We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome contrast”
Review of Corran Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corran Guest House
Ranked #11 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A welcome contrast”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

A lovely B&B: The John and Caroline couldn't have tried harder to make us feel welcome, even as we traipsed in after 4 days back-packing. The hot shower and fresh milk for the tea were very much appreciated. John also gave us a great recommendation of where to find a good pub meal in walking distance (just what we'd asked for, and where he'd been for his Sunday roast two days before - nothing like the insiders pick!).

Comfortable, spacious, and clean room with a tasty and sustaining breakfast to wake up to.

The only constructive criticism would be that the rooms were a tad on the warm side: but we managed to deal with that using the radiator valves (might have just been the contrast with 4 nights in bothys and a tent in the mountains...)

Thanks guys!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
107
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Andrews
Level Contributor
356 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

One of my most amazing "finds" over the Internet was a motel only a couple of hundred yards from the very posh hotel where a Conference was being held, in Albequerqe-and the choice made "blind."
I meant to say, I could have been miles away-but I wasn't! So, I do believe our fingers guide us (mostly) to the right places!
They did, to Corran Guest House; with lots of memories coming back, as I passed the elecrical shop "Telly on the Blink" (which is the marker for the right hand turn that gets you there!
Other times!
It's the kind of guest house where you don't stay a stranger for very long- and it come with a warm welcome.
I had booked for two nights and, by the time, I left, it did feel as though we had become friends. I don't say things like this, lightly!
A substantial breakfast and really good coffee.
No hesitation in saying: "If you're looking for a home from home, look no further!"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busybee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at Corran guest house for a fencing competition. After a day of fencing going to my well decorated room, I could sit back and relax with the tv and my laptop on wifi. Caroline and John (owners) were more than welcoming showing an interest in my sport and making me feel comfortable and at home! This is the first B&B I have stayed in and I loved it. Much better than any hotel!!!

Thank you Caroline and John again for being so amazing!

Adam x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACruick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had originally booked a different guest house, but due to their double booking, we ended up here; and we couldn't have been happier! The place was so nice and cozy and the staff was super friendly (thanks for the great restaurant tips!) We had a great night sleep in the super comfortable bed. There was also an excellent breakfast served in the beautiful common room and it was included in the room price! I cannot think of anything bad to say about this place and would absolutely recommend it to anyone visiting Inverness!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We came in totally wet and got a warm welcome with a smile and hot tea and coffee with biscuits. The rooms were beautiful and set up with lovely details. The bathrooms looked like new and were so comfortable. Thanks to John who gave us good advice we ate at very good restaurants. Caroline did a fantastic breakfast for us although she was handicapped. All in one it just was a perfect stay. We'll come back. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sligoann21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corran9, Owner at Corran Guest House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. I think one sentence in the review has been lost in translation. Caroline had in fact injured her Shoulder and she was wearing a Sling to support it but has now fully recovered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying with Caroline and John when visiting Inverness from Australia. The guest house is absolutely lovely, bed extremely comfortable, breakfast absolutely delicious. The house itself has been lovingly restored and situated perfectly in easy walking distance to all Inverness attractions. We were originally booked into another guest house but a death in their family meant they moved us to Corran Guest House. Caroline and John are wonderful hosts they can't do enough to make your stay very enjoyable, truly genuinely nice people. We would have liked to have stayed longer. An excellent choice if you are travelling to Inverness, it could easily be ranked number 1 from our experience. We are still travelling but I will post pictures once back in Australia. Thankyou Caroline and John for making the beginning of our trip so enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed lovely at Corran Guest House
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnicornCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Where to begin! Fantastic location. Beautiful room. Delicious breakfast. Fabulous hosts that have the best advice for where to go and what to do! Most comfortable bed in Scotland!
Walking distance from town. We will be back! Thank yoU!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BS649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#5 of 231 in Inverness
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rossmount Guest House
Rossmount Guest House
#13 of 231 in Inverness
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
King's Highway
King's Highway
#34 of 231 in Inverness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corran Guest House

Property: Corran Guest House
Address: 9 Montague Row, Inverness IV3 5DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corran is a family run Guest House situated close to the City Centre Restaurants and Bars of Inverness. On the ground floor we have a twin bedroom with private facilities. On the first floor we have 2 Double en-suite bedrooms and 2 single bedrooms which they only share a large bathroom. All the rooms are tastefully furnished with a relaxing atmosphere. We also have a lounge to use at any time during your stay. We have free parking and once checked in you can leave your vehicle and walk to your Restaurant, Café or Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Corran Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corran Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing