We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Staff, but hotel getting very tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Staff as at all BW hotels I've used were lovely. The hotel is pleasant enough, and clean enough. However, much of the accommodation is NOT in the main, grand, building, but in what I assume to be an add-on block at the rear with extremely limited views and, to me, a distinctly musty smell. Needless to say, the better rooms are available at a premium, and despite my BW membership card I wasn't offered an upgrade!

There is a spa and swimming pool, but I didn't have time to use it this time

What IS fantastic is the location... right at the heart of Inverness, and on the banks of the Ness, and it was a treat to look out over the river during an (excellent, buffet-style) breakfast.

There is some parking with the hotel, didn't need it this time, but important consideration in a city centre property

So not bad... I started off giving the hotel a 3 star rating, but that's probably a bit unfair, I should probably make it 4... but wish there was a 3.5: it IS better than average, but I would say it was "good" rather than "very good". For me, next time I'm in Inverness I will stay at the other BW hotel (Lochardil House - a bit further out, but I think much nicer rooms)

Room Tip: The standard rooms are not that big, and have lousy views. Mine looked straight out at another roof...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JML_Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel

I’m glad to read that you found the proximity of the hotel to the city centre, shops, restaurants and bar an advantage when staying with us. I’m happy to read you found the staff lovely and the hotel clean and tidy.

Unfortunately as a city centre hotel views are limited and therefore they are rooms that don’t have a great view however I apologise you were not offered an upgrade with your BW membership card. If reception were aware you were a cardholder an upgrade would have been given if available.

I hope you would consider using us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Can't speak highly enough of this hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and clean and the food was superb.
Situated on the riverside and five minutes walk into Inverness Town.

Room Tip: Best rooms for a view are at the front of the hotel and are overlooking the river. This also means...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercedes44Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel

I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful and friendly.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed there at Christmas 2012. We went with GeeVee travel. And we have booked again for Christmas 2013. The staff were brilliant, couldnt do enough for us. There was plenty to eat and drink at all times. The hotel was really clean. Inverness itself and where the hotel is situated is really beautiful.
My husband and I cant thank the management and staff enough for a fantastic Christmas that they gave us!

Mr and Mrs Briscoe

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, as its so beautiful and all lit up in the evenings.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Salse Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Briscoe,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Palace Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas break with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for Christmas 2013.

Kind regards,

Fiona Murray
pp.Laura Kelly
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

25 of us have just returned from Inverness and had a great time. We had a river view room which was so big. The hotel and staff are very nice and the food is excellant. We also found the bar staff to be very good and would do anything for you. this is a regular weekend for us and every year we say we will go elsewhere but always end up back at Inverness. Only downside for some of our party was the lifts being out of order. But overall a great weekend.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for a river view room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags84056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Palace Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your compliments on to our bar staff.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Fiona Murray
pp.Laura Kelly
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We booked for 3 nights with Dinner for the first 2 nights. Our room was 201 at the back. It was a fair sized room with a large double bed. The Wifi signal was good which was great. The bathroom had a shower over the bath. There were lovely toiletries for our use also. The rooms were cleaned every day and the tea/coffee etc replenished. There is a excellent information folder in the rooms with lots of useful info. You can get room service also.

The restaurant has been refurbished and is lovely with great views over the river.The waiting staff were friendly and very efficient. The meals were excellent and the breakfasts were very good. A great choice on offer in the mornings.

We had free use of the gym and spa facilities. I was in the jacuzzi every day which is fantastic. They give you clean towels to use. If you forget your swimwear they can loan you them or you can purchase them.

The system they have with the parking worked ok for us,it did not cause us any problems.

The only noise we got was from the very squeaky floorboards above our room, This was every night for long periods of time. The lift also went out of order on our 2nd day so was glad I did not have to walk up to the 4th floor. It was still off when we left. It was good exercise though.

As this was a trip for my birthday,It made it special and I would return again as it is so central for the town.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river Would be better.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tizzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on the Palace Hotel.

I am delighted that you made full use of our facillities, particularly the jacuzzi. I will pass all your compliments on to all departments.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fiona Murray
pp.Laura Kelly
Slaes Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I took advantage of the hotels February and March deals and stayed over the weekend 1st to 3rd March 2013. Got bed and breakfast both nights and evening meal on the first night, tgether with a complimentary bottle of wine and use of the pool and gym, all in all, excellent value for money. Reception staff were very helpful and efficient, there was no room in the car park and they explained that if we dropped our car keys off at the pool reception our car would be parked for us, and brought bck when required. The evening meal was excellent, as was the breakfast both mornings. At breakfast, it's worth advising the staff for a window table if one is available, there's a good view out over the River Ness. The room was comfortable with everything we needed for our stay, the bed was large and comfortable, as other reviewers have also described. We also used the gym and the pool, both of which were sufficient for our needs. The hotel itself is in a great position, only being a 5/10 minute walk from the city centre with it's shops, bars etc.I would recommend this hotel for a weekend break in Inverness.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Palace Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We often have special offers on which can be booked directly with ourselves or online.

I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Fiona Murray
pp.Laura Kelly
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Staid 2 night good city centre location on the river facing the castle. Clean comfortable twin room .. Spa looked good . Food good but it needed to be hotter breakfast plenty of choice but once again needs to be hotter.Staff friendly. Bar service was a little slow at times staff seem to be somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sha69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Palace Hotel.

I will pass your comments on to all departments.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Fiona Murray
pp.Laura Kelly
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#10 of 35 in Inverness
1,758 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#20 of 35 in Inverness
1,259 reviews
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 35 in Inverness
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $103 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa located on the banks of Inverness opposite Inverness Castle. It is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish and contemporary hotel. Accommodation is offered over 2 period properties and modern refurbished cottage. Choose from Classic rooms to period River & Castle View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. Choose from dining in Brassiere, Bar or the Lounge where you can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. Visit the Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings here is a brief summary: Inverness City Centre location : Free Wifi : Free Car Parking : Leisure Club with 50 foot Swimming pool : Fitness Suite: Starbucks : Sleeping Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing