We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire
2 reviews
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This Hotel has excellant facilities, the staff are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellant, good value for money. 'Chef' is a nice guy and very friendly - he will cater for anyone, even named a course 'The Russell Cheese Board'. This was a fantastic choice to have the weekend we were there. Looking forward to our fourth annual visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheItherCountryQuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel

I'm glad to read the you enjoyed your stay and the staff were helpful and friendly.

Look foward to seeing you next year

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    465
    193
    78
    27
See reviews for
209
631
62
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lydney, Gloucestershire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2012

My wife & I had booked the Christmas package and a few days either side to stay for a week. We received a friendly welcome at reception and were dealt with most efficiently. We were offered and accepted assistance to our room with our luggage. We were very pleased with our room - spacious; comfortable; extra large bed; large bay window, with table and chairs, providing an excellent view across the river to the castle.

The hotel is conveniently located a short walking distance from the centre of the city and very close to shops. Yet, it is also in a peaceful situation with just a one way road in front alongside the river. There are pleasant riverside walks, the cathedral and theatre are close by.

I was taken ill on Boxing Day and the hotel management immediately contacted NHS24 and arranged a taxi for me to visit the local hospital. I had to return to hospital on the two days following and also visit the local surgery. Staff were extremely helpful and caring on all occasions and did more than one would expect in the circumstances. It became obvious that I would not be fit to travel on the day planned and I enquired about extending our stay. Arrangements were made without question for us to stay in the same room even though the hotel was full for the New Year holiday. It was necessary to extend our stay twice subsequently until I was able to return home.

My wife had a significant birthday during our stay and before travelling for our holiday, staff at the hotel had helped me in making arrangements for some birthday treats and surprises. We were not disappointed and can recommend the in-house spa centre pool and facilities which are available free to residents, and the massage centre.

We ate in the bar and the restaurant, and the quality of the food and the efficiency of service was excellent. We also ate in our room when I was unwell and service was prompt and of high quality - hot food arrived hot. There is a wide choice for 'continental' or full Scottish breakfast which is buffet style with tea/coffee and toast served at the table. The all inclusive Christmas and New Year packages included the possibility of four meals each day with bar drinks also included for four hours each evening. There was some good live entertainment each evening during Christmas and New Year.

There is something very different about this hotel and the way that it is run. All the staff with whom we had contact were friendly and extremely helpful. This included management, reception, bar, restaurant and housekeeping. The hotel is run very efficiently and any queries/requirements are dealt with promptly. I was more than happy to write to the owner and express my gratitude for a excellent stay, something I have rarely if ever done before in spite of staying in a large number of hotels both in the UK and abroad.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forest Lord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and write a heart warming review and letter on the Palace Hotel.

I'd so happy to read that all members of staff looked after you and your wife while you were unwell and hope that you are feeling much better.

It's nice to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us dispite being ill and we hope to welcome you and your wife back with us in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The hotel is beautifully situated right on the river , making it peaceful but within minutes walk you are in the heart of the town. The lobby is comfortable and feels welcoming. The rooms reflect the traditional character of the building but with contemporary furnishings they make for comfort and style. The bathrooms are small and feel like they are yet to be refurbished, functional and clean but not in keeping with the room. Best of all is the view ! get a room with a river view and sit and just look out. We were there at Christmas so the lights on the bridge and a long the river and the castle over the water is just beautiful. The leisure facilities are particularly good, the pool is larger than usual hotel pools and it is spotless.Breakfast was good straightforward scottish fayr, well cooked. No extras but plenty of what is there. The dining room also feels like it might be next on the list to refurbish, but staff helpful. Particular mention to the excellent service from managers Louise and Sarah who ironed out a small problem with exemplary customer relation skill.

Room Tip: room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertsons123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel comfortable and welcoming.

You are right in what you have written our restaurant is on the refurbishment plan for 2012 and should be getting started within the next few weeks.

I do hope you'll be back int eh future to see the new restaurant

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here on a three nights dinner bed and breakfast package for my husbands birthday. Ended up with a lovely room overlooking the castle and river. (041) 24th to the 27th jan. Our room had a sofa and two chairs so was perfect to chill out in the afternoon. Used the swimming pool, sauna and steam room every day. Just perfect to relax. Booked a pedicure, manicure, back massage and facial at the hotel and really enjoyed my afternoon there on the thursday.
However I will say that the food was very hit or miss but I understand there was a problem with the chef and someone else had to cover. (ordered lime and white chocolate and was told there would be a short delay. Well have you ever had hot cheesecake as thats how it came.!!!!??? Think they had to rustle it up then. Awful. At breakfast a very good choice but burnt toast one day and hot bread the next day as the toast looked like it just had a look at the grill.) Having said all that it was a great 4 days rest and I am sure once the chef matter sorted it will be back to its normal standard. However for us we will just stay b and b as put us off slightly. Shame really as good hotel otherwise. (but we were offered a free glass of wine on the thursday night as they had problems but couldnt drink it. ugh lol ) Went to pay bill and dinner bed breakfast package on then charged us for all that we had eaten too so charged twice for the same thing. But staff all very friendly and helpful and sorted it out quickly and explained what they had done wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the river. Lovely view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Est1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel

I apologise for the problems that arose with the food and sorry to read that this has put you off staying at the hotel again.

I'm glad to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay though.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in mid January. The reception staff were very nice and helpful when checking in. The room was large and pleasantly decorated with a superking bed. The bathroom was a let down, but they are in the process of upgrading them.

We had dinner in the restaurant (not the bar where the TV is). The starter, broth, was lovely and thick and hot. My main was chicken in bacon and was just lovely. My husband had fish in a sauce, something he would never usually have, and was most impressed. Unusually, we both managed sweet. I would certainly recommend eating in the restaurant.

Breakfast was also very good. The usual hot and cold selection, but it was good quality. Tea, coffee and toast was taken to your table and most unusually these days, a pot of hot water for the tea,

The pool area was nice, hot tub, sauna, steam room. All nice and clean, even though there was refurb works going on in the ladies shower area.

Mark the manager seemed to be there all the time and was a really nice guy who leads a great team.

All in all the hotel was a pleasant surprise. The main public area is a pleasant space with lots of sofas and tables in the bar area. Some other areas are a little run down, but they're working on it. Look past it and enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ford maverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Palace Hotel.

I'm nice to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. You are right in what you have written some of our bathrooms are part of the refurbishment plan for 2012.

I'm glad to see you enjoyed the food on offer at the hotel and the comfortable surrounding we have to offer.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Arrived after hrs traveling. Showed a large river view room which was quite large but shabby. Bathroom was fine but tiny. Room very warm and rad could not be turned down. Asked for someone to sort out, manager came with his pliers and screwdriver!! Asked for another room but no he wanted to fix or install a portable oil rad. He said it was easier to do this than show me another room. Dinner was to 9.15 only and the spa open to 9pm. Staff were hoovering the spa at 8.30pm and the jacuzzi only worked at 10 min intervals. This means 10 on 10 0ff. Towels were from the 50s. Thin and thread bare. Dinner was fair but not worth the cost. Also served in brightly lit room with large tv with football on !!!! Staff young and there was no evidence of any form of decent management.
BED was hard and to top it all you could hear all forms of plumbing from the rooms above and next door. I mean every toilet pull, shower, and people themselves using the loo. This went on thru the night. I t was really loud. Breakfast looked like it had been eaten before being served and was awful. This hotel needs some serious money spending on it and some decent leadership . DONT STAY

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in November 2010. We booked through Hotel Connections and got a cracking room rate for dinner, bed and breakfast. Despite the weather we had a lovely stay and felt warm and cosy throughout our time in the hotel. The room was spacious with a high ceiling and a massive bed which was a big bonus as my partner is 6ft 3inch tall. A really good central location right on the river front and we even had a river view from our room. Dinner was of a good standard and full Scottish breakfast was AMAZING especially the haggis. Leisure facilities were available as was wi-fi which ticked additional boxes for us. All in all a fabby weekend away from it all in good surroundings, with decent food and a nice atmosphere. We are happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel from a stay you had with us in November 2010.

The effort you have made is very much appreciated and I'm glad to see tht you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will be welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,816 reviews
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish 3 star Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in the heart of Inverness. Located on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Castle it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. You'll enjoy a fresh and contemporary hotel with a choice of dining in Eight on the River or the Brasserie. You can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. As well as a lovely selection of bedrooms from Classic rooms to period River View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings with extras including FREE Wifi, Free Car Parking and a superb upgraded Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing