We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local, casual restaurant with no pretensions.”

McGonagall's Steakhouse
Ranked #76 of 287 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: McGonagall's Steakhouse is a independently owned, award winning restaurant offering Scottish food and chargrilled steaks using the finest locally sourced ingredients.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

At McGonagall's we enjoyed the casual lunch we were looking for. The staff were very pleasant and most welcoming. The menu offered plenty of choice of good quality dishes; the soup of the day on this occasion was outstanding. The prices were very reasonable and above all the restrooms were clean and well maintained. No pretensions, just good food and service.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 602Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 925 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2018

This has to be the worst excuse for a restaurant that we have ever come across. Servers hang around the bar chatting between themselves rather than greeting and serving customers. When our drinks order was finally taken it was left tantalisingly on the bar just out of reach of or table. We had to ask if it was ours before it was nonchalantly handed over. Service was slow, unsmiling and food was delivered with a coudn't care less attitude. Steaks were the poorest we have ever experienced in terms of quality and preparation. For McGonagals read McDonalds but without service. Really considered whether we should actually pay for the experience.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank superdelegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic, would recommend 100%. Would recommend booking though it gets very busy. Fantastic service.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank RoryPFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Been here before in Spring time .Was so looking forward to returning.
Very disappointed food not great.and flies around very annoying!
Not good

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Carol Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

The food and service at this restaurant is very good. As someone with a Gluten allergy they ensured all ingredients in my meal were safe with the chef before preparation. My steak and my spouses Venison were both cooked to perfection.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank t0masmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGonagall's Steakhouse also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to McGonagall's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing