We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay.”
Review of Corran Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corran Guest House
Ranked #10 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oswego, New York
1 review
“A wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

John and Caroline have created a welcoming, friendly environment at this charming B&B in Inverness. Corran Guest House is located in a nice neighborhood just a quick walk away from the train and bus stations and the city center. The rooms are comfortable and cozy, and it's difficult to beat the breakfast, but what truly tops the cake is just how great the hosts are. I'm an adult female who was traveling alone in a new-to-me country; John and Caroline went out of their way to make me feel comfortable: introducing me to their other guests, giving great suggestions on things to do and sights to see, and helping me figure out the next step of my journey.

I know where I'll stay when I return to Inverness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inglewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corran9, Owner at Corran Guest House, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you very much for a positive review. We try to assist our single travellers as much as possible and to make them comfortable and relaxed. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
107
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

John & Caroline are affable proprietors of this house. Located on a quiet street just 5-10 minutes walk from the River Ness, the river walk, the castle and associated restaurants. Long time residents of the area, they are quite helpful with suggestions for meals and travel excursions. Caroline prepares a wonderful breakfast and each request is met with a genuine desire to fulfill it.
We used are two en suite rooms, and a small single room with a shared bath.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCCSYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Soon as you step into this small & cozy B&B you feel like you are back home. Specially the warm and friendly owners of this B&B make it every penny's worth. We were 3 adults & 1 child and stayed in 2 rooms. Every corner of this B&B is done exquisitely with great taste. Even the living room felt so warm that we didn't feel like going to our rooms. The couple who runs the place are extremely hard working and made sure we were extremely comfortable. We even wanted to extend our stay but unfortunately could not due to travel plans. Location is also perfect. Extremely highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room on level one are much better cause of less noise. The family room is just worth every penny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huks1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I don't think what ever I write here could ever explane how good the Corran is a real home away from home.
John & Caroline are a lovely couple and make a lovely breakfast the rooms are clean and are kept to a real high standard they have a good knowledge about the local area and know of all the best places to go.

I will never book anywhere from now on when I'm in inverness and only ever book the Corran that over the last six days is the place I have called home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a two night stay here and received a warm welcome from John & Caroline, who are a lovely couple. Offered fresh milk to make a cup of tea. John explained where all the best restaurants were located. Short walk to town, comfortable, homely rooms, tasty breakfasts although there could have been more choice and nice modern decor. Would recommend & would return if in Inverness again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here on my way up to John O'Groats to start my walk to Land's End and on my way back as I headed south. This was a highlight of my trip. The room was perfect for my needs. Breakfast is generous and well cooked and when I could not be bothered to go out I was invited to bring in a take away and cutlery and crockery was provided and washed up for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midge2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a two night stay here and received a warm welcome from John & Caroline. Short walk to town, comfortable, homely rooms, tasty breakfasts and overall good attention to detail. Would recommend & would also return if in Inverness. Only downside - would have liked a later check out after dancing in Inverness til the small hours!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJWSRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#7 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rossmount Guest House
Rossmount Guest House
#13 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardconnel House B&B
Ardconnel House B&B
#8 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highland Apartments by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corran Guest House

Property: Corran Guest House
Address: 9 Montague Row, Inverness IV3 5DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corran is a family run Guest House situated close to the City Centre Restaurants and Bars of Inverness. On the ground floor we have a twin bedroom with private facilities. On the first floor we have 2 Double en-suite bedrooms and 2 single bedrooms which they only share a large bathroom. All the rooms are tastefully furnished with a relaxing atmosphere. We also have a lounge to use at any time during your stay. We have free parking and once checked in you can leave your vehicle and walk to your Restaurant, Café or Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Corran Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corran Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing