We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for our family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for our family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We rented a apartment and it was great. Had about 50% locals working there and 50% non locals. The locals were very helpful in information but the non locals did not know that much but that's not their fault. Staff was great and tried to be helpful. I have seen other reviews that did not give them good reviews and I did not think they were as bad. The location is what is great about this place, the bar and food service was great, would have liked more seafood as advertise.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at The Glen Mhor Hotel and apartments. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel and I have taken all your other observations most seriously and will address them.

We work with a local fisherman who provide us with very fresh products! We apologies if we run out of some products during your stay and we're glad that you found good alternatives.

I look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    395
    230
    109
    78
See reviews for
234
555
53
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Greeted early by the owner who kindly let us into the room and advised on car parking. There seems to have even a booking mistake with the website we used who arranged a single room instead of a double, the owner quickly swapped things round - no stress.
The rooms are clean and modern although the walls are thin.
The b&b is in a great location 5 minutes walk from the town centre along a reasonably quiet street.
The breakfast was a little disappointing but that was the only downside.
I would normally have booked a hotel for our stay but I think from now I would prefer to stay here as it offers better value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmacla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night, our room was lovely and very big. The food in the restaurant was superb and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the city centre, and it had its own secure car park at the back of the hotel.
We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was in the Riverside suite on the top floor. Lovely view of the river to the front not such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay with us.

It's a true pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I'll share your good comments with the whole staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nice location overlooking the River. At check-in shown I was shown my Room by the reception girl pointing in the general direction of an annexe building next door.
Single room, basic amenities and very dated decor.
Horrendous noise coming from Toilet refill pipework system ...told reception....still to be fixed by the time I left.
Worth checking room location during booking procedure as it may be better to stay in the Main Hotel rooms...??
Won't be rushing back.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the Main Hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SIRFERGIE100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are truly sorry to hear about your disappointment and would like to add that this is not representative of the Glen Mhor Hotel.

This room is going to be refurbished within 3 weeks.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to give you a better experience of the Glen Mhor Hotel.

With kind regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Well where do i start.
When we got there was not told that the car park was at the back of hotel.The room was on the ground floor which was one good thing, but as for the rest here i go.
The bathroom had a cracked mirror, toilet holder had seen better days, and to top it all we asked for a toilet roll, IT TOOK 4 HOURS FOR SOMEONE TO COME WITH ONE WOW/////////
Also the sheet at the base of the bed was ripped, the excuse oh we are waiting for ones to come in. NOT GOOD ENOUGH. No way should a base sheet like that have been put on, and the attitude of the person who came with the toilet roll, left a lot to be desired. The restaurant was too dark and we had steak it was not good, so for the rest of the week we ate in other places. WE come to Inverness every year and we wont be coming back to the Glen Mohr EVER///// Oh and nearly forgot, when y put cushions on a bed make sure they have both buttons, as one of ours did not. Just little things like that makes a room look better.

Really dissatisfied

Margaret Leal Aberdeenshire

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were housed in the annex for our one night stay at the Glen Mohr (thank goodness it was only one night- if we had not paid in advance I would have left on seeing the accomodation). The room was right at the top of the converted house and was unsuitable to contain a double bed - one had to squeeze round the bed (ducking under the tv) to get to the cupboard-sized shower room. The sheets were very worn and the curtains more appropriate to be used as dish-rags.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere elsein another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HilaryJane19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are truly sorry to hear about your disappointment and would like to add that this is not representative of the Glen Mhor Hotel.

This room is going to be refurbished within 3 weeks.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to give you a better experience of the Glen Mhor Hotel.

With kind regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very poor check in, waited over 30 minutes to get the room. couldn't track down the chambermaid to see if it was ready so left us sitting in the foyer.Nice bedroom.WC and sink in a small cupboard. Handy if you want to sit down for the toilet and wash your face at the same time.Shower in another small cupboard over the other side of the room, no bath which we really missed after out walking for hours. You daren't flush the toilet during the night as it is so noisy when refilling and is right next to the 2 single beds which are pushed together to make a double.Curtains are pea thin with no blackout blinds, which meant we were woken at the crack of dawn both mornings.Breakfast was well cooked and service was good. All in all £110 per night grossly overpriced. Maybe the pictures i looked at were for the main building but the room i stayed in was not worth the price paid.Plastic toilet seat and plastic cups really sum this place up.
room 412 avoid if you like a nice bathroom and a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cekim67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are truly sorry to hear about your disappointment and would like to add that this is not representative of the Glen Mhor Hotel.

We will take the time to review the comments made with the hotel team and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to give you a better experience of the Glen Mhor Hotel.

With kind regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 7-17 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor Hotel offers Victorian townhouses and apartments located on the banks of the River Ness, a 3-minute walk from Inverness city centre and a 15-minute drive from Loch Ness. Accommodation is divided between 8 charming Victorian town houses (please advise reception if you have a building preference). Many rooms have wonderful views across the river to Inverness Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... The Ness Bank area is a charming conservation area in the city, set below the castle and opposite both The Eden Court Theatre and Inverness Cathedral. Glen Mhor is a 5-minute drive from the A9, 8 miles from Inverness Airport and a 10-minute walk from the train station. It is ideal for exploring Inverness and the surrounding Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing