We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee bit better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are getting a makeover & getting better but like nearly everywhere else in Inverness breakfast. Your breakfast needs to be better, your buffet is awful, black pudding awful & you just need to give a bit more maybe 2 rashes off bacon. Staff nice but at breakfast why do they not have their own tables to serve. I was embarrassed when a American woman was asked tea or coffee ? Lady said what she wanted then wanted to order her breakfast too be told someone else will take your order please that's not right grrrrr. Little thinks make a big difference & yes we will stay again :-)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank midge5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We took note of you comments about breakfast and will work on that.
We appreciated you noted the improvement made on bedrooms as well.... Hopefully we will astonish you with our breakfast next time you are coming!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards

Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

The rooms are nicely done and the staff are pleasant, but you can't help feeling they've skimped all along the way. The room was chilly so I turned the radiator up, but I still found the bedding very thin - and there were no extra blankets, so I slept with the duvet doubled over. The water system (I think) rumbled underneath and felt like the London Underground was rattling away under the building. No fruit salad or even tinned grapefruit at breakfast, which is unusual. Still, it was clean and very adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIssDillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We did have problem with our radiators last week. It has all been sorted. Most apologies.
We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed in the Glen Mhor for one night whilst on business in Inverness, in one of the apartments. The rooms are basic but have all you need. (Room floorboards were a little creaky!).The hotel building itself is quite striking with well appointed, attractive seating areas and a very nice bar area with an impressive stock of whiskies, as one would expect! There is ample on site parking. There's also an on site resturant but since I'd not visited Inverness we decided to venture into town - there's quite an array of restaurants to cater for most cuisines in easy walking distance. Probably worth trying the restaurant though if breakfast is anything to go by - it was excellent. Taking the cost of the stay into consideration one absolutley cannot complain. The bar staff were great too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Many thanks for your very kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look froward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards

Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I've just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel
The checkin went very smoothly and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful
The room was very clean with a nice shower although the beds were very small but comfortable
In the bar a jazz band was playing which was nice for holiday visitors
Now the real problem and only one may I add
When I was settling in my room the air and gushing through the radiators was unbelievable , I called reception who came and bled both
Wonderful I thought until around 2.00 am and away it went again
Probably around 3 hrs sleep I gave up put the tv on and made a coffee

Not good really ! Get them fixed properly !
Will be heading back in around a month and may consider a return

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank DoncasterTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to put a review.
We are glad that you liked the hotel. Such a shame you have been disturbed by the radiator noise. Very sorry about that.
We had a leak in the system, making radiator empty and full of air. It has all been fixed... yesterday!
In hope you give us an other chance.... Jazz band will be coming every Tuesday.
We look froward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Emmanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The location is good and the hotel itself appears to be in a generally good condition, however, it could do with some extra tlc. We had a stunning room in the cottage next door to the hotel. This is really just 2 steps away and is easily accessible. The room itself was lovely with a large bath and views over the lake. The toiletries were really good and the room had tea and coffee making facilities which were topped up daily. But the room itself, beautiful as it is, does need some touching up - there were marks on some of the walls, a cracked tile in the bathroom, and some fixtures which needed attending to. Each little thing is not a big deal taken in isolation but when taken together could make the room appear shabby - which is a shame.

The service was also mixed - a person in our party needed the room changed because of a problem with the room and this was done promptly and efficiently. However, some members of staff were less helpful and attentive than others (one particular member of the reception staff appeared to be particularly bored and uninspired).

Breakfast was good and is prepared fresh. The bar at the back has a lovely fireplace and is well worth a visit for a drink on a cold night.

Just as a note - we had 3 rooms booked in for our party and I do get the impression that the experience between one room and another can vary significantly.

The hotel is fine - I would have rated it 3.5 but since TA does not give that option I think it would be unfair to rate it down to 3 so I've rated it at 4. But I think it could do with that little bit extra to ensure a consistently good experience (as it is a bit of a mixed bag at the moment).

Room Tip: Room upstairs in the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aramblingnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and take note of your positive comments
We will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Yours Sincerely.

Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed only one night to break up a long journey to Lochinver. We got a 2 bed apartment for 3 of us, lovely big zip link beds, very comfy, well equipped wee kitchen, nice lounge. Great bathroom with separate bath and shower. Wifi a bit flaky as mentioned in other reviews, but not really a bother for us. Staff were friendly. We didn't use the restaurant as we were self catering. Only cost £70 for the apartment, great value, would stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Many thanks for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We should have fiber in few weeks... problem with internet should be definitely fixed. We can't wait!

We look froward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in a double room. The shower was quite blocked and gave us a foot bath on every shower. The room was tiny! Absolutely tiny for a 4 night stay, I would have allocated a better room for that long. We also had our 2 year old with us, thank goodness he still sleeps with us because I don't know where they'd have shoe horned in a cot.. There was nowhere in the bathroom to store...well, anything! No shelves, nothing..it was quite poor for the price, I've stayed in better equipped B&B's. But the service was good, friendly and helpful, wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MummaVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Very sorry to hear of your disappointment in regards to the size of the room.
Should you need extra space, we would always advise to go for an upgrade.
Our river view room or deluxe offers extra space and more comfort.
However our classic rooms are market competitive and very often cheaper than our competitor.
Saying so. they have all been refurbished and still offer full comfort.

We hope you will give us an other chance to give you full satisfaction.
Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 36 in Inverness
785 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#17 of 36 in Inverness
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#24 of 36 in Inverness
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Address: 7-17 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: $64 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor Hotel offers Victorian townhouses and apartments located on the banks of the River Ness, a 3-minute walk from Inverness city centre and a 15-minute drive from Loch Ness. Accommodation is divided between 8 charming Victorian town houses (please advise reception if you have a building preference). Many rooms have wonderful views across the river to Inverness Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... The Ness Bank area is a charming conservation area in the city, set below the castle and opposite both The Eden Court Theatre and Inverness Cathedral. Glen Mhor is a 5-minute drive from the A9, 8 miles from Inverness Airport and a 10-minute walk from the train station. It is ideal for exploring Inverness and the surrounding Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing