We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Inverness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atherstone Guest House
Ranked #34 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have been to Inverness several times and always had a nice place to stay but this time we felt completely at home as never before. The B&B is located in a short walking distance from the city centre, the rooms are charming and clean and breakfast was just lovely. Ally used to be a tour guide and gave us great advice for the rest of our trip trough Scotland. Ally and Ruth are managing their place in a truly warm and welcoming way that you just want to come back to visit them again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hi Mia,

Thank you very much for taking the time leave a review of our Guest House - and for being so kind!
We are glad you felt at home here - it is what we hope for people when they stay.
We hope that you make it back to Inverness in the future and we see you again!

Many thanks again,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 192 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

I've been staying in Invernss for many years and this is the first time I've stayed in this part and thanks to Trip Advisor I found an excellent Bed & Breakfast. Ally very welcoming and helpful and the family roon we stayed in was ideal. breakfast being served at 0730 was perfect, always surprises me when some establishments in Scotland don't do breakfasts before 0800. Plenty of choice for breakfast and it was ready not long after I came downstairs. I will certainly stay here again, recommended.
Derek.

Room Tip: Family room I stayed in for 2 people was spot on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hi Derek,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate you taking the time to do that.
We are just glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The 7.30 breakfast was certainly no problem, and we are glad you enjoyed it.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you stay.

Best wishes, and thanks again,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ally and Ruth of the Atherstone B&B made our family feel right at home in their 1892 house. The location was convenient to walking within Inverness, the house clean and comfortable, and their welcoming spirit really made our time enjoyable. You can tell they really enjoy what they do! There are cats in the house, but they don't come into the guest areas of the home, and our daughter with cat allergies did fine.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Germanshepherdmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hi Guys!

Thank you so much for the kind review!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and had a safe jorney home. That is if you have travelled home already, because it only seems like yesterday you were here!
It was a genuine pleasure having you and your family stay, and we are so glad you enjoyed it.
It was also a relief to know there were no cat allergy symptoms!
Thank you again for staying, and for taking the time to leave us a wee review.

Maybe we will see you and your girls again on anther trip!

Best wishes,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We loved this hidden gem of a B&B. It is along a street with many others B&B's and I am so pleased we picked the Atherstone Guest House. Ally and Ruth are wonderful hosts. We were a late check in but still warmly greeted, Ruth even had freshly made banana bread in our room awaiting us. As there was the 3 of us, we were in the family room with a nice big double bed and a single bed plus private ensuite. Everything was sparkling clean and lovely linens on the bed. My husband and I enjoyed sitting on the main floor in the cozy lounge area as I did some emails. Breakfast was a full Scottish breakfast, wow it seem like a lot of food to me & all very tasty. Ruth even called to reserve a nice window spot for us at The Mustard Seed Restaurant for dinner, She had mentioned how she would give us coupons as she had some for a free drink, when we headed out in the morning, she forgot to give them to us. We had forgotten all about it, but when we arrived at the restaurant, they said how she had called and they would be bringing us the drinks. How really sweet of Ruth to call them. We have had a wonderful time & truly enjoyed your hospitality. We would certainly recommend our friends to stay at the Atherstone Guest house.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BG&BMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hi Guys,
We are glad you picked us too!
Are you home already? It feels like you were just here!
Seriously, thank you so much for the very kind review. The things you mentioned in your review were our pleasure to do and certainly no bother for you. We are just delighted when people enjoy their stay with us and get to enjoy their holiday in the highlands as much as is possible.
We will try to keep the standards up, so that if you are back this way, or if your friends you recommend us to come to stay, you, and they wont be disappointed!
It was great to meet the three of you when you stayed, and thank you again.

Best wishes,

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ruth and Ally welcomed our family in like long lost friends. The rooms were wonderful and breakfast was excellent. I appreciated the thoughtful touches like a shelf in the bathroom where you can place your toiletries. Enough towel racks. Special treats by each bed. Menus in the den were very helpful in choosing where to dine. Even the lighting when we returned late at night welcomed us in. And for our daughters, Tache was a huge hit!

Ruth and Ally seemed to think of everything.

The Atherstone is Bed and Breakfast done right.

The Delpire Family

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hi Lou Ann!

It was great to meet you all when you were on the tour.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate you leaving us such a kind review. It was really no effort for you guys- it was lovely having you to stay.
And if only the girls could see Tache now - in just a couple of weeks he has grown so much! He is still as sweet and playful though. I should post some pics of him on our facebook page....
Anyway, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour and had a good journey home.
Thanks again for staying with us,and for the great review.

Best wishes,

Ruth & Ally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night whilst on a whistle stop tour of Scotland and we wished we could have stayed for longer...
Once we arrived in our room, we were greeted by homemade chocolate crispy cake which was absolutely scrumptious! Our room was modern, bright, clean and had a lovely ensuite bathroom. This guesthouse is within a few minutes walk from the city centre.
Ruth gave us some great recommendations for restaurants and pubs and she cooked us a smashing breakfast,we especially enjoyed the potato scone and the black pudding!
Ally has an astonishing amount of knowledge with regards to all things Scottish (think Wikipedia on steriods !) and provided us with some great historical tip bits & places to visit. We would thoroughly recommend Atherstones guest house.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaandT0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hi Guys!
We appreciate you writing us such a great review, but mostly we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
I dont always get a chance to do the homebakes, but I will make the crispie cakes more in future if they were that good. Im glad I had the chance to do them for you.
And I loved the Wikipedia on steroids comment and I think Ally did too. It made us laugh!
So thank you so much and we hope to see you again when you venture north.

Best wishes,

Ruth & Ally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A lovely house, just a 5 minute walk from the Center. A perfect spot to explore Inverness or the highlands, especially with the owners ex-Highland guide experience!
Nothing is too much trouble for Atherstone b&b, and I was greatly refuelled by my stay, particularly by the delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrewthomasbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hi Andrew,

Thank you so much for your very kind review.
Sorry we have been a bit slow to come on here and say so, but we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review.
We are so glad you enjoyed the breakfast and felt rested enough to carry on with your exploring and hikiing!
Maybe we will see you when you are north again.

Best wishes and thanks again,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,826 reviews
6.5 mi away
Achnagairn Estate
Achnagairn Estate
#2 of 3 in Kirkhill
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherstone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherstone Guest House

Address: 42 Fairfield Road, Inverness IV3 5QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $40 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Atherstone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atherstone Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing