We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
115
25
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
25
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalk downtownvisit invernessa lovely stayexcellent hostsroom was clean and comfortablespent two nightsflat screen tvbed and breakfastblack puddingtea coffeescottish breakfastperfect locationthe riverbreakfast was excellentb and bloch nessgillian
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 147 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Atholdene House for 3 nights on our trip to the Scottish Highlands. Inverness is a perfect central location to do a variety of activities and day trips. The family is very welcoming and knowledgeable about places to visit in the area. The rooms were beautiful, and the breakfasts were superb! This place is also a short walk (maybe 10 minutes) from the train station and city center. My sister even left some artwork in our room, and Freddie mailed it all the way to America. Wonderful service!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel0188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Our hosts were most gracious and helped us get there by patiently giving directions and finally waving me in. Fred provided excellent recommendation for entertainment (the Hootenanny which gets two thumbs), Fred said if you want a table book dinner which worked out (otherwise stand all night, food was good). We stayed two nights and had two excellent breakfasts and enjoyable conversation with the other guests. The area around Atholdene house makes for an enjoyable walk. Also, Culloden fields is fairly close and a must see.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Very nice rooms and a helpful host. Easy walking distance to the town center. Average breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winsley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst watching the Scottish Open golf at Castle Stuart.

It is a 10 minute stroll from the station, located in a nice road with other similarly attractive properties. Inside, the hall and breakfast room are very attractive, and my bedroom was a pleasant single room - and was well set out and very satisfactory. Freddy, the owner was very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was of a high standard, good choice and everything excellent quality. The (free) wi-fi worked well, and at a good speed.

Within 5 minutes you can get into town for shopping or restaurants etc, so this is a very convenient location.

There is no separate lounge, but as a well located B&B this justifies a 5* rating. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here while visiting northern Scotland for the first time. We loved the B&B -- a perfect location within walking distance of downtown Inverness. Further, the owner gave us great ideas on what to do both in Inverness and the broader area of north Scotland. The suggestion to go to Hootananny in Inverness for live music turned out to be exactly the type of thing we are into -- he was adept at understanding just what we might be interested in! Breakfast in the mornings was also great. Rate was extremely reasonable. All-in-all, great place and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3CatsFromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews