We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
114
25
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
25
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalk downtownvisit invernessa lovely stayexcellent hostsroom was clean and comfortablespent two nightsflat screen tvbed and breakfastblack puddingtea coffeescottish breakfastperfect locationthe riverbreakfast was excellentb and bloch nessgillian
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 146 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2011

stayed here for 3 nights 08 to 11 of march.......got met at the door by fred the owner who saw me coming up the road with my bag. First thing he said was "got the kettle on if you fancy a cuppa" was about 8pm.....and pouring with rain.(politely refused as i wanted to get to a pub to watch the footie( ther'es one just across the road with 2 big screens) very clean place.. cosy room and a first class brekkie cooked fresh , a proper family run guest house...enjoyed my chats with a very friendly owner who will put you on to the best places to go (and phone to see if its open) snowed quite a bit when i was here which made my stay even more pleasureable, looked out of the window at about 8ish and saw one of his kids clearing the snow from the path before going to school..they get extra pocket money for doing it...not a bad idea. thourghly enjoyed my stay and would def come here again top tip.....take the train trip to kyle of lochashe from inverness station. its one of the top train rides in the world and i can see why

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymondbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

What a gem! Fred and his small herd of delightful children were so warm and welcoming. Information was immediately forthcoming. Location excellent for a quiet and pleasant walk to restaurants and sites. The house was very pretty with good parking behind. Rooms were cosy and pleasant. No lift, but everyone helped us with our luggage. Breakfast delicious and efficiently prepared. We couldn't have been more pleased.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaSoucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

By far the best ever B&B stayed in!! Nothing whatsoever to fault. Extremely pleasant & helpfull. Breakfast was absolutely beautiful, plenty of choice & the full scottish was cooked while you were seated with juice, hot drink, toast & cereal so it was lovely & hot when served & not kept on hot plates etc. Hot Chocolate??!! Mmmmm, a squirt of cream & you would have mistaken it for a starbucks but it was delicious enough without cream!!
I will definetely book Atholdene next time we visit Inverness.
DOUBLE THUMBS UP!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitor1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

As previous posters mentioned, we were greeted with a pot of tea and Fred, the owner, very graciously explained the area to us. We were traveling with our three year old son and he was made very welcome in this B&B. We stayed in quite a few B&B in the UK this trip and this one was by far the most welcoming. The location is also great, a very quick walk to the River Ness and the town of Inverness. The breakfast was delicious. We appreciated the fact that there were other items to order BESIDES only a Scottish/English breakfast. The only downside we had was that we were only able to spend one night in this lovely home. We would love to return someday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsr0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

This was our first guest house experience and it was a delightful one. We were greeted with a freshly made pot of tea and given information on the area. The room was very clean, if a little small, but very comfortable. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and the proprietor extremely helpful. Very central location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duoEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews