We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Another Great Visit!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a splendid stay here a few years ago so decided to return to this hotel while visiting Scotland again. We were not disappointed this time either and had another wonderful experience.

This hotel offers a quiet peaceful refuge, although it is not far from Inverness city center--about 2 miles. If you don't want the hustle/noise of a city center, this is the place to stay. We were able to walk on safe sidewalks into town (about 25-30 minutes), of which several minutes are along the beautiful River Ness and the Ness Islands. If you drive, it's about a 5 min drive into town. The hotel grounds are beautiful, with a garden area for strolling or just sitting and enjoying the outdoor environment. Plenty of free parking, too.

Check-in was efficient with very helpful, friendly staff. We had a very large room in the newer section, with a patio that overlooked the lawn and garden area. There is no elevator in the 3-floor garden building but staff is readily available to assist w/ luggage if needed. Lighting in the room was superb, which you don't always find in hotels these days. There was a small couch, coffee table, and two chairs for seating, plus a large desk and armoire. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom was quite roomy, too. Wi-fi free and readily accessible in rooms and public spaces.

We had dinner a few nights in the restaurant. Service was excellent, as was the food. Breakfast was served buffet-style and the options were plentiful. The bar area adjoins the restaurant and has a couple of rooms with a mixture of comfortable furniture styles, which made it quite pleasant to sit and have drinks in.

We hope to visit Scotland again in the near future, and this hotel will again be the place to stay while we are in the Highlands.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejulaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted that you came back and once again enjoyed your stay. Your comments are much appreciated.

We do hope to see you next time.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    132
    27
    2
    5
See reviews for
82
225
23
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We needed a room whilst in Inverness for work. We had a warm welcome on arrival and helpful staff. We stayed in a garden room and it was extremely comfortable, well finished and very fresh. Disappointed not to have more time to enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Euan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Euan

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Excellent facilities, especially breakfast, comfy roomy room, Free Wi-Fi everywhere, quiet location, even a wedding didn't disturb us in our room. Only problem was roadworks in town stopping us following the Sat-Nav's directions and then difficult to locate hotel by other routes unless you know your way around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Graham

Thank you so much for your kind review. Much appreciated. Sorry about the Roadworks - bit of a nightmare in Inverness which I have no control over !

They say it will all be sorted soon.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I recently went up to Inverness to visit my friend Mildred who lived nearby.

I stay in lots of different hotels with work, but the standards and service here were amazing. Had a lovely room with patio which was quiet and restful.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful. I liked it so much I stayed an extra night.

Highly recommend this place. Will definitely use it when I next visit Mildred.

Room Tip: Room with the patio was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Mark

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We try our very best and our excellent staff work very hard so it is nice when they are appreciated.

We are delighted that you were so happy here.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

we had four nights here in the garden suite .The decor and accommodation were excellent but there was a grand shower not a bath which might not suit everyone.The staff and the food were good and everyone was keen to ensure a happy stay. it had a large car park which if you are touring is essential the other best western in inverness had limited parking so you would have ended up in a pay car park.The hotel is about 5 minutes from town in the car and in a quiet residential area which suited us down to the ground. all in all I would stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the garden extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikingSussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice when our excellent staff are appreciated and to find our location is suitable and our free car parking appreciated. Many Hotels nowadays have hardly any. Thankfully most of our guests enjoy our food and facilities but of course you cannot please everyone. !

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

As a regular visitor to Best Western Hotels all over the UK and a Best Western Diamond level rewards member I enjoyed my stay here it is clean and staff are friendly and always there too help however on first night I ordered my evening meal around 8.30 when my main course came I had to send it back it was over cooked and not edible to eat, they did take it off my bill but at the end of the day I was wanting to eat.

Another point I would make is that this Hotel is not all that close to the City Centre as it would make you believe I for one would not like to walk it into the City Centre but on the whole a nice quiet place to stay within a lovely setting.

Room Tip: Dont leave ordering your meal in the evening till late
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your Chicken Kiev was slightly overdone. I understand that you were asked if you would like to order another dish but you declined that night to have anything else. I am glad that you did then eat with us the following night. Regarding our location we make clear on our website etc that 'Our Victorian mansion house hotel is set in its own grounds, giving you the freedom to enjoy your break in a quiet residential area of Inverness, just 1.5 miles from the city centre.'

We are indeed 1.5 miles from the City Centre as we state .

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our excellent staff responsive to your needs

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
544 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 34 in Inverness
611 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing