We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty bathroom - no thanks!”
Review of Crown Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crown Court Hotel
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel has potential, being conveniently located and having a pretty exterior. Much work has also been done to the dining area. One would only hope that staff get better trained to give guests a more friendly welcome, and some general refurbishment be given to the rooms, assuming that accommodating people is the core business of a hotel. The sheets were immaculately clean, but the interior design was haphazard, the fitted carpet had seen better times (or to spell out: looked dirty), but worst was the bathroom - mold all over and an outrageously filthy toilet seat. This is what I call poor performance, and I am stunned to have seen that this hotel won a young hotelier award. I wish the proprietor sufficient skill and money for a rapid improvement!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Looking for somewhere new to have dinner, we tried the Rannoch Bistro, Lounge Bar in the Crown Court Townhouse Hotel. It has been a few years since we went there and it didn't disappoint.
The restaurant was full when we arrived so we were sat in the bar. Both member of staff who served us where very friendly and chatty. The décor is simple and atmosphere chilled, it was a pleasant change from some restaurant who try to hard. We were after a good hearty meal somewhere relaxing; with emphasis on good quality food rather than the show.
We had steak and Ale pie with vegetables, good size portion, the steak was delicious, falling apart with a stork of the fork in an rich velvety sauce, topped up by a light fluffy pastry and a selection of vegetable and potatoes. We only had the time for one course that day so we are planning to go back for one of the meal offer evening.
This has great potential for being a regular place to visit, it seems to be the local for quite a few people already. Can wait to go back and tried starter and pudding.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isandygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Arrival experience: Arrived early afternoon. Front desk clerk was welcoming. We did not have a reservation, and I was able to negotiate the “list” rate down to the internet rate (ten pounds less).

Room (general): Decent room with separate bedroom (en suite). Small TV, clean pine furniture.

Bathroom: Bathroom had a full-size tub with shower. It would have been nice if the ceiling hadn’t been covered in mold and the tub hadn’t been moldy.

Bed: below average bed.

Housekeeping: Bathroom cleanliness was sub-par, hovering (vacuuming) was ok.

Restaurants: On site bar and restaurant. We did not eat there.

Grounds: good parking and clean.

Pool: n/a

Staff attitude/service: Nice.

Parking: free on site

Misc: Easy walk to key sites in Inverness and very close to the Inverness Castle.

For some high-res photos of this hotel, check out my photos on Flickr. My username on Flickr is utfiero.

About us: We’re irreverent, younger American professionals who travel regularly.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank utfiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were booked in, through Laterooms, to stay a night in this hotel. When we arrived they had no booking for us. Where it all went wrong I have no idea but there we were having driven 125 miles and no where to stay. The receptionist telephoned around and managed to find us bed and breakfast for the night, it was more expensive but the Crown Court hotel made up the difference. What could have been an horrendous start to our short holiday was rectified, what more could you ask.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Val A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ok for a one night stay...bathroom and bedroom needed a good clean....bins still had rubbish in from previous guests although bed was freshly made. Evening meal acceptable, staff very friendly. Cheap and cheerful at best! Not likely to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank broombankUllapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for a birthday party at another hotel. Arrival was excellent, met by pleasant staff and directed to our room. Which was clean and tidy if a bit dated. Our room was located above the entrance to the public bar which could be an issue if you were spending all night in the room which we weren’t so no problem for us. Breakfast next day was excellent and no issues booking out.

Ok hotel and fitted our needs.

Room Tip: avoid the room above the entrance to the public bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ubique341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

the location is between the city center and Raigmore hospital. Both are in walking range for the fit! There is a quirky one way system around the hotel to confuse those not familiar with Inverness. The hotel always feels like it is about to fall apart at the seams, but hasn't on the visits I've had on the company. My room was a modern type vision of beige. An average size and comfort. The tv cable stretched across the window. Nothing is awful about this place, but like my old school reports, it could do better. The breakfast has a buffet of mini boxed cereals, tinned fruit etc. Cooked breakfast is brought to you / cooked to order. Evening meal is of the pub food variety rather than fine dining, look to Rocpool, The Musdard Seed et al for the later. The waiting staff are good bar workers, with the lively pub attached. But their waiting skills perhaps need updating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DyslexicPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.6 mi away
Smithton Hotel
Smithton Hotel
#32 of 36 in Inverness
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corriegarth Hotel
Corriegarth Hotel
#19 of 36 in Inverness
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#17 of 36 in Inverness
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#22 of 36 in Inverness
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heathmount Hotel
Heathmount Hotel
#14 of 36 in Inverness
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Court Hotel

Address: 25 Southside Road, Inverness IV2 3BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: $75 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crown Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Court Inverness
Crown Court Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing