We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atholdene House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atholdene House
Ranked #79 of 247 Inverness B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This b&b is only a 3 star but should be higher the facilities are top notch and very clean. Family run and very chatty. And one good thing is they don't use silly little cups and tea pots as you expect in B&B or hotels they have a mug for the use of in the rooms to make a nice cup of tea. Over all a fantastic stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utterpanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    22
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
29
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very attractive house with Fred a great host.Easy access to the town and parking at back ,very warm and comfortable clean rooms. I was in a single and it suited my needs admirably.If I have to return due to family business will go back and see Fred as he was so friendly,the only trouble was that we talked so long that breakfast nearly turned into lunch!!!

Room Tip: all doubles looked great ,single that I was in could be updated in shower area but it suited me for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The stay was unintended as my wife was unexpectedly admitted to hospital but the friendly welcome of Fred and the good atmosphere made me feel at ease.. The location is ideal being only a few minutes walk from the city centre but with its own parking. The rooms were clean and comfortable with space to walk around in, which at this price is incredible. Fred could, I suspect, replace the local tourist office with his knowledge and advice. An enjoyable stay despite the circumstances - I can heartily recommend Atholdene as next time I'm in Inverness I'll be staying there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for somewhere central in Inverness, quiet, with parking, and this was it. The price was excellent, the service very friendly. The owner, Fred, could not have been more helpful, providing a map and recommendation for places to eat in the city that night.
Blackout blinds in the room were excellent and although it's a small thing, it's a feature that many places don't have, and should.
Breakfast was great and really set my up for my day at the Snowman Rally.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Puddy6410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Fred was an awesome host, and very helpful with all our questions. The room was comfortable and fairly spacious. The bed was okay but the bedding very cozy. The ensuite was nicely updated and had a decent shower. In room amenities, including tv, wifi, hairdryer coffee/tea. The breakfasts were fabulous. The "cold bar" was so fully stocked with fresh fruit, yogurts and wide variety of cereals that it almost was a shame to have to choose between this and the hot meal. Eggs done to perfection any way, and the best bagels in a long time. The Atholdene House was perfectly located for walking to sites and shopping. Numerous eateries within 5-10 minute walk. Also great location if driving to exit easily for day trips. Nicely done Fred and family. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatDane67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a delightful stay here. Penelope welcomed us with tea when we arrived. She and Fred had lots of very helpful suggestions about things to see and do in the area. The room was small but very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. We would certainly recommend this B&B to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

A recent visit to family in Inverness was made all the better with a brief but thoroughly enjoyable stay at this B&B. The wonderful hosts were helped by their lovely children and staff. The rooms were spacious, quiet, immaculately clean with lovely little touches. The breakfast was hearty and delicious (sorry we forgot to fill in the second day's request).Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Heathmount Hotel
Heathmount Hotel
#13 of 34 in Inverness
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandwood Bed and Breakfast
Sandwood Bed and Breakfast
#62 of 247 in Inverness
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#6 of 247 in Inverness
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aberfeldy Lodge Guest House
Aberfeldy Lodge Guest House
#138 of 247 in Inverness
68 reviews
9.5 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholdene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholdene House

Property: Atholdene House
Address: 20 Southside Road, Inverness IV2 3BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value, 3-star Scottish Tourist Board bed and breakfast. Families welcome. All rooms en-suite. Free Wi-Fi throughout Guest House. Large private car park. 5 minutes walk to Town centre. Residential Crown district with similar period houses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atholdene House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing