We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atherstone Guest House
Ranked #24 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Went to Inverness without having booked any accommodation. Booked here after some research and found out that the hosts are incredibly helpful and hospitable people. They love what they do and they love their area (very knowledgeable too).

Rooms were nice, modern, comfortable and clean above all. Breakfast hit the spot and every recommendation of theirs between pub and restaurant was spot on.

Cannot think of anything wrong about the B&B or its owners.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macrodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hi Macrodger,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are just glad we had the room to accommodate you!
We do enjoy what we do and love to share what we know about the best places with our guests. So we are glad that you enjoyed the places we recommended, and made the most of your trip.
thanks again!

Best wishes,
Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
70
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have stayed with Ruth and Ally on our last three trips to Inverness. We see no need to look for an alternative. They are a lovely couple. Atherstone is but a short stroll to the centre of town. The rooms are pleasant, The breakfasts are excellently cooked and sufficiently substantial to keep you going until the evening. Ruth and Ally go to a lot of trouble to ensure guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. What else could you ask for from a B&B?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello Again!
Thank you so much for the kind review - we appreciate you taking the time to leave it.
It is always lovely to see you both when you stay, and it always comes around so quickly!
So, till the next time...
Thank you again,

Ruth and Ally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Ali and Ruth are welcoming hosts and very knowledgeable about the local area. The hotel is not far from the River Ness, so not far to walk into the town and around £4.00 in a taxi from the station . Alternatively, for drivers there is off-road parking.The room and en-suite were well decorated and clean and the homemade biscuits were definitely a bonus! Breakfast was enough to satisfy without overload and cooked fresh to order. I know where I will be staying next time I visit Inverness- Thankyou

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellcat990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hiya!

Thank you for the lovely review.

We are very fortunate to be centrally located with adequate off-street parking. Delighted you enjoyed the home baking, Ruth has now progressed on to the home made truffles, which you can enjoy the next time.

Many thanks,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kegworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Booked here after being let down by our "usual" choice in Inverness, and not disappointed in any way. Location very good and an easy 15 minute walk although you'd maybe need a taxi if wet

Very comfortable, spacious, room, shower not the biggest, certainly only big enough for one person, but Victorian houses always have some limitations on what you can do to them. Substantial, tasty, freshly-cooked breakfast ( even with the competing demands of the new wee baby ! ) and the home-made flapjack in the room was terrific.

On arrival Ruth ran through a list of local eateries she could recommend and offered to book any of our choice for us, and almost managed to hide her horror when we said we'd be fine with Wetherspoons :-) (well, we always use it when in Inverness, it's good value ! )

Briefly met Ally on departure, a very nice man. We will be back in Inverness and have certainly found a new "first choice" accommodation

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hi John,
Thank you so much for leaving the kind review of Atherstone.
We are certainly glad to be your fall-back accommodation, and hope you do try us first next time!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable with us.
I am so sorry I seemed to look horrified at our choice of eatery - I really didn't mean to!! The main thing is you enjoyed your meal!
We look forward to seeing you the next time. Thanks again.

Ruth & Ally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after walking the Great Glen Way, and were given a really warm welcome by Ruth and later by her husband Ali. Our twin room was spacious with all amenities needed, including home made cookies. The bathroom was like new, with a great shower. Everything was spotless and immaculate. There was a guest lounge with a laptop available to use, which was a nice touch. Ruth was very helpful in advising us where to eat close by, and even made the reservation for us. There was lots of choice at breakfast, including fresh berries and fruit as well as a choice of cooked meals. Ali was very attentive and kept the coffee and toast coming! A really great place to stay - thank a lot guys and good luck with the new parenting!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eflteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hiya to you both,

We are so sorry that this response has taken so long.

Thank you to you both for such a wonderful review, we are just delighted that you both enjoyed your stay so much. It really gives us both a buzz to know that what we're doing is really appreciated.
As for the parenting, it is an amazing, outstanding experiance and total sleep deprivation all at the same time!

Many Thanks

All & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at Athertone for 3 nights from the 15th to 18th September while on a 7 week UK/Ireland/France holiday.
This is a quality B&B in a great location with easy walking access to the centre of Inverness and with very friendly hosts Ally and Ruth.
Ally was full of very useful information about local attractions and the best way to get to them.
We tried there recommendations for dinner and was not disappointed.
The rooms are a good size and nice and comfortable. The breakfast are very good and cooked fresh for you.
The off street parking is good with reasonable space available.
We would highly recommend this B&B for anyone visiting Inverness.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the hall and had a large bathroom, the biggest of any B&B we stayed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hi Rod,

Sorry for the late reply,

We are delighted that you took the time to review our home, It was very kind of you. we hope that the rest of your trip to Ireland and France was just as memorable.

Take care,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I, while on a tour of the Scottish Highlands, stayed at Atherstone Guest House for one night in August. By far, the best B&B that we've ever stayed in. The house was spotlessly clean, well maintained and well equipped. The hosts, Ruth and Ally, might well be the most charming people in all of Scotland. The kind of people that instantly make you feel welcome. We were pleasantly surprised with the city of Inverness. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hi Joey,

So sorry for the very late response.

Thank you for you review of our B&B. It was our pleasure having you both stay with ourselves.

Take care,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#11 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanera Guest House
Tanera Guest House
#35 of 229 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roseneath Guest House
Roseneath Guest House
#36 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#6 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Guest House
Avalon Guest House
#22 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invernevis B&B
Invernevis B&B
#19 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherstone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherstone Guest House

Property: Atherstone Guest House
Address: 42 Fairfield Road, Inverness IV3 5QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Atherstone Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing