We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel -- if you can find it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My biggest complaint about this hotel is we couldn't find it. Maybe the Scottish sign system (or lack thereof) is more responsible for this but we followed our Google map, GPS AND the directions provided by the hotel and it took us an extra 2 hours to locate this hotel. We called & gave them our exact location and it was still difficult to find.

That being said, this hotel is nice. And the staff was nice enough to upgrade our room to a suite over in the Garden Wing. It was exceptionally clean & roomy -- very large, probably the largest room of our trip. But not very charming or quaint. This didnt bother me but just want to point this out for those who are seeking charming rooms.

The breakfast was terrible -- the worst of our trip. Very runny eggs & flavorless food. That was my only complaint. Other than that, its a good price for a generic chain hotel room located about 20 mins. from downtown Inverness.

No major complaints about this hotel but if I had to do it all over again, I'd select a more charming hotel, closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stabone130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 526 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2009

This was a good hotel for a couple nights stay. It felt like a personal service where the staff cared that you had a comfortable stay. When we arrived for breakfast rather late, they cooked up a fresh breakfast.

the room was good being in the newly opened garden wing with a view over the nice gardens, and had its own bar and restaurant.

The only gripe (which is not really their fault), is this it is in a residental area so you are stuck with driving into town of you want to go out for the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We had a superb room in the Garden Wing. Very big, very comfortable, and being on the ground floor we had french windows out onto a patio with a table and chairs. The weather was wonderful, so we appreciated this.
The service was very good; friend;y and attentive. We eat in only one night, and that was a bar meal. This was good; simple and reasonably priced, exactly what we wanted.
The location was good. Far enough out from the centre for it to have space and greenery, but within reasonable walking distance (just!) for a night out.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Stayed in this hotel for one night on business, Location is superb, Food is very tasty and staff very friendly.
The hotel also provides free internet access to all guests.
I will now be staying here when on business in Inverness in future,
Breakfast is great, i compare this hotel to a hotel i stayed at in Orkney called the Merkister Hotel - same type of family run hotel which takes its customers comfort and satisfaction seriously.
Long may the Lochardil continue to provide top class service

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

I regularly stay here on business and am always upgraded to the garden wing. You couldnt ask for nicer rooms and it is a welcome treat to stay here when away from home so often with work. The rooms are very spacious and plush and very comfortable and like going from home to home. They are immaculately clean and I never have any concerns over staying in the Lochardil rooms.

The restaurant is lovely and the food has definately got better over the past 6 months with the regular menu along with a different specials choice every night. Eating in the conservatory restaurant looking over the gardens definately provides a relaxing end to a hard days work, especially when you can enjoy the summer nights having a drink in the grounds. If i am there by myself, I have no issues about eating alone in the dining room as it is such a welcoming environment.

Many a nights have been spent sitting up late in the bar area with colleagues and no matter what member of staff is on, they make us feel so welcome and treat us like regulars and always have time to chat.

This is a lovely family run hotel, and instantly as soon as you arrive you receive such a warm welcome that makes you feel at home.

You dont realise how good this hotel is until you have stayed somewhere else!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AberdeenAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Fantastic staff - some of the nicest I have ever encountered. Lovely room in a cosy hotel. The food was nice - though there could have been a bigger veggie selection at breakfast - but otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreelBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

We had a difficult time finding Lochardil House with our directions and found ourselves driving through some modern neighborhoods which didn't match our image of an old manor house setting. We found it, though, and its garden setting was very welcome. Our room was in a modern addition and was large, clean, and had all expected amenities. The staff was helpful and friendly. There were no sites of interest to us within walking distance, but Inverness was a short, direct drive away. We ate only one meal at the hotel-- a very good breakfast. Many high-quality restaurants are less than ten minutes away by car. As we found, reservations at those restaraunts are a must. We stayed here for a couple of days while exploring points north and Loch Ness. Access to those areas was easy from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Overlooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
611 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 36 in Inverness
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
3.1 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#4 of 36 in Inverness
670 reviews
1.5 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#3 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $96 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing