We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely situation but let down by poor attic room.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely situation but let down by poor attic room.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night last week at the end of a long distance walk called the Great Glen Way.
The location was beautiful, alongside the river, and from the outside it looked lovely. The immediate interior was beautiful, with stylish decor. However, we were led to an attic room, with sloping ceilings. The shower head was broken, and the shower was tiny with a sloping ceiling, and was basically a cupboard. The bed was comfortable and clean, but there was barely room to walk round the bed.
However, my main concern was the electrics. There was only 1 socket in use and there were a series of extension cables supporting 7 electrical appliances! The other socket was of very old style and would not accept a plug.
The room would be OK if it were perhaps a single, or sold at a reduced rate, but it certainly wasn't worth t he £110 charge.

Room Tip: Avoid attic rooms or ask for a big discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomilktoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    395
    230
    109
    78
See reviews for
234
555
53
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Alexander is the superb place to stay in Inverness. Perfectly situated on the river bank with beautiful views and only a short stroll from the centre of Inverness.
The rooms are nice and very clean and the breakfast was the best we had on our tour around Scotland.
But most importantly, Marissa and Gerard - friendlier people is not to be found. They make you stay so enjoyable and relaxed.
Thank you for a pleasant stay and we hope to return to The Alexander one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is located on the river front, 10 minutes walk from town and a good laundromat!! The room we had, #100 was in front with a lovely view, had been recently renovated and was very clean. The restaurant on premises was good but not as good as they thought they were. Breakfast in the hotel dining room was good quality full Scottish cooked breakfast, or continental if you preferred. Nice atmosphere and good value.

Room Tip: Room 100 was on the ground floor, good for those with access problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardysez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and will take into consideration your comments.

We look froward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a week on holiday in Inverness and stayed at The Alexander .It was a very pleasant stay with clean, tidy room and fresh supply of tea , coffee , milk every day .We also had use of fridge in our room.The Alexander is very close to town centre and has a lovely view of the river.Marisa and Gerard who run the guest house are an exceptional couple who enhanced our stay ,being friendly ,caring and attentive .We enjoyed our stay and thoroughly recommend The Alexander , thank you Marisa/Gerard

Room Tip: Word of mouth ,TheAlexander was recommended to us by a local
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We payed a significant amount of money for a 5 night stay in a 'serviced' apartment. The apartment could be compared to a student bedsit. It was dark, smelled of damp and was in need of a refurb.

As for the 'servicing' it was non existent - it is completely self service. When we asked for clarification at reception we were told that they were aware the description was misleading. If we needed our bins emptying then we needed to request this.

The decor is more than a little tired and to be honest the apartment needed a good clean. There was years worth of dust on the skirting board behind the radiator in the bathroom and the living room carpet was filthy. The biggest thing for me however is the damp smell which has clung to my clothes. Despite there being a resident air freshener,little could be done to get away from the smell. You couldn't even open the living room window.

During the day (from about 8am) the air vent from the laundry or restaurant (not sure which) started up and from around 7.30 am the industrial jet engine washing machine also started up. Both were very intrusive, particularly when you were sleeping on a sofa bed in the living room.

I've been left feeling I've paid significantly over the odds for poor accommodation. The hotel facilities are also in need of updating. Sorry but I cannot recommend the Glen Mhor despite the location and the free parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrentNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were sorry to hear of your disappointment and would like to add that this is not representative of The Glen Mhor Hotel.
Please bear in mind that our apartments are market competitive and for most part of the time cheaper that our competitors.
You would have expressed your disappointment while staying with us, we would have done our utmost to accommodate your feelings.
We will take the time to review the comments made with the hotel team and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a top-notch experience at the Alexander on our visit to Inverness. The directions to the hotel are right-on, there is parking available right behind the house, and the front door walks directly out into the River Ness...who could ask for more?

The room was larger than we expected, and had everything we needed (even a hair dryer, which is not always a guarantee). The shower was a little small, but if you're spending much time in the shower then you are wasting your time!

The proprietress are incredibly friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast was wonderful (tea, coffee, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, and then option of multiple 'main courses' which included eggs, bacon, sausage, salmon, etc.

Whole heartedly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Four adults and two kids stay a night at this place.

Pros.

1. Free parking though limited and the lot gets filled up very quickly
2. Clean apartment and exactly as on the website
3. Kitchen was well stocked with all required appliances and basic tea and coffee stuff.
4. The location is excellent right on the banks of River Ness in the centre of town

Cons
1. Took me a while to figure out that the reception is not in front of the hotel but on the side and entry is through the Nicos resturant
2. Wifi set up is complicated and the signals are week in the adjoining apartments
3. Exit from the parking via coded gate can get complicated
4. The apartment complex is besides the main hotel and not part of the hotel complex

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubbin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We are taking into consideration your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay overall.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 7-17 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor Hotel offers Victorian townhouses and apartments located on the banks of the River Ness, a 3-minute walk from Inverness city centre and a 15-minute drive from Loch Ness. Accommodation is divided between 8 charming Victorian town houses (please advise reception if you have a building preference). Many rooms have wonderful views across the river to Inverness Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... The Ness Bank area is a charming conservation area in the city, set below the castle and opposite both The Eden Court Theatre and Inverness Cathedral. Glen Mhor is a 5-minute drive from the A9, 8 miles from Inverness Airport and a 10-minute walk from the train station. It is ideal for exploring Inverness and the surrounding Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing