We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chippy in Town!”
Review of Hilton Chip Shop

Hilton Chip Shop
Ranked #119 of 260 Restaurants in Inverness
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Description: Hilton Chip Shop in Inverness is a traditional chip shop serving traditional chip shop food and pizzas.
inverness, scotland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Chippy in Town!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Guaranteed good quality, fast, cheerful and well priced. I have been a customer for 30 years or so : when my boys were little it was a major treat to let them go in and ask Jo Jo (rip Mike) for their food. Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katethepict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    11
    5
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chips Ahoy”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

That's right - they serve real chips made from local potatoes. (None of the reformed potato starch rubbish they serve up in some takeaways) The fish tasted really fresh and there was just enough batter. I'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TGF-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Theee Chippy to use in Shneck”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Awesome food. There is a wide choice of food on the menu. The frier is frequently cleaned so you don't get that off putting stench of chip fat when you enter the shop. Awesome service. The lads and lassies that work behind the counter are always friendly and will bring a smile to your face. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meash98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best chipper in Inverness”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Not in the best area but definitely the best black pudding supper! Make sure you have cash as no cards accepted. Or at least that used to be the case. Gets busy too, but queue goes down fast.

Helpful?
1 Thank AlyAkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Traditional Local Chip Shop”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I live near this chip shop, so have been visiting for years (the current is not of this chip shop, it has no seating, just takeaway). In my opinion, it has gotten better recently- mainly with the addition of pizzas. They are made fresh to order- I saw them roll out the dough, and add sauce and toppings. It was still ready in less than 10 minutes. Very tasty and was much cheaper than most other takeaway pizzas.
The prices have increased slightly recently, but it's still far cheaper than the likes of Harry Ramsden's. Fish varies slightly- in size and crispness. However, it's always good and to me this just shows that it's not processed. I have never tried the sausages, but the Steak pies are very nice too.
Sometimes the queue is very long, (out the door occasionally!) but it usually moves along pretty swiftly. As said in another review, they do only take one order at a time. I asked the staff about this, and the girl pointed out that they only have one till (as opposed to McDonald's etc. which has multiple tills), meaning only one person CAN take orders at a time, more staff taking orders at once would only confuse things, as everything would still have to be passed on to whomever was on the till, therefore it wouldn't actually speed anything up.
It has a very traditional feel, with community ads on the wall, and it is in the same building as the community centre, so often has people from martial arts classes or street pastors inside and they still fry potatoes in dripping rather than oil.
Finally, the staff- who seem mostly to be teenagers working after school- sometimes seem a tad shy, but are usually very polite and friendly, and even offered a suggestion for what my friend should have.
I would recommend this chip shop but would advise you don't go between 6 and 7 as it is very busy. I usually go on Wednesdays, as it seems to be busiest Friday/Saturday

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilton Chip Shop also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Hilton Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing