We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected but pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atherstone Guest House
Ranked #28 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Whilst motorcycle touring in Scotland I suffered the misfortune of a punctured rear tyre whilst travelling through the Great Glen. Nearest repair facilities were in Inverness and a replacement tyre could not be obtained for 24 hours.
I therefore spent an unplanned night in Inverness and came across the Atherstone Guest House by chance. At last luck was on my side.
The house is a traditionally built stone property on a corner plot in an attractive residential street. The location is generally quiet with only moderate traffic levels passing by. It is very close to Inverness town centre which is about a 5 minute stroll away.
It is spotlessly clean and has a very pleasant ambiance.
It's best bit are it's owners Ally and Ruth who are the most hospitable people you could meet. They run their place in a most professional manner but will bend over backwards to provide information and help you out in any they can.
I was most surprised to learn that they are fairly new to the B&B game having only started up in May this year but Ally has worked in tourism for a long time and his knowledge and friendly demeanour goes some way to explaining their success.
The room I had was a double. Slightly dated in terms of decor but very bright and comfortable. Flat screen TV was provided. A very small WC/shower meant en suite facilities were provided.
Breakfast was freshly prepared and delicious.
A great place to stay in Inverness!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllyandRuth, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Hiya,

thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us.
We felt so bad for you - with your bad luck with the puncture. It was the least we could do to make sure you were comfortable as we could make you in Inverness. Its not a bad place to be stranded, but even so!
Thanks for your kind words - they mean a lot, especially as you say, we are new to this & your feedback is really valuable to us. Come back in a few months and the decor will be updated but the welcome will be the same!

best wishes and we hope you have many more smoother travels!

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 192 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at Atherstone guest house for two nights, but Ally and Ruth made our staying just perfect. Better than a tour guide, Ally suggested us where to go to eat and drink, and every place he told us was stunning! Ruth was so nice and kind, the room was amazing and very clean, even the breakfast was great. thanks guys, Marta and Federico

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Marta84_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllyandRuth, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Hi Guys,

we are glad you had a safe journey home after your holiday.

Thank you so much for your review. We are really glad you were so happy with your stay - it gives us a lot of job satisfaction to have helped you enjoy your holiday!

We will keep a look out for you if we are ever in Rome!

best wishes,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We really enjoyed this accomodation. Location is near to city centre. Very hospitable host who make the stay very personal. Will come back again if we
Ever back in inverness

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Areuinsne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllyandRuth, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Hiya,

thank you so much for your feedback - we really appreciate it.
Like you say, we are very lucky to be so close to the heart of Inverness, and still be on such a nice street.
Im especially glad you liked the Muffins!

Best wishes,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great value. Very comfortable close to centre. Lovely flapjack!
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosieofkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllyandRuth, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Hi Rosie,

thanks so much for your review - we really appreciate it. I am delighted you enjoyed the flapjack - I should have given you some for the bus back!

best wishes,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had two of the four rooms this little pretty B&B has to offer. The rooms were clean, tidy, comfortable and very pleasant. The breakfast was wonderful. The most important thing is that Ally and Ruth are such incredible people- they are warm and welcoming and they make you feel at home from the second you arrive! Perfect stay in Inverness.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllyandRuth, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Hi Guys,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and of your very kind words, it was our pleasure having you as guests in our home, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

take care,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

After we've had tried several B&B in Inverness, we have finally found the best place to stay. We give everyone a pice of advice: "Don't try any other place to stay in Inverness just run straight to the Atherstone Guest House!!" They've got very clean and tidy rooms. And a delicious breakfast that fills you up till dinner. Beside that is Ally an experienced Giude who can give you advise where to go or what place you should not miss on your trip through Scotland. Thank you Ruth and Ally for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glowsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllyandRuth, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Hiya Folks,

Thank you both for choosing our home to stay in, we both enjoyed your craic (fun), hopefully you will be back cycling round the Highlands soon, (now you both know you can store your bikes here).

Haste ye back,

Ally & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here on our tour of the highlands and would strongly recommend this lovely little B&B. It is within 10 mins walk of the city centre's restaurants and nightlife. Our room was very spacious and had everything one would need. Ally and Ruth are extremely friendly and accommodating as well as having great knowledge of good local pubs and restaurants.

Will definitely be back here next time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikramdayalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllyandRuth, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Hiya,
We are happy that you guys stayed with us in our home, and have taken the time to send a review, it is much appreciated,

'till the next time,

Ally & Ruth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Tanera Guest House
Tanera Guest House
#34 of 232 in Inverness
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invernevis B&B
Invernevis B&B
#24 of 232 in Inverness
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardmeanach House
Ardmeanach House
#32 of 232 in Inverness
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Abermar Guest House
Abermar Guest House
#33 of 232 in Inverness
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Torridon Guest House
Torridon Guest House
#23 of 232 in Inverness
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acer Glen B&B
Acer Glen B&B
#72 of 232 in Inverness
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherstone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherstone Guest House

Address: 42 Fairfield Road, Inverness IV3 5QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $40 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Atherstone Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing