We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Stunning Views”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property
Right on the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Right on the beach
Hypnos, Mitre and Fogarty for a perfect night Spacious and comfortable
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
19 reviews
Right on the beach
Hypnos, Mitre and Fogarty for a perfect night
Spacious and comfortable
very warm
shower over bath
open plan
well equipped
second-floor apartment
second-floor apartment
breathtaking views
from your balcony
friendly neighbours
spectacular sunsets
tranquil
right on the beach
open all year
Loch Ness nearby
close to Cawdor Castle
near Culloden Battlefield
just along the beach from Fort George
plenty to see and do
3 bedroom apartment
ground-floor apartments
3 bedroom apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
C0lette13
Norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

The apartment was very spacious and had everything needed there was even washing powder provided. The views are amazing!! Would definitely stay here again

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Thetford
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Will-HE_U...
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Restful Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I had an excellent week’s break in Ardesier. The apartment I stayed in was reasonably new and in good condition, if a little heavy on Ikea for its furnishing.
I had a second-floor apartment, and as there are no lifts, I could see this being an issue for those with mobility issues.

The décor and furnishing is functional rather than lavish, but definitely comfortable and fit for purpose. The kitchen was well equipped, with a lot of utensils provided. Having a washer/dryer in the apartment is a real luxury; having spent many hours in communal facilities in the past, being able to just set your washing going and head off is fantastic!

The bathroom was a little cramped but clean & functional, the bedroom had a comfortable bed and plenty of storage and the lounge/kitchen/diner was spacious and comfortable with some great views of the bay from the balcony.

Wi-fi coverage was a little patchy – the thickness of the walls and metallic staircases meant that coverage at the far end of the apartment was a struggle at times, but if I really needed access, I just had to be a bit flexible about where I sat with the laptop. When connected the speed was pretty good.

The complex is easy to find, with very good parking, and a great position right on the coast looking out into the bay. The village shop was useful for essentials, but I had to head to Inverness to do a proper grocery shop. Inverness is about 20 minutes drive away, Inverness Airport about 10 mins away, and a Tesco Extra halfway between the two.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvy1221
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent location and wonderful owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We stayed at this property for 5 nights and it was a wonderful experience. Paul, the owner, met us when we arrived and gave us tips on what was in the local area (pubs, shops, etc) and showed us how to work everything in the flat. The flat was kitted out with milk, tea and sugar so we could have a cup of tea upon arriving without having to run straight to the market.

This is in a wonderful location to easily get to everything the Highlands has to offer and is beautifully located right on the bay. We didn't see any dolphins but it was a bit early in the year for that (we were in town for the Inverness Half Marathon).

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The flat was very spacious for our group of 3 adults and one child and had free WiFi
Liked least: It is a bit out of the way (but we liked that)
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benbrodie
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for groups of friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

A group of friends and I stayed in a two-bedroom suite whilst we went to visit the Highlands. We chose it because Inverness is close by and we wanted to access the roads that would take us to the Isle of Skye and other places of interest.

The property was better than expected: all rooms were clean, large and very well decorated. The kitchen was great since everything worked and there were more than enough plates, glasses and cutlery. The fridge was also a good size and we had more than enough space to store all our food.

The owners Sally and Paul were especially polite and kind which was noticeable even when booking via e-mail. They even went out of their way to help us plan our weekend away.

Somewhere like Dolphin Bay really makes B&B's redundant if with a group of people since everybody had enough personal space. We were very reluctant to leave.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaynaRay
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Right on the bay, awesome views from 2nd floor, a great place to stay - if you have a car!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Dolphin Bay Suites are a newly decorated, comfortable self-catering apartments in Aredesar - a beautiful (tiny) little town on the bay.

By the time we booked our suite, there were only apartments available on the first floor, which means you have no view of the sea. It was beautiful anyways to sit and watch the lights flickering over the Bay and walk along it during the day but get an upper story apartment if you can.

The suite was light and airy, nicer even than the photograph, there was a good self-starter kit and anything you may need in the one grocery two minutes away.

Our party arrived at one and Sally was extremely nice and friendly got our room ready for us within 15 minutes of arrival!

The bedrooms were clean and comfortable, the blowdrier actually worked but the beds could really use a tempur-pedic foam covering - you can feel the bones right through.

Location: To reach any of the sights close by (aside from Fort George, which is in walking distance) you will need to catch a bus into Inverness - the city center - and from Inverness catch another bus to Loch Ness or Avoch etc. These bus rides, particularly the one to Loch Ness can be over 45 minutes and you have to make sure you check the schedules so as not to miss the bus once you get to Inverness (or miss whatever you scheduled to do once in Loch Ness etc.) The bus stop is literally one minute away but buses run only once an hour - so be ready to tightly schedule your goings and comings. Of course, this is only if you plan to see the Highlands by bus.

If, like us, one of the reasons you choose this property is the 'bikes' be sure to ask in advance if there are bikes available for the number you need in your party as when we arrived one of the bike's chain was too rusted to ride, another's seat was way high and couldn't be properly adjusted and the third had a 'rocking seat' that kept hitting the rider uncomfortably and ended in a position that made it impossible to ride and the brakes didn't work on the fourth. (Also, the hotel does not provide helmets, which you need if you want to ride on the main roads!) Paul was very kind and tried to repair them for us during our stay, but unfortunately they needed professional attention.

All in all, though, it was a beautiful stay, but would have been greatly improved by working bikes, awareness of location vis-a-vis 'local' sights and better beds.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
3 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret
West Midlands.
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing