We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel on beautiful, peaceful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had planned to stay here for a quick one night visit. However, after being here for a few hours we quickly decided to extend our stay. When we arrived in the parking log in the early afternoon a traditional Scottish wedding was about to begin in the hotel. It was a beautiful wedding party with a bagpipe player and male guests wearing traditional kilts. We stayed in the parking lot for a few minutes just to enjoy watching the festivities. Once we went inside the check-in process was very quick and easy. We had selected one of the less expensive rooms in the old building knowing there was no lift. However, the staff was quick to help us with our luggage. Although our room is somewhat small, there is enough space for two of us to move around freely, with room for the suitcases. The bathroom is a bit small with limited vanity space but it functions well. The grounds surrounding the hotel are lovely and spacious and, weather permitting, a great place to enjoy a cup of tea or coffee. The internet works extremely well in the guest rooms and is very fast. We had dinner in the restaurant tonight and it was absolutely delicious. Although it was not on the menu the staff was very kind to make me a green dinner salad. I had the chicken breast with an incredibly tasty sauce which I can highly recommend. Staying at this hotel is a lovely and charming experience and we would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 527 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

Having stayed here before on business I took my wife this time as I had liked the hotel set-up. We were fortunate to receive an upgraded room and it was fabulous, setting us up nicely for the rest of the stay (sadly only one night !) - simply cannot fault the Manager, the staff, the food and the service throughout our stay. We felt that everyone wanted the guests to have a good time, and we and other guests seemed to do just that. Biggest disappointment was that we could not arrange things at home to allow a longer stay - but we will definitely be back ! Ken & Fiona

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Ken and Fiona

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your kind comments are much appreciated.

Our loyal hard working staff do their very best to ensure our guests are looked after and it is very nice when this is appreciated.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a splendid stay here a few years ago so decided to return to this hotel while visiting Scotland again. We were not disappointed this time either and had another wonderful experience.

This hotel offers a quiet peaceful refuge, although it is not far from Inverness city center--about 2 miles. If you don't want the hustle/noise of a city center, this is the place to stay. We were able to walk on safe sidewalks into town (about 25-30 minutes), of which several minutes are along the beautiful River Ness and the Ness Islands. If you drive, it's about a 5 min drive into town. The hotel grounds are beautiful, with a garden area for strolling or just sitting and enjoying the outdoor environment. Plenty of free parking, too.

Check-in was efficient with very helpful, friendly staff. We had a very large room in the newer section, with a patio that overlooked the lawn and garden area. There is no elevator in the 3-floor garden building but staff is readily available to assist w/ luggage if needed. Lighting in the room was superb, which you don't always find in hotels these days. There was a small couch, coffee table, and two chairs for seating, plus a large desk and armoire. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom was quite roomy, too. Wi-fi free and readily accessible in rooms and public spaces.

We had dinner a few nights in the restaurant. Service was excellent, as was the food. Breakfast was served buffet-style and the options were plentiful. The bar area adjoins the restaurant and has a couple of rooms with a mixture of comfortable furniture styles, which made it quite pleasant to sit and have drinks in.

We hope to visit Scotland again in the near future, and this hotel will again be the place to stay while we are in the Highlands.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mejulaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted that you came back and once again enjoyed your stay. Your comments are much appreciated.

We do hope to see you next time.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We needed a room whilst in Inverness for work. We had a warm welcome on arrival and helpful staff. We stayed in a garden room and it was extremely comfortable, well finished and very fresh. Disappointed not to have more time to enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Euan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Euan

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Excellent facilities, especially breakfast, comfy roomy room, Free Wi-Fi everywhere, quiet location, even a wedding didn't disturb us in our room. Only problem was roadworks in town stopping us following the Sat-Nav's directions and then difficult to locate hotel by other routes unless you know your way around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Graham

Thank you so much for your kind review. Much appreciated. Sorry about the Roadworks - bit of a nightmare in Inverness which I have no control over !

They say it will all be sorted soon.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I recently went up to Inverness to visit my friend Mildred who lived nearby.

I stay in lots of different hotels with work, but the standards and service here were amazing. Had a lovely room with patio which was quiet and restful.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful. I liked it so much I stayed an extra night.

Highly recommend this place. Will definitely use it when I next visit Mildred.

Room Tip: Room with the patio was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Mark

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We try our very best and our excellent staff work very hard so it is nice when they are appreciated.

We are delighted that you were so happy here.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
617 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $95 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing