We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craignay Guest House
Ranked #101 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Craigny guest house is a really pleasant place to spend some days in Inverness. Setting has been carefully perfected in all details. The room was cozy and spacious, the bathroom clean and confortable (I appreciated a lot the mixer tap and the shower!), scottish breakfast rich and tasty. The owner is really kind and funny and he makes great pictures!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adele-gran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney D, Owner at Craignay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you both for your helpful and kind review it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are taking more photos for the breakfast room for you to enjoy on your next visit ,Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in scotland and we look forward to seeing you again.
All the best from Rodney & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 61 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Rodney and Gail are wonderful hosts. Their guesthouse is immaculately kept, with spacious rooms including comfortable beds, spotless modern bathrooms, and in-room tea essentials. We absolutely loved our stay, including the excellent breakfast spread with everything we could possibly want to start our day.
Our only complaint is that we didn't have the foresight to book a longer stay!
We hope to be back again one day, to give the Highlands the time it deserves. Thank you very much Gail and Rodney.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heatherned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney D, Owner at Craignay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you both for your kind review It was lovely to meet you although short and sweet we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us maybe next time you can spend more time exploring the magical side to the highlands as you would have liked to ,It has been a dusting of snow on the mountains today which makes the autumn colours in the trees even more beautiful .
Take care and see you soon.
All the best Rodney & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

How lucky that we stayed at the Craignay House in Inverness. Not only was it a wonderful Guest House but the owners were a huge help to us. The day we left Inverness we had a tire blow-out on one of the smaller roads. After repairing the tire we returned to Craignay House for assistance. Rodney made numerous calls for us, saving us $$$$$, since we were using our US cell phone at the rate of $1.29 per minute! After arranging for the tire repair he drew us a map to the repair shop. The house is immaculate, well maintained and perfectly located with good quality beds (what a blessing). We had a short and easy walk to shops, pubs, and numerous good restaurants. We would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney D, Owner at Craignay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Hi thank you for your kind review we were only too glad to help you with your car troubles I blame it on the steering wheel being on the wrong side LOL. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to the western isles and the Matheson Trail and hope to see you again sometime in the future.
All the best Rodney & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Free wifi was a nice surprise. Located a a very short walk, minutes from the river on a quiet street. Very nice couple runs it. House is very clean and beds are comfy. Great Scottish breakfast to fortify you for the day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastywhitescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney D, Owner at Craignay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Hello from sunny inverness today Thank you for your review and your positive feed back it was a delight to have you stay with us such nice friendly people, Hope your travels after you left us went smoothly and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
All the best Rodney & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We found Gail and Rodney a delightful couple, they were friendly and made us very welcome during our stay. Our room was clean and fresh and the breakfasts second to none. We would certainly stay there again and highly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in Inverness.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney D, Owner at Craignay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Hello to you both it was a pleasure to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your lovely review it makes us happy to know you were happy.
Hopefully we will get some sunshine for you the next time you visit us although the concerts did make up for the rain .
All the best and see you soon Rodney & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

This is the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in. Rodney and Gail are extremely welcoming and very friendly nothing seemed to be a problem for them.
Our room was large and immaculately clean and the bed was so comfy!!!

The breakfast is also lovely and the poached eggs were quite possibly the best I've had.

It's in a very central part of Inverness and only a few mins walk from the centre. The river Ness is at the bottom of the street which also has lovely walks along it.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Inverness it's superb value for money and we will be back when we're next up there.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank statherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you both for a lovely review it was a pleasure to meet you both.
It makes life so easy for us when our guests are so nice and easy to please like yourselves and a joy to talk to.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
All the best Rodney & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Having stayed at this lovely house for the second time only,
I was delighted to find that the wonderful ambience and comfort that we had experienced last year was just as good, if not better, this year. Even although we had the smallest room in the house, due to late booking so our own fault, everything we needed was there. A beautifully clean room with an attention to detail that proved once more that size is definitely not everything. The owners, Rodney and Gail, are professional, helpful and very friendly. A hard act to pull off. If you are visiting Inverness, you need look no further than this jewel of a place. It is very well situated for easy access to great restaurants, cinema, theatre etc and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Book in advance, although any room will be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ascog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Hello and thank you for your lovely review we are happy you had a comfortable stay with us and it is always a pleasure to see you especially to have our morning discussions on various topics we hope to get across to your island some day another pin on the map to visit thank you again.
All the best from Rodney & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
791 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
1,848 reviews
3.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craignay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craignay Guest House

Address: 16 Ardross Street, Inverness IV3 5NS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $91 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craignay Guest House is near the river Ness in Inverness, 5 minutes walk from the city centre and is an impressive 1887 built town house family run so every thing should be like home from home making a magnificent base for comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation in Inverness, with a wealth of super restaurants, bars, Historical buildings, museums, and other attractions and facilities (including a super market and laundry, cinema, theatre, leisure pool, tennis, bowling....so many to name (just 4 minutes walk away). There is no need to use your car; leave your vehicle safely parked free in this quiet but central location and enjoy your holiday on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Craignay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craignay Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing