We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Inverness stopover”
Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Our Inverness stopover”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Kingsmill on a number of occasions and at various time of the year in both the Spa and the main hotel building.(last time in Rm705)
Good Food
Great Staff
Great service ( Young Alex in the dining room)
A wee bit pricey but consistently good in all aspects of a 4* hotel
Some of the rooms in the main building are a bit tired but overall Good, Clean and Big
We will continue to use this Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brin1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review. I am glad you continue to use Kingsmills Hotel as your chosen Inverness hotel. I will pass on your praise to Alex and the rest of the team. Yes consistency is very important to us as well and we train and develop this as part of our culture on an ongoing bases.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    540
    203
    57
    37
See reviews for
347
717
54
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are currently a guest here and we are thoroughly enjoying our trip.
The hotel has a great pool, spa&pitch n putt.
What stands out the most is how friendly and helpful the staff are. From the time we walked into reception to date we have felt very comfortable and extremely well looked after.
The waiting staff, reception staff and pool staff are incredibly well mannered, helpful and friendly.
Would highly recommend this hotel for couples, parties but especially families.
The food is great too.......:)
Will be coming back here again soon. Book in advance to avoid dissapointment.

Room Tip: Go for one with a patio...... We didn't get one but will try for one next time:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your guest review, very much appreciated. It is encouraging to see you have written this review with so many positives before you have even left the hotel. We do have a great team of associates that work very hard to try and personalise every guests stay and friendliness is definitely one of our strongest qualities. I was also delighted to read that you had really enjoyed the restaurant food, our chefs do a great job using lots of local ingredients.

Kind Regards


Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night. Had some minor problems with the heater that was left on and I couldn't turn off, but the staff took care of this quickly. Did not use the gym but it did have treadmills and stairmasters. The Spa are is coed. The food at the restaurant was ok, but as I was with a tour group, our choices were different than the main menu. The grounds are very pretty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millie4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review. I was glad to read that our efficient associates dealt with your minor challenges on arrival quickly, allowing you to enjoy the rest of your stay.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in June. The hotel is being extended with the addition of a new block. This is nearly complete so construction work was not too intrusive. The room was adequate in size but could do with updating. The hotel appears very popular and heavily used. Our main issue with the room was that it was excessively warm. Whilst it was very good weather at the time I do not believe that this was the cause.
We ate in the restaurant twice. The food and the service was very good and the prices what you would expect. The langoustines were delicious. The breakfast offering was also very good. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times
We did not use the spa area but it looked in excellent order. The Kingsclub block appeared very nice from the exterior but this was full at the time and appears significantly more expensive.
We would recommend the hotel but perhaps try and use the Kingsclub or the new wing when completed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review. Whilst the rooms in the main Kingsmills hotel are not air conditioned all the rooms in the Kingsclub are. I am sorry you found your room too hot, this summer has been the hottest in seven years, so this is unusual for us.

I am glad you ate in the Conservatory a la carte restaurant on two of your nights and really enjoyed the experience. The chefs produce great food and the local dishes such as the langoustines from Cromerty are just fantastic.

We are adding on another 40 rooms at present the external building works are very nearly complete and this will provide us with a new room category - "Luxury" rooms which will be fully air conditioned also. The rooms will be open for sale from 29th December 2013. Next time you visit Inverness try one of these out.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

stayed at the kings club.About a 5-7 min ride from the city centre . A children park opposite it was a bonus. Spacious rooms and well equipped bathrooms. lovely restaurant and good breakfast. the evening tea was also superb complete with scones and all. very helpful concierge who went out her way to help us. swimming pool too was good. All in all a place well recommended to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burmaaunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review. I was delighted to read it and your review provides us with a great advert for the hotel. The Kingsclub rooms are our best bedrooms and do cost more, however the positive reviews and comments on these rooms are definitely worth it.

I am glad you really enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
213 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

So this is a nice 4 start hotel, where you will get a nice comfortable room and good service.

First a good surprise when arriving, we got upgraded to their new building, the spa building. First doubtful as to the fact that this is an upgrade or not, we actually think it is because the main building is the older part of the hotel, which looks are bit more stuffy (even though it is full of charm :-) )

The room is big, with a comfortable bed, and we got a ground floor room with a tiny garden.
Only negative is the water tap in the shower which was not working properly (the handle was partially broken).

As for service, it was very good. We got some great advice for restaurants in the evening. So that was simply perfect.

Breakfast was nice and simple, it's a small buffet in the lobby of the hotel, but you can order whatever you want from a menu in case the buffet is not enough (in view of previous nights' dinners, it was more than enough :-) )

They also have a small fitness centre with a swimming pool. I tested it, it was ok (the treadmills need a bit or repair and care ;-) )

The location is good, 10mn walk from the centre of town.

Room Tip: Choose the more modern club and spa building. The ground floor rooms have a small terrace, but less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ynop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very comprehensive and positive review. You are clearly a someone who travels a lot and has an eye for detail and quality. I appreciate your comments and will pass on the positive feedback to the team. I will also have the tap looked at in your bathroom and can confirm that our leisure club equipment will receive it's six monthly service this week.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We were there for a weekend for a wedding, the staff were lovely and helpful, the pool facilities were nice and the rooms decent sizes and clean. I've never seen beds so big!! Handy location with places to eat within walking distance. Would recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LaurenCraib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a guest review on your stay. I was delighted to read your positive comments and that you enjoyed your stay. I was surprised that you graded us only 3 out of 5, however respect your opinion.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
2.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Property: Kingsmills Hotel
Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#6 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing