We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”

McGonagall's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
McGonagall's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 257 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The food here is excellent and we have been in for lunch a couple of times recently. Service is prompt and friendly. The set lunch menu is very good value.

My only criticism is something I've mentioned before in that there is little ventilation in the restaurant. I therefore find it can be a bit stuffy and I can smell of the food after leaving.

Helpful?
Thank Caithnessian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory M, Owner at McGonagall's Steakhouse, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi there, thanks for the lovely review, we are aware of the problem with extraction and are trying to remedy it, we will get it done hopefully very soon, hope to see you again in the future
Rory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    191
    89
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing meal here on the 23rd January. Steak was cooked to perfection. Really nice place and atmosphere. Staff were lovely too. Great place to eat out.

Helpful?
Thank KaraCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The food here is very good, we had two fillet steaks each cooked to perfection and the cheese platter was a nice end to the meal. If you feel like steak would definitely recommend here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cara102007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I went here for lunch during our stay in Inverness. We were greeted immediately and made to feel very welcome. We were able to order one of the specials (usually only available for the dinner service). The food (rib-eye and lamb loin) was perfectly cooked and served quickly. A great local restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_don87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scourie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner with Friends”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Booked a table here for Hogmanay.......The service was very good , and it was really busy but nothing was a problem at all. The food was just delicious.My only fault would be that it was a wee bit smokey ........coming from the kitchen (perhaps the fan wasn`t working.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 976Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory M, Owner at McGonagall's Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi there, we currently do have a problem with our ventilation that we are working on to remedy, I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and service on Hogmanay, hope to see you back again soon and in a less smokey atmosphere
Rory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGonagall's Steakhouse also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to McGonagall's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing