We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages
Ranked #78 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a business trip hard to describe in words this place as there are so many descriptive's you could use including quaint,quirky,eccentric the list goes on all i can say is experience it for yourself and go you wont be disappointed Angie and Mike are more than welcoming and i will def be returning at some point.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romeo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torguish, Owner at Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hello, It was our pleasure to have you staying with us!
We appreciate the time taken to post a review and your good comments.
Hope to see you again in the near future.
Team Torguish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    18
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
40
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I visited Torguish House last week with a friend of mine. We had been doing John O'Groats to Lands End and we were looking for accommodation. We had been running late and came across Torguish House. We were at the end of the drive when Mike and Angie's son Ben was coming home and told us that they had rooms available. Well, from the start we were made to feel very welcome, the house has a great selection of antiques that really sets the character of the house.
The house may look too close to the A9 but rest assured theres no noise when at the house.
The rooms facilities were excellent and the breakfast was hearty and plentiful.
I will definitely be returning to this wonderful B & B, my only fault with Torguish House would be that I didn't stay long enough.
I will be recommending this B & B to anyone who wishes a central base camp to visit Scotland and I certainly will be returning.

Room Tip: Forget the big chain hotels, this one has character and service with that personnel touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rae2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torguish, Owner at Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hello, we are pleased that you got home safely, It was a long trip on a motorbike!
we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though you nearly didn't come at all!
we enjoyed meeting you and hope that you will come again when visiting the Highlands.
thank you for your comments, always appreciated.
Ben, Mike and Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We took half-a-dozen Austrian friends on a two-week Scotland tour and Torguish was voted one of the highlights. With its charm, its eccentricity and its friendliness, it was the British 'Olympic Games' of B&Bs. Definitely a Gold for Angie & family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azoura-OCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torguish, Owner at Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We really loved your " tourbus" and we all fanicied the next tour to Morroco or wherever.
You are all lovely guest and hopefully we will meet you again in the future.
We appreciate that you have taken the time to write your review and we hope the rest of your holiday was full of good experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I visited Torguish House last week with my husband and granddaughter and had a wonderful time. The house is full of character and the room and facilities were excellent. The breakfast was more than ample with a wide choice. Angie, Mike and family were so friendly and welcoming that we really hope we can visit there again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torguish, Owner at Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
It was lovely to meet you all. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will visit us again, hopefully when you have less commitments and more time.
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I dont think i have ever stayed anywhere that made me feel so at home so quickly. The house has an amazing collection of antiques both inside the house and out. Mike and Angie are very welcoming, the rooms very comfortable and the breakfast was hearty and tasty, I will definitely stay here again, it is worth a detour or to use as a base for touring and that on my list of things to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin2013H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torguish, Owner at Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Martin, thank you for your lovely comments. We hope that your journey home went well and that you are well pleased with your new bike!
looking forward to seeing you again, when you deceide on the big tour of the Highlands!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Myself and three friends completed the Lands End John O' Groats cycle route June 2012, Mike collected us from John O'Groats drove us down to Inverness where we stayed over night the Torguish House B&B we found it excellent the house is enchanting and full of antique treasures with stories behind every item. Both Angie and Mike made us all very welcome and comfortable Mike even drove us to the Enterprize depot in the morning to collect our hire vehicles for the return leg to Hull wouldn't hesitate to use facility if touring the Highlands or repeating Lands End John O'Groats. Thank you Angie thank you Mike

Room Tip: Just Contact Angie or Mike and what ever they offer I would recomend
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicMoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, Congratulations and well done on your ride of 1025 miles from Lands end to John o Groats. You deserved a lift back to Inverness.
We hope to see you all again,
Mike and Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Well where do I start , its that good . After several days with friends on a Bike tour of Scotland, and B+B`S that where not up to it , this was the place that I was looking for , a real Diamond amongst the so ordinary and over priced b + b`s. As soon as we pulled up Mike and Angela where there to welcome us into there Treasure Trove or , Alladins cave , call it what you want , but you`ll understand when you visit . We where taken in to the living room straight away and offered tea or coffee , and we talked about our tour experience of Scotland and Motorbikes and they genuinely want to know where we had been and where we are going.Anyway after relaxing we went to our room, 3 man room , a double and 2 singles . 5 star would`nt beet this . The place was clean and tidy ,we didnt have to ask for extra towels or silly things which you would expect to be in your room.All the rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard ( 4 poster beds) that you would expect in a high class of hotel.Breakfast was well also, the best we had . Angela even took us to the nearest restaurant the night before. If your going to Scotland use this place as a stop off there and back , truly Unique and friendly couple. Oh and watch out for the suite of armour going up the stairs. Brilliant , thanks to you both.

Room Tip: they are all quiet , and good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteLever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Hello Peter,
We are pleased that you all got home safely. Thank you for your lovely comments , we are happy that you enjoyed your stay, perhaps we will meet again when you are up this way?
It was lovely meeting you all, Angie and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
20.0 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ardbrae House
Ardbrae House
#113 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
7.5 mi away
Glenan Lodge Guest House
Glenan Lodge Guest House
#17 of 31 in Aviemore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Daviot Lodge
Daviot Lodge
#20 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gask House Farm Cottages
Gask House Farm Cottages
#24 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.9 mi away
Druid House B&B
Druid House B&B
#89 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages

Property: Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages
Address: Daviot | Daviot, Inverness IV2 5XQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored manse, Torguish House was the childhood home of author Alistair MacLean. It is the perfect base for your Highland holiday with a choice of B&B or self-catering cottages, situated in lovely grounds yet convenient for the A9 and just 4 miles from Inverness.B&B price includes a hearty Highland breakfast with views of red squirrels!Please call or email with any questions. Mike and Angie look forward to welcoming you to Torguish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torguish House B&B And Self-Catering Cottages Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing