We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jim and karen b had an excellent time at atholdene house”
Review of Atholdene House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atholdene House
Ranked #60 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Our hosts were most gracious and helped us get there by patiently giving directions and finally waving me in. Fred provided excellent recommendation for entertainment (the Hootenanny which gets two thumbs), Fred said if you want a table book dinner which worked out (otherwise stand all night, food was good). We stayed two nights and had two excellent breakfasts and enjoyable conversation with the other guests. The area around Atholdene house makes for an enjoyable walk. Also, Culloden fields is fairly close and a must see.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

Very nice rooms and a helpful host. Easy walking distance to the town center. Average breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winsley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst watching the Scottish Open golf at Castle Stuart.

It is a 10 minute stroll from the station, located in a nice road with other similarly attractive properties. Inside, the hall and breakfast room are very attractive, and my bedroom was a pleasant single room - and was well set out and very satisfactory. Freddy, the owner was very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was of a high standard, good choice and everything excellent quality. The (free) wi-fi worked well, and at a good speed.

Within 5 minutes you can get into town for shopping or restaurants etc, so this is a very convenient location.

There is no separate lounge, but as a well located B&B this justifies a 5* rating. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here while visiting northern Scotland for the first time. We loved the B&B -- a perfect location within walking distance of downtown Inverness. Further, the owner gave us great ideas on what to do both in Inverness and the broader area of north Scotland. The suggestion to go to Hootananny in Inverness for live music turned out to be exactly the type of thing we are into -- he was adept at understanding just what we might be interested in! Breakfast in the mornings was also great. Rate was extremely reasonable. All-in-all, great place and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3CatsFromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

The b&b is a family home and that really reflects in the service and experience there. The owners were very friendly and flexible. It's a small old house with cozy, modern rooms complete with a flat screen tv which was a pleasant surprise. After a night out, turning the key back at Atholdene House in its leafy residential area felt like arriving home. In the morning, we were served a decent breakfast by the owners' children, which was charming and informal. Can't say enough good things about the place and on top of that, it was a bargain.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Thank you for enabling us to have such a memorable holiday,The guest house is very well situated for the centre of the city and public transport.There are lovely walks by the river a few minutes away as well as the Museum,Theatre,Shopping Centres and cafes.Looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: All seemed very peaceful at night .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Freddie, Penelope and children were such wonderful hosts. We cannot find enough good things to say about our stay. Initially we had planned a single night which turned into three. The accommodations are very nice. The "Traditional Scottish Breakfast" the best we have had on our entire holiday. Freddie is an absolute wealth of knowledge and so willing to sharehis time go ensure you have a fabulous visit to Inverness and the highlands of Scotland.
You absolutely will not be disappointed with your stay at Atholdene House! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verninscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Inverness
Travelodge Inverness
#25 of 36 in Inverness
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Moray Park Guest House
Moray Park Guest House
#96 of 232 in Inverness
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aberfeldy Lodge Guest House
Aberfeldy Lodge Guest House
#103 of 232 in Inverness
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Advie Lodge
Advie Lodge
#16 of 52 in Inverness
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholdene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholdene House

Address: 20 Southside Road, Inverness IV2 3BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $30 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value, 3-star Scottish Tourist Board bed and breakfast. Families welcome. All rooms en-suite. Free Wi-Fi throughout Guest House. Large private car park. 5 minutes walk to Town centre. Residential Crown district with similar period houses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atholdene House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing