We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“River House Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River House Restaurant

River House Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $58
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For an authentic taste of Scotland���s islands and Highlands look no further than River House, a beautiful restaurant on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Grieg Street bridge to the Free North Church. The restaurant���s spectacular view���s are complemented by the casual sophistication of the dining room, a comfortable and unpretentious space with timeless design and a warm, cosy atmosphere which invites you to relax and really enjoy your dinner. Dedicated to sourcing the best possible ingredients from the surrounding areas, the River House kitchen cooks each dish to order in the open plan kitchen, using fresh, seasonal produce prepared in such a way that individual flavours shine through. Though mainly Scottish in heritage the River House���s recipes also take inspiration from international cuisine with, in particular, a nod to French cookery woven in to many of the creative, modern dishes. Wines are carefully selected to complement the River House menu, providing a good, but not overwhelming, choice of labels.
Eastchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“River House Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Very good small restaurant by river, had the best steak i have had outside of America. To be recommended well worth the visit, chef, owner and staff very helpful. Not to be missed

Helpful?
2 Thank Viper2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    106
    25
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Found this restaurant down by the river the last time i was up in Inverness, unfortunately they were fully booked, but i made a point that i would return on my next visit as i really liked the look of it.
last week i was up in Inverness and so went down to the river. I was met with a really friendly welcome and the friendliness ran through out my dinning experience.
the food was well cooked and presented. I had warm smoked salmon on a muffin followed by fillet of beef which was cooked just they way i like it.
the wine list is small but covers all bases and i enjoyed my bottle of malbec.
i WILL return!.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Cosy night out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Visited last month, there was four of us, we were well pleased with our table, I think it was table 1
We had a lovely tasty meal. We had the scallops, soup, 2 had the fish very nice, 1 had the steak, and one had the chicken.
The service was good, and we liked the decor. We would eat here again

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fishy fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

visit this restaurant last week with a work collegue. a very warm welcome as we entered. the decor is excellent. enjoyed a cold local beer before we ate. really friendly service throught out, even the chef came out and spoke to us.
the food was really good, we both went fishy on the starters .. the scallops were sweet and juicy on a great bubble and squeak with smoky pancetta.
my collegue had a prime rib eye, cooked to perfection. i had a boullabaise, marvellous. no pud but a cheese board to share. great presentation throughout. would really recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FREDDY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A mixed bag, great service and setting, food needs improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I ate here alone this week. The setting was great, right by the river ness with an intimate restaurant with only 10 or so candle lit tables, looked very promising. I had the scallops to start with bubble and squeak, the scallops were good but not that tasty, the rest was very tasty and fresh. Followed by the halibut with pea and crab risotto to follow. It looked great, well presented, and well cooked but it just lacked that tastiness that I was hoping for, it was a tad on the bland side. It has potential to be a great restaurant if only they can give the food the taste it deserves. I will give it another go next time though.

Service was great, and it would be a great place for a cosy meal for two.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarrieS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River House Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to River House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing