We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay at the palace !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
nr. Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay at the palace !”
Reviewed January 16, 2008

We booked one of the DBB deals at the Palace and from the minute we stepped through the front door until we left we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff.
We got a room that overlooked the River and castle giving excellent views. The room itself was one of the biggest I have been in (premier room, anniversary treat) and was in excellent condition. The bed Kingsize have just recently had new matresses and this made for a good nights sleep.
Some other main points
Breakfast - self service with lots of choice
Spa/pool - extremely clean changing rooms with wooden lockers, decent size pool, sauna,steamroom and fitness room.

All in all an excellent stay and we are already planning a return in the near future.

Should also say do not worry if you cannot get your car in the hotel car park, they do a valet service to a near by parking area they have and collect it for you whenever you want.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and large bedroom
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    439
    175
    72
    25
See reviews for
192
588
56
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2007

The palace hotel is a great location if you want to explore Inverness. The hotel is only a 3 minute walk from all the shops which suited me great :) I had a bit of trouble finding availabilty in the hotel but Classic Britain a hotel reservations company found me a room straight away which i am very greatful for.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank mckenzie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2007

just returned from this great hotel ,we stayed in the executive rooms overlooking river Ness.I would advice to try and get these rooms for the view
.The staff were brillant nothing was to much trouble and we were made to feel special.
All the meals were good and there was a good choice ,the bar drinks were expensive so would advise to pay extra for the all inculsive option.
The hotel is in the middle or the city and so it is easy to see all.
The swimming pool was clean and towels were provided.
Also had live music on the weekend when we stayed which was a bonus.
Would definatley go back,the only negative I can think of was the toilet paper a bit like the type you had at school.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — toilet paper
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Had a problem with the room which were allocated when we arrived it had smell of stale smoke we complaned and got moved to another which was fine but they only room they had a available was with twin beds.The room was very clean and the Spar was great with nice gym and swimming pool.Staff where very good, nice breakfast and the last night we had a meal in the resturant which wasexcellent.
Overall the hotel was excellent would go back again.

  • Liked — Hotel was very clean nice room good breakfast/evening meal and excellent spar
  • Disliked — Room we had only had twin beds
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wilfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2007

We stayed here on a Saturday night at the end of the first week of our honeymoon. It is a great location, right on the banks of the River Ness and about a 5 min walk to the town, sorry city, centre. The foyer is very spacious, light and airy. There is a small starbucks concession in the corner which does the usual latte and cappucinos. There is a pool (not too bad a size) and health spa. We didn't use it, but we did think it looked clean. You can hire swimming trunks etc when you are there. All very nice and clean. Nothing too inspiring though. The dining was basic. Again, the dining room is pretty samey. High ceilings, light airy atmosphere. Parking was good for us, we drove straight into a space and left the car there for the duration. Staff were friendly, but young - as is the trend these days! Or am I just getting old!! In all I would say this was adequate. The rooms was not overly large, had a view of the back of the main building (on the 4th floor of the annexe to the rear of the main hotel building) so it was not really that good. Bathroom was smallish, but nothing very impressive. For the cash, I would say you could have got a travel lodge/holiday inn if you were not too bothered about the location

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — un-inspiring
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandkontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moray
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2007

we chose this hotel for a hen night, and were very impressed at the standard of the hotel and the service we received. There were 14 in our party and the rooms varied, but were all of a good standard, my own room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, there was a block of flats outside our window, but we could see the hills beyond. One of our party had a river view room, great view, but not as well presented and spoilt by the smell of smoke, ask for a non-smoking room!

I felt there were some nice touches, like the iron and ironing board in the wardrobe, and the hotel providing ice buckets and glasses for our own drinks in the room, we had a little party in a room overlooking the river before dinner and really appreciated this service. plenty of toiletries in the room and a larger than average range of teas, etc. to choose from, although strangely no biscuits on the hospitality tray, remarked on by everyone, who expected to fight for the packet of shortbread.

The only criticism I have is on arrival our rooms were not ready, and we were told we could leave our cases by the door, I felt there should have been a more secure area offered.

We ate as part of our package and found food very enjoyable, but puddings very poor. Wine was very good. Breakfast had something for everyone.

we used the pool and found it to be well maintained and clean, we were also lent a coin for the locker, by a trusting boy on the desk.

Ideal location for a short stay, 10 minutes walk from rail station and two minutes from centre of town. Lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Nice river walks.

I live within an hour of inverness, and plan to come back with my family for a weekend, as the hotel was such a comfortable base for exploring the city.

  • Liked — location,decor and pool
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorayHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York State
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Our first trip to Scotland. I began to try to book our rooms about eight months prior. After looking at several hotels online, we decided that the Best Western Palace was the one we wanted. We had a bit of trouble finding availability, but managed to book through a popular travel website. We arrived on the train and walked with our luggage to the hotel. There were taxis available, but we knew that the hotel was just a short walk through town. The person at the desk was very nice, and let us go right to our room,even though we had arrived almost three hours before their check-in time. Our room was in the older part of the hotel and was on the fourth floor in the front facing the river. The view was wonderful, with Inverness Castle directly across the river from us. Our Family room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We were happy to hear that the use of the gym, sauna, steam room, and indoor heated swimming pool were all included in our room price. The included breakfast was delicious, with a range from pastry to cereal, sausages, and even black pudding. We also had a wonderful meal in the brasserie one evening. There were several bur tours staying there at the same time and the hotel was busy, but the staff made time for every guest that needed assistance. We traveled with our eight year old and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequenttraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,734 reviews
2.3 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish 3 star Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in the heart of Inverness. Located on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Castle it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. You'll enjoy a fresh and contemporary hotel with a choice of dining in Eight on the River or the Brasserie. You can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. As well as a lovely selection of bedrooms from Classic rooms to period River View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings with extras including FREE Wifi, Free Car Parking and a superb upgraded Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Inverness Best Western
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing