We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just keeps getting better...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Last year I exhausted all my superlatives trying to describe this hotel, only to find that it was even more fantastic this time! From the moment we walked in, it seemed as if the staff were intent on making this the best Hogmanay ever. Check-in was very welcoming and efficient. You always knew what was going on because there was a flipchart in the lobby and each guest was handed their own booklet to tell them what was going on over the Hogmanay break. The rooms were, as always, very spacious with very comfortable chairs and very cosy beds, and very good heating. There was also a very plentiful supply of hot water to the bath and shower and the standard of cleanliness in the bathrooms was excellent.

The food was of spectacular quality and the menus, both for adults and children, were very well put together- the very talented chef clearly knows what his guests want to eat. You could always have something different for each course each night and it would always be really tasty. Highlights were the Black Isle beef and lamb (gosh I could eat that forever, it was so yummy)- cooked to perfection and served with delicious accompaniments. In addition to this was a breakfast with superb choice and some haggis at midnight at Hogmanay, which was marvellous as ever. On New Year's Day, the chef even brought out a wonderfully-presented grand buffet with an unbelievably good choice and fantastic, fresh items- including some absolutely delicious homemade lobster bisque. The kitchen staff must work incredibly hard here, and what's more, they will always try to be accommodating by offering a range of alternatives that are not on the menu- perfect if you are a fussy eater! One night, they had about six different starters and six different desserts for kids!

But what really stands out about this hotel over any other is the staff. At too many hotels these days, you get the impression that the management sign their names on the guest services directory and then spend days on end on the golf course! Not here! The management here obviously worked incredibly hard to make this the best Hogmanay ever, and were always around for a chat, and even did things like take you in for dinner or serve soup or haggis. They even all introduced themselves personally during a champagne reception. And what's more, all of the other staff were extremely friendly and could not have been more helpful.

Entertainment was brilliant as ever, with Bruce MacGregor's ceilidh band on 30th December being a firm favourite. It would be worth coming here over Hogmanay just to listen to this fiddler's intricate style. It is clearly indicative of the quality of the hotel if they can get musicians of this calibre to play there at Hogmanay.

We spent some thoroughly enjoyable afternoons in the swimming pool and spa too, and found these facilities to be very clean, warm, relaxing and inviting! Would definitely spend more time here next time!

Be warned: we're all without one shadow of a doubt coming back on 29th December 2011, if not before. If you want a personal, friendly and very comfortable hotel with good facilities, good staff and mouthwatering food in Inverness, look no further than the Kingsmills.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEAR_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that we delivered you and your family's expectations. Our Hogmanay package is very special to us and we do work very hard to try and please every guest through out their stay. I really appreciate the fantastic and detailed feedback, it is a great advert to our Hogmanay packages and hospitality we offer here at Kingsmills. I personally really enjoy working this time of year as I know many of team do also.

We all look forward to welcoming you and your family back again.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    534
    200
    57
    35
See reviews for
342
709
53
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

We had a long drive to get to Inverness, and Kingsmills was a great place to settle down. It was far enough from the city center to be quiet, but close enough to get there quickly. It was a very elegant hotel and the room was nice and clean. Free parking was a bonus too. Restaurant was ok and the staff were always very friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runrhirun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments. The hotel is elegant and very friendly, we are very proud of it and the great people who work for us.

We would love to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

I came here with 2 friends to celebrate our 40th birthdays. I have never came across such friendly hotel staff in my life. They could not do enough for us. we had ordered an ice bucket when we arrived at the hotel for champagne , by the time we walked to our room the ice bucket had arrived. The dinner in the restaurant was lovely and reasonably priced. As was the breakfast and lots to chose from. The swimming pool was small but this didnt put us off. We indulged in this and the steam room, sauna and jacuzzi on 2 occasions during our overnight stay. The staff were very friendly when we returned to the hotel at 1am and were still keen to serve drinks. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to all age groups.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessyglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you and your friends enjoyed your special birthday weekend. We are the perfect venue for so many different type of celebrations and the our biggest asset is the fantastic friendly team of associates we have who pride themselves in looking after people.

I thank you for your recommendations to other groups and would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

Hotel reception was nice, however room was in a corridor stinking of stale cigarette smoke. The room was okay, but dated and in need of renovation. Not very clean either. Charge for internet access poor for a hotel of this quality.

Breakfast was really good, staff very friendly

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to hear that you were not overally impressed with your accommodation offering. We are continually investing and upgrade within the hotel. I take your comments on board. I ould be delighted to invite you back and show you some of the changes we have made with investment. Please contact me directly outside this review process if you are planning returning to Inverness.

Kind Reagrds

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

The recent snow and ice chaos in Scotland found me in frozen Inverness for three days of a conference. It was tough getting there in the circumstances, and only a little easier getting back, but in between the Kingsmills was just the ticket.

Very spacious rooms and luxurious by any standard, let alone a four-star hotel, the service was impeccable and friendly throughout, restaurant food was great, conference facilities were ideal and, more importantly, completely flexible - staff bent over backwards to accommodate us. On top of all this, the hotel had an excellent spa/pool/sauna which made the snow outside that little bit extra special.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzajz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments and feedback. We have a great team here at Kingsmills and they work very hard to try and please and exceed every guest expectation.

Kind Regards


Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayed overnight at a weekend for a family event. Hotel was very busy but this didn't compromise the service, which was carried out to a very high standard with genuinely nice staff who looked after us very well. Food was very good with plenty of options for the children. Great breakfast, I think they had anything and everything, continental and cooked buffet style. We had a great size room which is no mean feat with 2 adults and 3 older children, bunk beds for 2 and fold out bed for other. Didn't feel cramp at all. Other members of party were in the new Kings Club part of the hotel, with sumptious, cosy rooms overlooking the Inverness Golf Club. Leisure club in the main hotel was a big hit with all the family and kept the children amused for ages. Everything nice and clean, always a bonus!
Great couple of days, can't wait to do it again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilson2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, it is very much appreciated.

I am delighted you and your family had a fantastic stay and made the most of the facilities. Kingsmills hotel and Kingsclub and Spa is the perfect location for family gatherings and special occasions. We have a very enthusiastic and professional team who enjoy making guests feel special.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

Check-in was 2pm and check-out was noon, a civilised arrangement compared to those establishments that won't check guests in until 4pm and then want to bundle them out by 10 the next morning. On cold, wet days in Inverness, being able to spend more time in your room adds considerable value. The location, in an uninteresting residential area a mile or so south of the city, was not ideal for local attractions and amenities. However, reviews of similarly-priced town centre hotels had all mentioned traffic and railway noise. The Kingsmills suffered from neither of these and the suburbs were very quiet.
The room was large and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Food was
good, with an interesting and not unreasonably priced dinner menu. The wine list was fair and the staff compensated for the limitations of the half-bottle selection by pouring a jumbo-sized glass from a full bottle. The waitress responded quickly to my pointing out that the table was so wobbly that it imperilled my wine glass, and repairs were quickly effected. There was a sumptuous Scottish breakfast, including haggis and porridge. Pool and gym facilities were available. There were a few niggles - I should not
have needed to ring reception to ask for soap & shower gel, nor should I have had to spend 5 minutes looking for a television remote control before ringing down to request one and then another couple of minutes deciding whether I could be bothered to ring reception yet again to complain that the remote didn't work. (I couldn't). In the bathroom, a bracket had been snapped off the corner of the shower cubicle and placed on top. The cubicle leaked at one corner and had been fixed with tape in a hasty and ineffective way. A soap dish lay by the sink, waiting to be re-attached to the shower. The impression was that the staff were hard-working and pleasant, although perhaps there were not enough of them. These were, however, minor irritants and did not much detract from what was overall a comfortable and enjoyable visit. I would happily stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorucak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Dear Guest,

I am glad to read you had a vey enjoyable stay. The kitchen and restaurant teams do work very hard and I was glad you enjoyed your dinning experience on both nights.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Kingsmills at some point in the future.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
2.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Property: Kingsmills Hotel
Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#5 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing