We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, geat location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Booked this hotel thru Superbreak which was inclusive of train from Doncaster, it turned out to be a great deal, even taking into account the 7 hour journey. The hotel whilst not modern was clean, great friendly staff, and a great breakfast selection. Room furniture rather dated but it had a huge bed, and we both had good nights sleep, very quiet, no real view but you only sleep in your room and I am sure the price reflects this. The hotel is situated a 5 to 8 minute walk from the station, along side the river, which at night is lit by the lights on the trees which stretch the length of the river. Big regret we did not hire a car for the couple of days to see more of the area

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIZZADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel

I’m glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel well located

The hotel is in the middle of get rooms refurbished so I hope when you visit next you will notice the improvement we have made.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,142 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Restaurant has been done up and looks excellant. The food was as goos as ever. The restaurant staff are brilliant and extremely hard working. It's good to see the same staff still there from our previous visits. Obviously highly regarded by the management !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iainFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel

I’m glad to read that you like to look of our newly refurbished restaurant and that you enjoyed the food.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent location, nice and quiet and close to Inverness City
Car parking a bit of a problem at the Hotel at times but found it easy to park with plenty of spaces in a side road at the back.
Food very good, rooms very clean and all the staff where very pleasant and helpful.
Can't comment on the leisure facilities as we did use them
Would come back again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golden_Orfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel

I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Friendly staff and a lovely hotel. Rooms were a little dated but clean and the bed was HUGE! The spa is not so much a spa you can loll about for the day but a good pool, sauna, steam room and a basic gym. Did not try out the spa treatments so unable to comment. The restaurant has an outstanding view, very comfortable and served nice food from a simple menu. It is well located with restaurants and shops on your door step, also on the riverside. Parking is limited but if you can not get parked you simply leave your car in the valet section and you keys with the hotel. If they need to move your car you just need to let them know when you want it for and it will be ready. I can not fault the staff, hotel or food for the price we paid. I would say this is at the top end of a 3* and better than some 4* hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel

I’m glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful and friendly. I happy to read you had no issues with the parking facilities at the hotel and found the hotel well located in proximity to the local shops, bars and restaurants.

The hotel is in the middle of get rooms refurbished so I hope when you visit next you will notice the improvement we have made.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Was really impressed with the location of this hotel over looking the river ness and very close to pubs, shops and restaurants. Parking could be a problem as I think it shares with the neighbouring hotels and of course the leisure club. For the 3 nights we stayed we got parked up every time. We ate in the hotel restaurant with the free welcome meal which inc a bottle of wine in our room and was all nice and was worth booking after travelling allday, although the waitress was unsure what was included in the meal deal, this was eventually confirmed.
The room was a nice size but we were near the stairs on the 2nd floor and could hear the door banging against our wall from 7am which was really annoying. I mentioned this to reception who sent a guy up to investigate. At first he said their was nothing he could do but eventually had us moved to the 4th floor to an equally nice room and less noise however we replaced one problem with two more. The wifi signal was much weaker and the heating not has efficient the higher the floor. The room got quite cool at night. We decided to make do. Breakfast was really nice and tried the haggis as we always do when we visit Scotland and we really enjoyed it. On our confirmation it said free Starbucks coffee however this was not advertised in hotel anywhere. My husband order a coffee anyway and added it to our room bill. When we checked out it was indeed free! We wished we had made more use of this as we left but maybe it is something the hotel kept quite about. We didnt use the leisure facilities on this occasion but the pool and jacuzzi looked inviting. The best thing for us was the location which was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warnesygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on the Palace Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your wine and meal on your first night.

We do offer a free valet service at the Hotel so if our car park is full we can move your car to our overflow car park and get it back whenever you need it.

I have passed your comments about your bedroom on to the relevant departments to that they can be looked into.

I hope that we can welcome you back to stay again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Fiona Murray
pp. Laura Kelly
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our 6th time time to the Palace Hotel in Inverness. We'd booked a weekend break in February and once again enjoyed our experience at the hotel. We had dinner on the 1st night
in the hotel, the menu had an excellent variety of starters & mains and we all really enjoyed our meal.
The Hotel also has a pool & gym which hotel residents are free to use. We used the pool on both days. Our 5 year old g/daughter loves it.There is also a sauna, steam room & jacuzzi which are also free to use.
We stayed in room 106, in the newer part of the hotel at the back. It was a large family room with a large LCD TV. The shower was brilliant and there were complimentary soap, shower gel & shampoo. The rooms are cleaned daily to a very good standard & teas/coffees etc replenished.
The room was above the changing rooms and we were aware of the vents which could be heard to about 10pm and seemed to start up about 5am. It didn't bother us too much, not enough to ask to be moved. Although next time we go, prior to arrival we will ask for another room.
The hotel is in a great location, right on the river and looking onto Inverness castle. Just cross the bridge and you're a right in the town.
The hotel has limited parking, like a few town city centre hotels, but they have valet parking where you're car is dropped of at the car park at the cathederal and picked up again for you if you should need it.
Children also get a free activity pack on arrival.
The hotel is rated as 3* although I would rate at the higher end, if not 4*.
We have stayed in a few hotels in Inverness and this is our favourite. It's always the one we book if they have available dates.
I would highly recommend the Palace Hotel and look forward to returning again this year.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor. Suites are to the front and look over the river to the castle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Palace Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you have returned to stay with us on 6 occasions. I am glad that you enjoyed the food and facilities we have to offer.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon for a seventh time!

Kind regards,

Fiona Murray
pp. Laura Kelly
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank longb4liisa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
617 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
1,848 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $81 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa located on the banks of Inverness opposite Inverness Castle. It is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish and contemporary hotel. Accommodation is offered over 2 period properties and modern refurbished cottage. Choose from Classic rooms to period River & Castle View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. Choose from dining in Brassiere, Bar or the Lounge where you can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. Visit the Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings here is a brief summary: Inverness City Centre location : Free Wifi : Free Car Parking : Leisure Club with 50 foot Swimming pool : Fitness Suite: Starbucks : Sleeping Beauty Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing