We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than average but less than v good = 3 1/2 stars”

Urquhart's Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Inveraray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Better than average but less than v good = 3 1/2 stars”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a pleasant meal here. Pleasant and friendly staff. Good portion sizes. Fish cakes were a bit bland and lacked seasoning but the salad on the side was very nice (i usually hate dressing but this was well balanced against the salad and tasty) and the chips were good. I would certainly go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cal26_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    130
    38
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had an excellent dinner in Urquhart's restaurant after we visited Urquahrt's castle in Loch Ness. The chicken curry and the risotto are the best ones we've had in UK in the past 2 years. And their garlic bread is outstanding as well.

You might have some problem if dine with little kids. You will have to carry your buggy up and down without lift, and there is no kid's menu. Instead they do half portion food for kids, which is big enough for 10-year-old children.

We chose it because it is a family run restaurant and serve local people for a long time and we find it deserve the reputation. If you'd like to try, don't forget to book beforehand.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zhijun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very nice wee restaurant. Don't be put off by the slightly run down exterior as it is very nicely done up inside. Staff were extremely attentive and very friendly. Food was amazing and portions were a great size. Only down-side is the drinks are slightly on the expensive side. All in all a great experience and will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant little restaurant”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a small, unobtrusively place not far from downtown. We had a very pleasant meal here. I would recommend it as an informal place to get a good dinner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CinciTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness. Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We don't eat out often in our home town, possibly four times a year. When we do we always try Urquharts first. It is a small homely restaurant. It is upstairs therefore disability access would be a problem for some. The restaurant is nice and clean with good visibility to outside. Food is simple, no arty crafty stuff here. Good selection on menu. The portions are very adequate and we always find each course piping hot. Waiting staff are cheery and friendly. Finally you don't get a shock when you get the bill. We always recommend this place to friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandycam96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urquhart's Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Urquhart's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing