We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Popped in for a snack”
Review of Cafe Artysans

Cafe Artysans
Ranked #4 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Delivering high quality, freshly prepared food and freshly roasted coffee, Cafe Artysans is an innovative social enterprise. Whilst delivering a high quality product, Cafe Artysans is helping young people throughout the area to develop the skills required for successful onward progression into sustainable work or vocational training.
Inverness
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Popped in for a snack”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We popped in for a snack and were surprised with the selection of home baking and sandwiches made to order. Definately worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Westbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    58
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous Scones”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Go there when waiting for a train or a bus for somewhere far ot just to meet a friend. Yhe scones are top class...coffee excellent and the environment contemporary combined with Highland homely!!! Great stuff!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
451 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I recently had breakfast here while waiting for a train. The food was very good and freshly prepared. The service was nice and relaxed as was the decor. This is a great place to eat and I will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThatchersBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A disjointed sort of place - all the bits don't fit together”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I came on the recommendations of other reviewers but this was a real miss. It's close to the train station and has free wifi if you ask for the password but the service team is confused at best so our experience suffered.
We stopped in one drizzly afternoon for tea and cake. The signage for cakes was on a board and the staff seemed unsure what was what. I ordered caramel tart thinking it was something in a tart shell that had a whipped topping; instead I got a shortbread square topped with caramel sauce and chocolate. It was served with a knife and fork but had to be picked up and bitten into gently as the shortbread was so hard I nearly broke the plate when I cut a piece! My husband ordered the beet root chocolate cake - it had huge grated pieces of beet in it which gave it a very unusual texture. We ordered English breakfast and Earl Grey tea - the pot of Earl Grey was English breakfast and the pot of English breakfast was lapsang soochong I think. By that point I was too tired to ask them to change it.
Not a bad place but not for folks expecting a traditional coffee spot or friendly smiley staff. The woman who seemed to be the manager was doing her best to hold the fort but her young staff just look dazed and watched the clock as if they couldn't wait to leave.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyGourmand G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Cafe Artysans, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi, thank you for your review. First off is to say, I am sorry that you did not enjoy the experience at our Cafe. At Cafe Artysans, we pride ourselves, not only in the quality of the food, but also the quality of the service we provide our customers - many of whom have become extremely regular and we class as our friends. I will look into your comments with the front of house team in order to ensure our service is improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Scrumptious”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

As a local I've never visited this restaurant until a day ago and I returned today as I was so impressed.

The ethos of this establishment alone just makes you want to return.

The staff were lovely given that they are all training, the decor is fabulous and the establishment including the toilet is very clean.

I have sampled the Cullen Skink and it has to be one of the best I have ever tasted. I can also highly reccomend the Venison Burger, Macaroni and black pudding salad. I am looking forward to visiting at the end of the week to sample the breakfast........

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Cafe Artysans, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Fantastic, glad you enjoyed our CAFE. Always glad to hear from locals as well as visitors to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Artysans also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cafe Artysans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing