied the next tour to Morroco or wherever.
You are all lovely guest and hopefully we will meet you again in the future.
We appreciate that you have taken the time to write your review and we hope the rest of your holiday was full of good experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.0 mi away
Daviot Lodge
Daviot Lodge
#19 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gask House Farm Cottages
Gask House Farm Cottages
#23 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ardbrae House
Ardbrae House
#106 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
3.0 mi away
By the Brae Bed and Breakfast
By the Brae Bed and Breakfast
#41 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
10.4 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages

Property: Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages
Address: Daviot | Daviot, Inverness IV2 5XQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored manse, Torguish House was the childhood home of author Alistair MacLean. It is the perfect base for your Highland holiday with a choice of B&B or self-catering cottages, situated in lovely grounds yet convenient for the A9 and just 4 miles from Inverness.B&B price includes a hearty Highland breakfast with views of red squirrels!Please call or email with any questions. Mike and Angie look forward to welcoming you to Torguish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torguish House B&B And Self-Catering Cottages Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing