We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Alloa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

First impressions were very good, staff at the check in were friendly and we were allocated our room quickly, we were booked in for 4 nights as part of a tour. Room was adequate, bed comfy and room clean, bath with shower, Wifi in the rooms is free but a bit slow. Plenty sitting area in the bar with great views of the river and Castle. Restaurant was spacious with smart décor, looks like it had been refurbished recently.
Staff were very good, there was a good selection of food and servings were plentiful. We ordered wine which was a bit slow in coming and when I complained, they wine waiter said sorry for the delay the wine is on the house, happy days! Great spot with short walks into the town, never managed to use the Spa which was a pity. We intend to be back in the coming weeks and for a long weekend and The Palace is where we intend to stay for a 3 star hotel this is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the river if possible. However we were at the back of the Hotel on the 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAlloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting your lovely review.

We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our facilities to be excellent value.

Plus, what more could we ask for with you intending on staying again soon - it's fantastic!

I am sorry about the WiFi being slow - we intend on upgrading this very soon when highspeed fibre optic broadband is available to the Highlands.

You are right, the rooms which look over the River Ness and Castle are well worth booking so thanks for sharing that tip with everyone. Also, again absolutely correct - we refurbished the restaurant last year and has received many positive comments.

Thank you again for all of your kind praise and we look forward to welcoming you at the hotel again soon.

Kind regards, Della

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    435
    172
    72
    25
See reviews for
189
581
56
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel is very well situated near the centre of Inverness and on the banks of the River Ness ,this means that the centre of the city is a few minutes walk over the bridge .Parking can be problematical as the car park attached to the hotel is small but there is parking a few minutes walk away at a pay and display adjacent to the Cathedral.
This hotel caters to coach tours and this in the past has meant that breakfast can be somewhat frantic , however I was glad to see that there is now a smaller breakfast room off the main restaurant clearly designed for non coach guests.
This however has not alleviated the problem of getting a table for dinner as waits can be considerable and table availability times can be quite late or very early .Chose instaed to walk into town and eat at one of the many restaurants available .
Room was in the new section and was clean and spacious but with no view to speak of ,staff appeared friendly and helpful but one or two were clearly new or still in training but were also doing their best to be pleasant .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrampasAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting your review.

You are absolutely right, our location in the centre of the town is fantastic and very short walk to all the shops, pubs and restaurants Inverness has to offer - I am sorry though that we couldn't find a suitable time for you to have dinner in the recently extended restaurant. The Brasserie serves meals all day through to 10pm and will usually have a table available if the restaurant is fully booked at any point in the evening.

The hotel offers a valet service for our guests to an overspill car park which is completely free of charge so I am sorry we didn't seem to make this available to you.

We appreciate all of our guests taking the time to write and send us their feedback so thanks again and if you would like to discuss your stay in more depth please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind regards, Della

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

A good welcoming hotel, clearly experienced in handling large groups (we stayed 4 nights as part of a Great Rail Journeys tour). Meals had large choice and food was plentiful in supply and good in quality. Room was clean and well equipped. Staff were friendly and courteous. Easy 10 or so minutes walk from railway station and from the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you ever so much for posting your lovely review!

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and Great Rail Journeys are always welcome!

Your kind praise has been passed onto the whole team and we really appreciate you sending us your feedback.

Thanks once again and I hope that if you are planning another visit to the Highlands you will stay with us again - we'd love to have you back!

Kind regards, Della

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to find no parking spaces, no problem madam we will valet park for you.
Room - company booked me room with 2 single beds, staff went out of their way to find me a double. Nice enough room but nowhere to sit and work, quaint old furniture, clean but not practical if you have to work on a computer for a couple of hours.
Excellent wee swimming pool and spa.
Decoration going on, so it is getting a great spruce up. Handy for lovely walks along river and to get to Central Inverness. Very disappointed that the wifi was rubbish, but the owner is desperate to bring better wifi to customers, let's hope it happens soon as in this day and age that is what we expect as norm.
Breakfast was adequate, no yoghurts, not quite sure why but lovely porridge.
Have stayed in Inverness twice before at different hotels, this is one I will probably return too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Denise v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review of your stay.

I'm absolutely delighted to read that our whole team did their utmost to ensure you received an enjoyable experience.

We know that a double bedded room can be important to our guests so I'm glad we were able to change your room.

You are correct about the WiFi, it is a big consideration when booking accommodation these days and we are desperate to have access to fibre optic broadband - the Highlands has been promised this very soon.

I'm glad you enjoyed the porridge - a great way to start the day! We provide natural yoghurt and a berry compote on the breakfast buffet - I am sorry if this wasn't available during your stay.

Thank you very much for all of your kind feedback. I hope that when you do need to stay in Inverness again you will choose to stay with us.

Kind regards, Della

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a Great Rail Journeys holiday.The location is excellent for the city and the lovely walks along the river Ness.
Our room was very comfortable with a lovely bathroom with fresh towels and tolietries replenished daily (and more often on request) The staff were excellent -very pleasant,effeicient and friendly even at busy times.Food was very good with an excellent breakfast buffet choice.
We used the pool and spa which were very clean and relaxing after a busy day touring.
Overall excellent and would definitely recommend as a good base for the area.We would certainly go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DefaEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you ever so much for posting your review.

We're all absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, it's great to read such high praise.

Our location is fantastic and I'm glad you had the opportunity to take advantage of the easy walks along the river Ness which we have just on our doorstep. Also, our leisure facilities are the ideal place to unwind after busy days out.

I'm very happy you enjoyed your meals and thank you for your high praise of our team - we are always very happy to receive such lovely feedback.

I hope that if you are considering another holiday in the Highlands you will choose to stay with us again - we'd love to have you back!

Many thanks again for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards, Della

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I always enjoy my stay at the Palace Hotel .This was the first time I had taken high tea and it was excellent.

I had a nice room , clean and spacious , with distant hill views .

I also enjoyed the pool and leisure facilities .

The staff were always friendly and helpful .

Room Tip: A front room would be better for the castle and river views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you ever so much for writing your review.

We're all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us again - thank you very much for your repeat visits.

High tea is a very popular meal now and I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Thank you for your kind praise of our leisure club facilities, I'm glad you took the opportunity to enjoy them.

Also, it's great that you enjoyed the bedroom you were allocated.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon - we'd love to have you back again!

Thanks very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards, Della

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cushnie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this hotel, it is very central and looks onto the castle.Parking was a little diffcult but the staff were very helpful on finding a parking space. The cleanliness of the hotel was first class and the pool,sauna,steam room and the jacuzzi were spot on!I would definatly go back there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyMiltonPalace, Operations Support Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Wow - thank you ever so much for writing such a brilliant review!

We are all so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff you encountered were friendly and helpful.

Also, thank you for your very kind comments about the cleanliness through-out. I will pass this onto my colleagues in housekeeping, they'll be very happy.

It's brilliant that you took advantage of our leisure club facilities during your stay and our leisure club team are delighted you enjoyed the facilities so much.

The greatest testament we can receive is when our guests say they'll be back. I hope you can make it soon - we'd love to see you again!

Kind regards and many thanks for writing your review on Trip Advisor, Della

Della Evans
Operations Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
2.3 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish 3 star Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in the heart of Inverness. Located on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Castle it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. You'll enjoy a fresh and contemporary hotel with a choice of dining in Eight on the River or the Brasserie. You can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. As well as a lovely selection of bedrooms from Classic rooms to period River View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings with extras including FREE Wifi, Free Car Parking and a superb upgraded Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Inverness Best Western
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing