We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in a Inverness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atherstone Guest House
Ranked #30 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great B&B in a Inverness”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at Athertone for 3 nights from the 15th to 18th September while on a 7 week UK/Ireland/France holiday.
This is a quality B&B in a great location with easy walking access to the centre of Inverness and with very friendly hosts Ally and Ruth.
Ally was full of very useful information about local attractions and the best way to get to them.
We tried there recommendations for dinner and was not disappointed.
The rooms are a good size and nice and comfortable. The breakfast are very good and cooked fresh for you.
The off street parking is good with reasonable space available.
We would highly recommend this B&B for anyone visiting Inverness.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the hall and had a large bathroom, the biggest of any B&B we stayed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hi Rod,

Sorry for the late reply,

We are delighted that you took the time to review our home, It was very kind of you. we hope that the rest of your trip to Ireland and France was just as memorable.

Take care,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
71
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I, while on a tour of the Scottish Highlands, stayed at Atherstone Guest House for one night in August. By far, the best B&B that we've ever stayed in. The house was spotlessly clean, well maintained and well equipped. The hosts, Ruth and Ally, might well be the most charming people in all of Scotland. The kind of people that instantly make you feel welcome. We were pleasantly surprised with the city of Inverness. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hi Joey,

So sorry for the very late response.

Thank you for you review of our B&B. It was our pleasure having you both stay with ourselves.

Take care,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This guest house was the best! Ruth and Ally were fabulous hosts and we felt very welcome the entire stay. They offered great tips of places to travel around Inverness and were very dedicated to making our time the best possible. Beautiful rooms and great breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
So sorry for the late response to your review - I don't know where the time has gone.

It is such a compliment when someone says they felt at home when they stay at Atherstone - it is really what we aim for. And as for being helpful, it is easy to be helpful with such lovely guests!

Thanks for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you in Inverness again

Ally and Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent just one night at the Atherstone Guest House, but wished we had time to stay longer. The hosts Ruth and Ally were tremendously welcoming and the rooms offered everything a traveler might need. The rooms are pleasant, clean, and well maintained. Ruth's homemade baked goods in each room were a delightful touch! And breakfast was ample and delicious.

The guest house is in a quiet residential neighborhood within an easy walk of the main attractions in Inverness. Ally suggested a lovely pub for dinner. We were on private tour of Scotland with our own tour guide, but had we been making plans on our own, Ally would have been a fabulous resource for travel ideas.

If you're looking for a B&B where you'll feel like you've "come home", this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBook2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Manager at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review!

It was a pleasure having the two of you to stay and it will be lovely to see you again, the next time you need to stay in Inverness.
We know its not always easy to be away from your home comforts, but if we made you feel at home, and as comfortable as you could then I am delighted!

Till, the next time...

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

So glad we booked this B&B a couple months in advance, as we saw many No Vacancies signs when we arrived in town.
Atherstone is a wonderful place, and Ruth and Ally make it that way. So welcoming, friendly, offering us two immaculate rooms with en suite, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
The guest house is within walking distance to the town and to a wonderful restaurant recommended by them (The Waterfront).
A delicious breakfast was served in the morning (loved Ally's apron!), along with tips on getting to Ullapool and the ferry.
All in all, it was a great place to stay in Inverness....we recommend it very highly!
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hi to you all,

Thank you for your review, we are so happy that you all enjoyed your all to brief stay with ourselves.

We both hope to see you all in the future,

take care,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We felt most welcome at Atherstone Guest House. It is conveniently located (walking distance from the heart of Inverness. A spotless guest house, good breakfast and more importantly hosts that make you feel welcome, are knowledgeable about the area and willing to share tips and ideas of what to do. The bedroom was comfortable, slept three. The bathroom is small but well appointed. I would definitely recommend Atherstone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi There,

First of all, thank you for staying with us when you came to Inverness, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay enough to recommend us in your review.
We are glad that you felt welcome and comfortable - that is the main thing - and if the tips and ideas helped too, then we are delighted!
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a kind review, and we hope to see you again if you are ever in the Highlands.

Best wishes,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Ruth and Ally were beyond gracious as we arrived late for check-in because we didn't know where we were going. It's actually very easy to find if you know it's on Fairfield Rd, which I had forgotten. Ruth called ahead and made sure the pub would serve us food, it was that late. They did and it was lovely. We had a wonderful night's sleep and very nice showers. Breakfast was wonderful, served by Ally, who was a perfect host. There were also some muffins in our room that were so good, I ate both of them and didn't share with my husband. They also gave us terrific recommendations on what to see with our day heading down to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittymama81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for the kind review -we really appreciate you taking the time to do that
It was our pleasure to make sure you could get something to eat when you arrived. Its not easy when you don't know a city and just want to eat! And also, hope you enjoyed the road south and the recommendations worked out for you.
Thanks for staying with us!

Best wishes,

Ruth & Ally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#8 of 231 in Inverness
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invernevis B&B
Invernevis B&B
#22 of 231 in Inverness
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanera Guest House
Tanera Guest House
#26 of 231 in Inverness
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Abermar Guest House
Abermar Guest House
#35 of 231 in Inverness
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardmeanach House
Ardmeanach House
#42 of 231 in Inverness
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Torridon Guest House
Torridon Guest House
#23 of 231 in Inverness
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherstone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherstone Guest House

Property: Atherstone Guest House
Address: 42 Fairfield Road, Inverness IV3 5QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Atherstone Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing