We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice small restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River House Restaurant

River House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 238 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $58
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For an authentic taste of Scotland���s islands and Highlands look no further than River House, a beautiful restaurant on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Grieg Street bridge to the Free North Church. The restaurant���s spectacular view���s are complemented by the casual sophistication of the dining room, a comfortable and unpretentious space with timeless design and a warm, cosy atmosphere which invites you to relax and really enjoy your dinner. Dedicated to sourcing the best possible ingredients from the surrounding areas, the River House kitchen cooks each dish to order in the open plan kitchen, using fresh, seasonal produce prepared in such a way that individual flavours shine through. Though mainly Scottish in heritage the River House���s recipes also take inspiration from international cuisine with, in particular, a nod to French cookery woven in to many of the creative, modern dishes. Wines are carefully selected to complement the River House menu, providing a good, but not overwhelming, choice of labels.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice small restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wonderful food in an intimate and warm setting. The service was excellent and friendly. Make reservations.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernie0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    99
    20
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We found this place from a recommendation by our cab driver. The food and service was excellent, especially the pickled herring which was nothing like the usual rollmops and their ilk. Delicious

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1bursledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still a fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This simply has to be the best restaurant in Inverness. Fine dining in a cozy atmosphere, just cannot be beat! Presentation and taste are what it's all about in this house of Alfie. Very nice selection on the menu, super wine list, outstanding service. River House is the place to go for an unforgettable dining experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
209 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Sea the River House - book a table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have reviewed this restaurant before but having been there last week, just have to add my comments again. Alfie (the chef / owner) advertises special nights and this one was 'fruit de mer' accompanied by a bottle of Muscadet. Having cycled extensively in Brittany and feasted on both, we just had to go. Wow! TEN different fish on the platter (and we declined the oysters!). It was one of the best meals of my life - everything from the Orkney crab to the Loch Ewe smaoked salmon for first rate. (We now know where to buy Loch Ewe Salmon in Inverness.)

It was a Thursday in a clod May and he was having to turn people away. That speaks for itself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Highlander24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We ate here during a weekend away. Truly loved every second. The restaurant was busy so I was glad that I'd phoned ahead. We were given tables with a lovely view across the river, served quickly by confident and knowledgeable waiting staff.
Not often do I have 3 courses at a restaurant but at this place I had to, the food was to good to miss. Fresh and locally sourced.
The place had a great atmosphere and you can see the cooks preparing food which is always reassuring.
I can't recommend this place enough. Go visit, enjoy!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmacla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River House Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to River House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing