We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Guest House, feels like home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Corran Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corran Guest House
Ranked #10 of 247 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
“Excellent Guest House, feels like home!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Corran Guest House is a true gem of Inverness guesthouses. The hosts are lovely people. They are genuinely concerned about making you feel at home and your stay in Inverness just as you want it to be. I had the pleasure to stay at the Corran Guest House for two nights in a lovely, comfortable, well-furnished single room with a separate bathroom, which was spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated. The breakfast was delicious and each morning I was treated to a creatively prepared glas with fresh fruit, joghurt and muesli (I call it "the come back guarantee"). If you are looking for a warm welcome, a cosy feel-like-home place to sleep and a most delicious breakfast - this is it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si_Le357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
104
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent two nights at the Corran Guest House. Everything about the stay was wonderful. The house itself is very neat and clean, the bedrooms are spacious and well decorated and furnished. Breakfast is delicious. There is absolutely nothing about the accommodations that I could even remotely pick on. Location is good too, a short walk from all the shops, restaurants, train and bus station. House is on a small street, so there is minimal or no traffic noise.

What surprised my fiance and I was how welcoming, friendly, and helpful John and Caroline were. We've stayed at many B&Bs in many different countries, never have we encountered such wonderful hosts. I mean, we've had good hosts before, friendly and provided good service, but John and Caroline exude a special warmth and kindness and add that extra touch that's not necessary, but very welcome. They really enjoy their B&B, and it shows in every little detail around the house.

When I find myself in that part of Scotland again, I will not bother looking for another place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corran9, Owner at Corran Guest House, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We like to treat our Guests as we would like ourselves. It is pleasing to see such positive reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had only booked to stay one night at Corran but decided to stay an extra night. The house is furnished and decorated to a high standard and is very comfortable. A thick bathrobe was an unexpected treat that I'd normally expect only to have in a higher end of the market hotel. The cooked breakfast was generous and plenty of fresh ground coffee for those of us who need a good caffeine boost to start the day .

The guest house is within easy walking distance both of the central shopping area and Eden Court theatre.

The owners John and Caroline are very hospitable and welcoming and customer service is to a high standard.

I've stayed in many hotels and guest houses in Inverness and this is definitely one of my favourites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyseyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had a really nice and sweet room with my friend. We had the two-bed private room with an independent bathroom. It was so cute! Both of us were amazed at the room when we opened the door. John and Caroline are so nice and helpful. We felt that we were at home. Really nice atmosphere and traditional English breakfast! I really enjoy delicious food and the dinning atmosphere in the living room. What's more, the location is good. There is a Tesco nearby and it is just 10 minutes walk to the River Ness. The neighborhood is quiet and safe.

Room Tip: Try the two beds private room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

John and Caroline have created a welcoming, friendly environment at this charming B&B in Inverness. Corran Guest House is located in a nice neighborhood just a quick walk away from the train and bus stations and the city center. The rooms are comfortable and cozy, and it's difficult to beat the breakfast, but what truly tops the cake is just how great the hosts are. I'm an adult female who was traveling alone in a new-to-me country; John and Caroline went out of their way to make me feel comfortable: introducing me to their other guests, giving great suggestions on things to do and sights to see, and helping me figure out the next step of my journey.

I know where I'll stay when I return to Inverness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inglewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corran9, Owner at Corran Guest House, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you very much for a positive review. We try to assist our single travellers as much as possible and to make them comfortable and relaxed. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

John & Caroline are affable proprietors of this house. Located on a quiet street just 5-10 minutes walk from the River Ness, the river walk, the castle and associated restaurants. Long time residents of the area, they are quite helpful with suggestions for meals and travel excursions. Caroline prepares a wonderful breakfast and each request is met with a genuine desire to fulfill it.
We used are two en suite rooms, and a small single room with a shared bath.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCCSYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Soon as you step into this small & cozy B&B you feel like you are back home. Specially the warm and friendly owners of this B&B make it every penny's worth. We were 3 adults & 1 child and stayed in 2 rooms. Every corner of this B&B is done exquisitely with great taste. Even the living room felt so warm that we didn't feel like going to our rooms. The couple who runs the place are extremely hard working and made sure we were extremely comfortable. We even wanted to extend our stay but unfortunately could not due to travel plans. Location is also perfect. Extremely highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room on level one are much better cause of less noise. The family room is just worth every penny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huks1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#7 of 247 in Inverness
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rossmount Guest House
Rossmount Guest House
#14 of 247 in Inverness
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highland Apartments by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corran Guest House

Property: Corran Guest House
Address: 9 Montague Row, Inverness IV3 5DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corran is a family run Guest House situated close to the City Centre Restaurants and Bars of Inverness. On the ground floor we have a twin bedroom with private facilities. On the first floor we have 2 Double en-suite bedrooms and 2 single bedrooms which they only share a large bathroom. All the rooms are tastefully furnished with a relaxing atmosphere. We also have a lounge to use at any time during your stay. We have free parking and once checked in you can leave your vehicle and walk to your Restaurant, Café or Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Corran Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corran Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing