We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed on 30th December for one night & chose this hotel as it was pet friendly. Having never taken our 2 wiemarners to a hotel before we weren't sure what to expect from the rooms. However we were pleasantly surprised that although the room was aged, it was very clean with no traces of any previous dogs being in the room. The room had patio doors which opened out to a courtyard which was ideal for walking the dogs. The hotel facilities are of a high standard, reception is a well presented, comfortable area. We used the pool & spa facilities which was quite busy in the early evening with children (the pool isn't really large enough for any serious swimming). Breakfast was of a very high standard, plenty choice of pastries, cereals, porridge, juices & a well stocked hot breakfast buffet which was regularly refreshed so nothing dried out. The service was friendly & helpful & we would not hesitate on booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claymires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review and I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay. We are a very friendly hotel and we do welcome; families, dogs and anyone who wants to have a relaxing break in the Highland capital.

Haste ye back.

Kind Regards


Craig Ewan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,278 - 1,284 of 1,849 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is now our seventh Hogmanay at Kingsmills and I can certainly say that we are already ecstatic about returning for an eighth Hogmanay on 28th December 2013 if not before- that was how fantastic our whole experience from 28th December 2012 to 2nd January 2013 was! The Kingsmills amazed us in every way this Hogmanay and the Highlands and Islands Tourism 'Best Hotel' award that the hotel won last year is extremely well deserved.

The staff are absolutely amazing and go out of their way to ensure that their guests have a fantastic time. My sister is a fussy eater, but thanks to the food and beverage team being so accommodating, a delicious, simpler alternative to the dishes on the table d'hote menu (such as chicken and chips rather than a chicken roulade) was always offered and she always thoroughly enjoyed it! Members of the management team greeted us like long lost friends as soon as we walked through the door, being very helpful in assisting us in getting our very heavy luggage to our room, and the manager and his assistant were always there for a chat in the evenings and asking to make sure everyone was enjoying their experience- which we without one shadow of a doubt were!

The rooms, 203 and 205, were exceptionally comfortable and cosy- particularly the beds which are the softest most comfortable beds I have ever slept on! They are always extremely warm and inviting, beautifully decorated with tartan armchairs, rich red throws and Highland paintings, and spotlessly clean. The bathrooms are also extremely clean with giant luxurious baths and power showers.

The lounge and bar area is extremely comfortable and cosy, with big, squidgy sofas, inviting warm décor and a beautiful tartan carpet! Worth spending some time here relaxing with some Irn-Bru or coffee or a wee dram!

Food quality was- in one word- magnificent. Every meal was imaginatively prepared to wonderful traditional Scottish recipes, as well as a few creative fusion recipes using the finest fresh local ingredients and tasted to die for. The chef and his team must be congratulated for their creativity and talent- highlights were the perfectly-cooked Wester Ross venison medallions on 29th December, the mocha crème brulee, the Cullen skink and salmon en croute on 30th December, the fillet of black isle beef on the Hogmanay gala menu and the spectacular grand buffet on New Year's Day- which was truly irresistible and had some of us going up for five courses! Especially delicious were the partan bree (crab soup), the cheese and tomato gnocchi and chocolate mousse on this buffet. Breakfast was also always very tasty with a huge choice of cooked and cold options, and the choice on the New Year's Day brunch was outstanding- particularly the venison sausage! The highlight, though, had to be the most mouth-wateringly delicious bowl of haggis, neeps and tatties in all the Highlands which was enjoyed at the Hogmanay ceilidh at 1am- so delicious some of us went back for two or even three more bowls.

No Scottish Hogmanay would be complete without entertainment and I have to say, the Kingsmills excelled itself once again in providing the most fabulous Hogmanay fun. A huge highlight was the Segway safari on New Year's Day which gave guests the opportunity to ride a Segway through the hotel's beautiful gardens- what tremendous New Year's Day fun! Though the Michael Buble tribute act on 30th December was not to my tastes, other members of my family thoroughly enjoyed it and had a wonderful time dancing, I have to say the hotel has done fantastically well in providing entertainment for everyone. The ceilidh and disco at Hogmanay was a huge highlight and struck the perfect balance between traditional Scottish and pop music- and also showcased some of Scotland's pop music talent! Bruce MacGregor and friends provided the most amazing display of Highland fiddling, Gaelic song and plenty of craic to finish off a fantastically fun New Year's Day!

The hotel did put on activities for Hogmanay package guests throughout each day, but if your passion is Highland touring when in Inverness, you're in the best possible location to explore the most stunning corners of the Highlands. Loch Ness is just down the road, the awe-inspiring Torridon mountains an hour and a half away, Applecross and the Wester Ross coast two hours away via a breathtaking mountain road, every road from Inverness will take you away into gorgeous scenery with the vista changing at every corner!

When you've had a Highland expedition, there is always a beautifully warm spa bath and delightful little swimming pool- always quiet and relaxing- to enjoy in the leisure club.

Thank you so much Kingsmills for all your hard work in making this the best Hogmanay ever. No matter when you come to Kingsmills though, you can be assured of a warm welcome, a cosy room, delicious food at every meal and a hot, relaxing spa- we can guarantee!

Best wishes, Edward, Linda, Alan and Georgina, Rooms 203 and 205

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor of the main Kingsmills Hotel, numbered 200 to 210! You will be sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEAR_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very detailed and extremely positive review of you and your family's Hogmanay experience. We do take a huge amount of planning and personal ownership to ensure all our plans are delivered to the the highest possible level of service whilst remaining friendly, cosy and informal in the most. Chef will delight with your feedback on the food and he will be inspired to write up more inspired menus for next year, which we will have complete by the end of this month. I look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Kingsmills Hotel once again.

Kind Regards


Craig Ewan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were welcomed by friendly staff on the front desk which carried on through our stay at this hotel.
The room was excellent with plenty of space with a nice with the bathroom area being just as spacious. A nice big powerful shower separate from a bath was real accommodating in the cold evening
Had a nice meal in the restaurant although limited choice as the hotel was mot busy it was still a tasty meal, Breakfast also was very nicely presented buffet style and also well received.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluejames985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay.

I appreciate all your comments and ensure the positive feedback is passed on to all involved in delivering your service. I was delighted to read you were impressed with the bedrooms, showers, staff service, food quality and the overall stay.

Our menus were more limited in offering selection during your last stay due to christmas and new year more limited deliveries. This has returned to normal since the Hogmanay holidays have passed. I hope to welcome you back to Kingsmills hotel at some point throughout the year.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Kingsmill Hotel/Kingsclub Spa at the beginning of December this year.

From the date I booked the room, the staff could not be more helpful! I decided to upgrade our room as a late anniversary present for my fiance and it was not a problem! The reception staff upgraded my room without any problems.

On arrival, I was advised I had been allocated a Retreat Room in the newly opened Kingsclub and Spa. The room was on the first floor and was beautiful! A massive bed, loads of pillows, amazing tv, couch, balcony and AMAZING shower. I could have stayed in there for hours! Little touches like proper coffee, lovely toiletries and sweet treats left for our arrival, really made the stay more special.

The breakfast was lovely and I would say, just right to satisfy those morning after hunger pangs.

It's a great hotel with lovely staff and a nice atmosphere. I would definitely recommend it to young, old, families and business folk alike!

Room Tip: If you're going to visit the hotel, I would definitely recommend one of the Retreat Rooms; costs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackanory84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you had an excellent stay in our Kingsclub and Spa. Thank you for the positive review and I hope to welcome you back to Kingsmills at some point in the future.

Kind Regards


Craig Ewan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Excellent 3 day stay. Our bedroom was in the older part, soon to be rebuilt, but the attentive, friendly staff compensated for the old-fashioned telly. We brought in a cake for a birthday party and the kitchen staff presented it with their own decorations and chocolates. A great surprise.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Mileend11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read you had an excellent stay. We are totsly refurbishing these bedrooms as of now so next time you return you will notice even further improvements. I am glad we helped you enjoy the Birthday even further.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The staff at Kingsmills know that service is important. It was evident in everything that they did for us. Our orginal booking for a theme room in the Kingsmill Spa annexe could not be met but we were informed 48 hours before we travelled. Up on arrival at this very smart hotel we waited behind another guest booking in. A member of staff walking past greeted us and then went on to reception desk to book us in. No waiting here. The circumstances of our booking were correctly recorded on the computer. We asked if we were still happy with alternative booking : a discount on the booking and an upgrade. Who wouldn't be? The room was excellently furnished, a spacious bedroom/lounge and bathroom. And complementary champagne. More than sufficient staff on duty for breakfast. A very capable bar person who arranged a special off-menu meal. Reception were always polite and helpful in requests for taxis. It was a taxi driver that told us Mel Gibson used this hotel when filming Braveheart. It is not the cheapest hotel in Inverness but we came away with the impression that we had received 1st class service in a quality hotel with great value for money. There is no question that we would book again. We would not even look at the competition. Inverness is now Kingsmills and that is surely want the hotel wants.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5760_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this first class review. I am delighted that all of our team looked after you at every stage of your stay. We do spend a lot of time discussing and training the culture of the hotel which is the most important element - the people and how you are treated. Your taxi driver was correctly informed and whilst that was many years ago we still work very hard to attract customers from near and far who are looking for "first class service".

I look forward to welcoming you back to Kingsmills hotel.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is very nice. It has two separate buildings, one modern and the other traditional scottish style. It is not so close to the centre but you can miss it thanks to the services of the hotel. Rooms are clean as the rest of the hotel. Nice place to go for business or vacation trips.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickrobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate all feedback. Yes on the one site we have the Kingsmills Hotel, which is four star standard very beautiful and traditional, the other hotel is smaller...Kingsclub and Spa also four star, modern, contemporary however still has a Scottish friendly feel. We do pride ourselves on delivering the best customer service we can.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some point this year.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
617 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 36 in Inverness
785 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#4 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $91 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing