We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages
Ranked #84 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Thanks a lot for everything ... we really happy to stayed in this wonderful place.
Everything is perfect, we recommend this place for sure !
Really nice house, really clean, quiet and the breakfast was so good.
Around this house, we are garden and we'll see many "animals on the road" ;)
Thank you very much owner on this B&B :)
Pachsarun & Loic (Thailand / Paris).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOIC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 128 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at the Torguish House in October 2011 and were hoping to return at some point. However events overtook us and we had to make a visit to Inverness at very short notice. Mike and Angie had rooms for the three of us and made what should have been a stress full time, alot more bearable. By being very helpfull and understanding, and helping in any way they could.

The rooms we had were full of character, clean tidy with everything you could want. A very full English breakfast set us up each day, with a warm welcome when we got back in the evening.

Thanks we will be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonStalybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

What a magical place! Full of intresting collcetables inside & out. We had not pre. booked but were given such a warm welcome, choice of rooms, which were clean & very comfortable. Each room decorated differently but the staircase had a hand printed mural going all the way up. Angie the owner was friendly, helpful & intresting to talk to. I'am so pleased we came across this place & we were able to buy a few bits from all that was on sale there. We just loved it & hope visit again. Thank you so much for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: windows had shutters that kept the morning light out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We spent a weekend at Torguish house recently and it was absolutely delightful. The owners have clearly thrown themselves into creating a finely-decorated haven - iand it really is a haven to them. Rooms are immaculate and cosy, with each having its own decorative theme and the house itself os adorned with fascinating artefacts and elaborate hand-painted walls. In a worl where bland Travelodges are taking over, Torguish House is a real treat - a unique, quirky gem nestled next to a stunning Scottish glen.

We were made to feel totally at home - the lovely lady who owns the B & B even de-fluffed my coat for me! There was nothing we could want for, we were home-from-home - the only thing they couldn't cater for was my numb bottom after sitting in a car for umptten hours.

But numb bums aside - Torguish House is outstanding, in the strictest sense of the word - it is like no other B & B.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stay here, as my work pays for it. They put me up in the cottages. And I love it. I do requests my works manager to put me put here every week if possible. Its like home from home.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nottmlad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This was our first visit to Torguish, and wondered what we had arrived at. The house is lovely but outside there are antiques and collectables everywhere. The staircase has a painted mural running up all three floors and our bed had a five barred gate as a headboard and a style as a footboard. Having said that the room was very nice the bed was comfy and Angie and Mike the owners were real characters. The whole place has a great atmoshpere, with the goose announcing your arrival, the chickens flitting about, the goat in it's pen and the sheds full of antiques. Breakfast was good with plenty of it, and Angie and Mike always have time for a chat. Great will be returning. Oh by the way its's biker friendly which has to be a big bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonStalybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The Torguish House B&B is everything that you could want for in a B&B. Warm cosy bedrooms, very clean, friendly and very helpful owners, great location that is easily accessable and a wonderful heartly breakfast that will keep you going all day.

We stayed 3 nights and will recommend this to anyone. We could come and go as we please, and felt home from home while relaxing in front of the open fire while chatting to other guests from all over the world.

The chickens, goat and goose made the experience all the more special.

Thank you for a great weekend, and we will see you next time we visit the area.

Andy & Jane

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy_roots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
791 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,848 reviews
4.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torguish House B&B and self-catering cottages

Address: Daviot | Daviot, Inverness IV2 5XQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored manse, Torguish House was the childhood home of author Alistair MacLean. It is the perfect base for your Highland holiday with a choice of B&B or self-catering cottages, situated in lovely grounds yet convenient for the A9 and just 4 miles from Inverness.B&B price includes a hearty Highland breakfast with views of red squirrels!Please call or email with any questions. Mike and Angie look forward to welcoming you to Torguish. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torguish House B&B And Self-Catering Cottages Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing