We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atherstone Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$247
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$155
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$284
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmills Hotel(Inverness)
$345
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$313
$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
174
15
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
15
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheart of scotland tourswarm hospitalityquiet residential streetan easy minute walkthe riveroff street parkinga great staycity centreroom was spaciousfriendly ownerstwo nightsnight's sleepstay there againthoroughly enjoyed our staycontinental breakfaststayed here for one nightfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 192 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay. Ally and Ruth are brilliant. They are both warm and friendly. This B&B has warmth and is a place to feel at home. I loved that the room has a DVD player and coffee and tea making facilities. It was definatley nice to come and relax after a hectic four months traveling in hostels. The breakfast was delicious. The bed was comfy and room was very clean. I would recommend to anyone traveling to beautiful Inverness. All the best! Cara ~ Australia :))))

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocelyn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Hi Cara,

Thank you for reviewing our home so enthusiastically. We were just delighted that we were able offer you respite from the hostelling!
The room you were in (room 1) is one of our favourites - as you mentioned, it has a comfy bed and we have tried to include everything you would need, so we are happy when it we here that you liked it too.
We hope that the rest of your Scottish experience was everything you hoped for - when you left us, we were quite envious as it sounded like the next stage would be fantastic.
Take care, and many many thanks again, it was great to meet you.

best wishes,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I'm still in love with this house. That's a place which presents welcoming atmosphere, secured privacy, nice spacious rooms, comfortable bed, wi-fi and nourishing breakfast. In a word, Ally and Ruth offer everything a traveler needs including a good piece of advice on what to do or to see in the city. And those home-made lemon cakes in the room on a tea-table as a final touch of hospitality! The location is also perfect. The street is quiet and calm and is just a 10 (well,15 if you explore the area leisurely) minutes walk to the center of Inverness. If there were enough of walking during the day one can stay in-house with a good book or DVD which are also available. So, it's all well-thought and organised.Thank you Ally and Ruth for this unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaPon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Hi VictoriaPon,
Well, what can we say, but, a great big Thank You for your kind words in reviewing our home, It was our pleasure in helping you to make your stay such an unforgettable experience, and I for one agree with you about Ruths home made lemon cakes, a second on the lips, it's the wee things that make it all memorable.

Many thanks,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our stay at Atherstone was organized by a 2 day tour we were on, an we couldn't have been happier with the choice. Ruth and Ally are both incredibly friendly and helpful. They helped us pick a place for dinner and even phoned in a reservation. Because we were on our honeymoon, they even surprised us with a mini bottle of sparkling rose.

Our bed was incredibly squeeky- a bit of a task for a honeymooning couple, but more charming than anything. The room and bathroom were both relatively spacious, especially compared to other B&Bs we stayed in.

The location was along a row lined with other B&Bs, but was a short walk to the river, the central location of Inverness. Overall, a fantastic stay. If we're ever back in Inverness, we'll be sure to stay here. Thanks again to Ally and Ruth.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Hi Mr & Mrs John P,

Thank you both for taking the time out of your Honeymoon to write such a lovely review of our home. We are delighted that the wee bottle of Champagne went down a treat.

As for your squeeky bed, its too late for you guys, but just to reasure future Honeymooners, we took your feedback on board and have replaced it with a new bed. We appreciate your honesty, and it helps us for the future.

many thanks,

and congratulations once again

Haste ye back,

Ally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Located in what seems to be the city's B&B district, the Atherstone looks fairly typical at first. There is some limited off street parking. This and all of the neighboring buildings are a little aged. The interior is clean and comfortable. Due to the age of the building, the sub-floor felt worn (not unusual for some of the older B&Bs). The ensuite was a converted closet, but shower was decent size for this type of set-up.
What makes the Ahterstone exceptional for the area are the owners, Ally and Ruth. Both are warm and friendly. Ally's knowledge of the region can be most helpfull.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Hi bB,

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted when guests take the time to review our Home.

We are glad that that we can provide our Guests with a car parking space each because we know how difficult it can be when their is none.

We are in a popular area for B&Bs, because of the conveniance of the area in relation to local amenities. And yes, most of the properties around us are, like ours, period properties, which we love. The characteristics and quality of such buildings, inside and out, are not found in modern buildings, but yes, after 120 years of age, I'm sure something is liable to creak!

We are delighted that Allys knowledge of the Highlands was put to good use, to help you get the best out the area and for your onward journey.

Thanks again. Haste ye back,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Ally and Ruth are just the best hosts in the world!
Two of the nicest people we met in Scotland!
The B&B is warm and cozy especially our room....we love it!!!!!
Unfortanally we were there just for one night, but was the best night of a 8 days journey!!!!!
Ps: i love music and having breakfast with the Stone Roses on the background was the icing on the cake!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabetta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Hi Elisabetta,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in our home, and for saying all your kind words, and we're so chuffed that you liked your room, that one is our favourite too,

and as for the Stone Roses........you most certainly will not get that in any other Guest house.

Many Thanks,

Haste ye back,

Ruth & Ally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews