We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique For Inverness!”

Kool Runnings Inverness
Ranked #32 of 258 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fully Licensed Bar & Kitchen, serving traditional Caribbean food (as well as some homely Scottish favorites) We also offer a range of wines, beers, spirits and an excellent selection of rums from all around the Caribbean Islands. Come and join us for lunch, dinner or even just a refreshing glass of Jamaican Rum Punch!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique For Inverness!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I like trying new things so when me and my friends saw this cafe on a night out we decided to go there for lunch the next day. The waitress was very nice and there was lots of choice, with 'normal' food like paninis as well as Jamaican food like curried goat. I'd recommend this to anyone wanting a relaxed, different dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RJY89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    133
    25
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent service and authentic food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The service we received in this restaurant was excellent, especially when you think it was only one waiter serving an increasing number of clients. The food was very good too, authentic Caribbean food at reasonable prices. We ordered before 7 pm so got a special deal on our food. All three courses were very good and tasted like the Caribbean food I've had at home and at relatives' houses. The curried mussels were particularly good. Would recommend it to anyone visiting Inverness.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MimsyStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Quirky, worth a visit”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I went here because it was something different. I agree with other posts that it is a bit run down and thrown together. Chef was friendly and came and spoke to customers. Fast service. Most dishes are of jamaican origin with additional uk dishes available. Scottish waitress was clearly harassed as was very very busy and there was only her but chef did help out also. She was courteous and friendly. My dishes were suitably caribbean. Starter was very greasy and oily though. Chef had stolen my salt pot and didnt bring it back but i would have added some salt. There was plenty of hot sauce available which i added lashings of. Main course was curried goat. Was very authentic. Clearly best part of a goat cooked in a pot and everything ladled up. Nice. Sauce was more like stew and not very curry like. All reasonably priced. If youre looking for something different and happy to go along with a laid back attitide, give it a go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZedAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Surprise!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This review is behalf of my aunt and uncle who were visiting Scotland from Faversham, England
and happened into this bit of Jamaican Sunshine in the middle of Inverness Scotland! IT was an incredible surprise and a welcome change to their Scottish Trip which was beautiful, the Jamaican Rum Punch was just what my uncle needed and being a Rum Connoisseur, he was delighted! I hope this restaurant thrives and brings that amazing Jamaican experience to all who visit Inverness!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food in Inverness”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you stay in Scotland for more than a week, no matter how much you want ethnic Scottish for your experience, you need to switch it up. The healthy and spicy taste of Jamaica was extremely welcome. Fabulous sea bass, akee and rum punch with friendly service. If anyone whines, like above, it took too long, they should go to McDonalds and keep their impatience to themselves. A genuine Jamaican chef transported me back to Negril. .. absolutely fantastic. FYI look up the Scot/Jamaican history to appreciate the cultural connection.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robinizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kool Runnings Inverness also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Kool Runnings Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing