We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Room”
Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
621 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Outstanding Room”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were part of a group and had the privilege to staying in the newer part. Our room was huge, lovely, modern. Our shower was quite nice. Breakfast in the morning was continental and then you could order anything you wanted. It was convenient that you did not have to go over to the other building. Did eat dinner here and had good fish and chips. Service was good. Could not get our tv to work and someone came right away to fix it. Really a lovely place. It was only a 15 minute walk to town so was very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank One2travelUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review, I am delighted you had a fantastic stay and dinner with us.

Please do visit us again on your next trip to Scotland

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    539
    202
    57
    36
See reviews for
346
714
54
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
316 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I definitely recommend a stay here. It's quite lovely, however, it is undergoing some renovations
And Internet, when it finally worked, was only free in the lobby. Some of the rooms were really lovely but my first night I joked I was in a maid's room. Small, dark and dingy overlooking the garbage cans and construction equipment. They did move me to a much nicer room the next night. Breakfast was fine. One evenings dinner was much better than the second evening but that's due more to personal taste, though everyone complained about the gnocchi dish. My salmon was good. People did use the fitness center and pool. Piano music in the bar/lounge on Friday night. All in all, I enjoyed my stay. And the loch is across the street. I don't believe there was a spa so ignore that accidental rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbdpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your guest review. I am sorry you did not like your first room, however was glad to see we resolved this when we recieved the feedback. The hotel does have it's own beauty spa which is located within the Kingsclub.

Just for clarity for other readers Loch Ness is close by, 7 miles

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed two nights while on a tour... accommodations very comfortable, nice lounge and service good. Unfortunately elevator out of service both days. Food was excellent. Also internet was very sporatic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbkenMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed excellent food and service.

We have had a major problem with our elevator which has had to be completely replaced. This should be complete this Friday.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have stayed here twice now and we will certainly be returning again. The staff were very welcoming, our room was excellent and the pool and gym facilities were the icing on the cake. We dined in the hotel restaurant, again we were very impressed with the quality of the food and the service. The hotel is within a short drive of the city centre, giving easy access to shops etc. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TW D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review. I am glad that you have had another very positive stay and enjoyed the facilities, the food and beverage and the excellent service.

Haste ye back!


Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booked late in the week, we went for a studio room, which was huge, had a lovely patio and a separate small room for the kids. Also two bathrooms and a nice seating area. Made full use if the facilities and used the leisure club which is a bit tired but fine, pitch and putt which was great, and had afternoon cocktails. Also had dinner in the conservatory which was very good, service a wee bit mixed but good quality food. A good sleep, quality for a break and good value. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edinburghcouple2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Invited to meet up with friends for dinner and based on reviews was looking fwd. to visit. Disappointing from the minute we stepped in the door and was rushed to our table in the restaurant by a manager/maître d, unsure which, was impossible to catch the badge in the whirl and he certainly didn’t hang around long enough to introduce himself or welcome us to his hotel!
Presented with Table D’hôtel Menus, “could we see a la carte?” need to check", came up ok on that one, ask for a starter from one and a main from a la carte? Absolutely no way that can be arranged must stick to the Menus!
Food for this 1 in the party of 4 was just ok but quality of Fillet at £ 28 was poor as were the frozen chunky chips. Followed up with coffees and after asking for a second, 20 minutes passed before the waitress seemed to take pleasure in pointing out her colleague had not come up with it. Strange atmosphere with staff all round and certainly no sign of happy teamwork.
However someone must have noticed as to be fair after retiring to the bar area we were offered a drink from the management by a young barman, the first smiling face we had seen all night.

Now to be fair there was a wedding party in the hotel but there certainly seemed no shortage of staff so I doubt that could be used as a reason for the overall atmosphere. I do hope they had a more joyful evening. Thankfully the main purpose of the evening was to catch up with friends and our experience did not spoil that in any way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dasmoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cononbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We recently held our wedding here and we could not have chosen better. The hotel was simply outstanding from the amazing staff, food, service, ambience - special mention to the manager Craig and events co-ordinator Alicia who contributed hugely to our amazing day - they are well highly skilled at their jobs and helped us so much not only on the day itself but in the lead-up. If you are looking for a hotel for your wedding, or indeed just a nice break away then you cannot choose better than this fantastic hotel. Regards from Mr and Mrs Lawrence PS we will be back for our anniversay meal next year without a doubt!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
2.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Property: Kingsmills Hotel
Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#5 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing