We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another lovely weekend stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Another lovely weekend stay!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is our 2nd time staying here whilst visiting relatives in Inverness.
There's not really much to fault with this hotel, so if your looking for negatives, go somewhere else :D
The view over the Ness and Castle is lovely, the hotel is clean, the food is great; not much more to add really.
We were in a Superior twin, although basic (and in need of a make-over), it was adequate; the people next door were rather noisy, but you can't choose your neighbours.
The breakfast is the main reason for our return here; it really is worth staying over for; buffet style or continental with coffee/tea & toast on demand.
We had dinner the 1st night (we normally eat out) and were surprised by the quality and portion size, both very good; we ate there on the 2nd evening too, it would be wrong not too!
The amenities (Spa/pool etc) are very nice although we didn't have time to use them.
The bar area is a lovely place to relax with views you couldn't buy!
All Staff were very friendly, especially the restaurant staff who are very knowledgeable about the food and the local area, always a bonus.
Looking forward to a return trip next year, thank you again for a very pleasant stay (and the 2 free shower caps) :~)

Room Tip: Any room, just make sure you get a breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiferGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel.

I happy to read that your enjoyed your stay with us again and you found the staff helpful and friendly. I glad the read you enjoyed our evening meals and the 54 choice buffet breakfast – a must to have in the morning to start your day.

Please don’t hesitate to contact us when you are looking to book your next trip.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    439
    175
    72
    25
See reviews for
192
588
56
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We arrived in the evening and were greeted with a smile and really friendly staff . Had a fantastic room that had every thing we needed . The food was exceptional and very filling . The dinning staff (mother as her colleuges call her) was fantastic she gave us some great places to visit which we did and she was right in all that she told us . We had the most fantastic weekend away and very much needed we will definatly visit again and will recommened to all that we know . Thank you very much for making us welcome and for the special time we had with you

Room Tip: book with late rooms .com and youll get a fantastic deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobshell121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel.

I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff so friendly and helpful.

I happy this made you time special with us and hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We arrived early to get one of the few parking spots, then went for a walk into town, which is a mere few minutes. The Hotel has a beautiful view from the front, being on the banks of the river Ness, opposite the castle. We were upgraded to a superior room but still facing the back of the hotel. It was well enough appointed but the en-suite could definitely do with a makeover. Old fashioned ,lino floor, plastic shower head etc. The toiletries were good quality and plentiful, and there was a heated towel rail which worked!Tea and coffee tray was well stocked and their was an ironing board, iron and trouser press in the ample wardrobe.The flat screen TV had a fair amount of channels available and the room was clean and wekk decorated with a new carpet. The bed was king sized and comfy, with spare pillows and blanket if required.The window was rather small, and stuck away in a corner and the central heating radiator thermostat control was broken , resulting in a temperature more suited to Egypt than Inverness. After two almost sleepless nights, we asked for it to be repaired. A very pleasant chap arrived and fitted a new control which didn't seem to work either, so he brought an electric radiator replacement and closed the main radiator valve to switch the heat off. I did manage to get the main radiator working later in the evening with some tools from my car so everything worked out fine.
The Spa at the back of the hotel is excellent, having a good sized pool, steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi. The changing rooms are clean ,with plenty of lockers. Towels are supplied for spa use by guests and it's all in the price of the room. We ate dinner in our room on the first night, and later in the Brasserie. Both meals were served promptly, were of good quality and plentiful. They didn't seem to be overpriced either. The breakfast was of the highest quality and the choice was outstanding, as was the service. We did have to ask three times for our heating radiator to be fixed. The first receptionist sent the guy to the wrong room apparently, then the next one seemed to forget. All was well in the end though and on balance, we would stay again.
A room overlooking the river would be best, but rather pricey.(most of them are in the process of being upgraded) The hotel is really in an ideal position for shops restaurants, the Theatre and sightseeing in the city, but get there as close to midday as you can, as guests are just leaving, and you are more likely to get a parking spot.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a superior room, the standard ones are in a newish building at the bac, by the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick.ferries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel.

I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the view and location the hotel has to offer. I apologise you had problems with you heater, this information has been passed onto our maintenance department to look into further. I’m sorry if you struggled to find parking at the hotel, in case you were unaware we offer a valet service to our overflow car park which is a 3 minute walk from the hotel and a free service and will take this back again whenever needed.

The hotel is currently refurbishing a number of the bathrooms this winter with more scheduled for later this year so I hope if you visit again you will notice the improvements we have made.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottm
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel never fails to impress, this was our second Christmas stop over and was just as good Christmas 2010. Food, Staff, Comfort, Leisure Facilities, Value for Money were all absolutely first rate. We are almost reluctant to put a report on here that says how good the Christmas break was in case lots of people book up and we can’t get a room but we believe in being totally honest. The room and the newly refurbished bathroom were delightful. Whatever time of year we have stayed at this lovely hotel we have always thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only negative comment we can make that it is a long way from where we live if it were only a few hours drive away we would certainly visit much more often. Congratulations to Management and all staff can’t speak highly enough of our Festive Break.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandGNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel.

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your Christmas break with us and the package we offer over this time. This package is value for money and I'm glad you see this too. Thank you for your kind comments which I will pass onto all staff.

Please feel free to contact me when you are ready to book your Christmas 2013 break and I'll be happy to help.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked a weekend away to visit Loch Ness. The hotel is centrally located and as mentioned by other contributors it is close to a Tesco Metro. The view from the front of the hotel is brilliant with the river just outside the front door and the castle on the hill opposite. There are so many restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel that there is no need to use the hotel restaurant. We chose not to use the hotel restaurant for breakfast as there is no discount rate for children (and you can get a MacDonalds breakfast meal just round the corner). The hotel has a large pool, gym, jacuzzi and sauna and these facilities were most welcome. Free wifi is also available and the service was very good with only the odd disconnection. The rooms have tvs, kettles, tea, coffee etc. A lift is available for people who have trouble climbing stairs.

The hotel car park is very small but I was informed by reception that it would be ok to double park and leave the key at the fitness centre. It was easier to wait a couple of hours and to grab the first space that became available. The alternative would have been to squeeze the car into a small space next to a refuse skip.

I would certainly recommend the hotel for visiting Inverness and the Loch Ness area especially if you do not need to worry about parking..

Room Tip: The rear facing rooms are fine. To get a front facing room you need to pay a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the tiem to write a review on the Palace Hotel.

Children can enjoy breakfast at the hotel at a discounted rate, I am sorry you were not made aware of this when you stayed.

I am glad that you enjoyed having the use of the leisure facilities as well as the free wifi throughout the hotel.

I hope that we can welcome you back to stay in the future.

Kind regards,

pp.Fiona Murray

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Fab Hotel. Location is excellent for driving or walking to centre of Inverness. Nice area beside churches and the river and there's a Tesco round the corner which is really handy. The hotel has all the amenities you should need. Great restaurant and very reasonable prices for large portions, fab room service, leisure area with gym, pool and spa. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. We stayed for 2 nights and had a lovely room 420 facing the back of the hotel. The room was modern and tasteful and the bathroom was lovely. Although we didn't have a river view, there was a nice view of the hills in the distance at night. We had a relaxing Christmas shopping break and will certainly be back again soon.

Room Tip: 420 was a nice quite, clean and spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naomiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Palace Hotel.

I am glad that made full use of our facilities and found our staff friendly and helpful.

I am pleased that you felt relaxed after your break and hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

pp.Fiona Murray

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over the New Year. The all inclusive deal was great however we never ate lunch at the hotel as we were always out at the times they had us booked in for... Our room was tiny! We were in the original building and it was in need of some renovation. Our bathroom was a disgrase, everytime we showered the whole bathroom was soaking, the mirror never cleared the whole time we were there and the house keeping didn' t even make the effort to clear it, they just moved the complimentary items away from the puddle. Our towels and bath mat were contantly over the radiator in the room. The bed was like a brick! There's no other words to describe it. The food was amazing, we had set menu's for our meals and the portions were generous, we never left the table hungry. The all inclusive drinks didn't limit us to certain drinks which was nice. The service in the hotel was excellent, felt sorry for some of the staff as it was the same ones that were there for our duration and they couldn't have spent much time at home over the festive season. Entertainment was quite good however maybe a little similar on most nights (possibly aimed at the "older" residents in the hotel). The pool looked nice however we didn't use this facility. The Valet parking was great! When we arrived there was no spaces so we went round the side of the hotel and "abandoned" our cars and there was no issues when we collected them. I wouldn't rule out staying here again but i'd definately be looking to get one of the "newer" rooms. Location of the hotel was excellent and the views from the reception area/lounge was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu061183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Palace Hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed the food you had throughout your stay, we feel that the set menu offers our guests a good choice. Also, I am pleased that you benefitted from the use of our valet service-it comes in handy when the hotel is busy.

With regard to the issues you found with your bed and bathroom, I have passed these on to our maintenance department.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

pp.Fiona Murray

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,734 reviews
2.3 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish 3 star Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in the heart of Inverness. Located on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Castle it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. You'll enjoy a fresh and contemporary hotel with a choice of dining in Eight on the River or the Brasserie. You can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. As well as a lovely selection of bedrooms from Classic rooms to period River View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings with extras including FREE Wifi, Free Car Parking and a superb upgraded Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Inverness Best Western
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing