We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely wonderful place to stay in Inverness Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An absolutely wonderful place to stay in Inverness Scotland”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a first rate place to stay in Inverness, Scotland. Very clean. Perfectly maintained. Modern accommodations. Breakfast was exceptional. Excellent bar and VERY FRIENDLY STAFF AND OWNERS. How friendly? Short story to illustrate -- we typed the hotel address into Google Maps as we arrived on the edge of Inverness. Much to our surprise, Google's directions took us to a neighborhood to a destination that turned out to be THE HOME OF THE HOTEL OWNER's DAUGHTER! Weird. What's up with that Google? Well, as we sat there in her driveway trying to figure out the error, she drove up. We asked for directions to the hotel and with a puzzled look she explained that the hotel was owned by her father. What a coincidence ... hey Google! Here is the best part ... rather than just give us directions and be done with us, she drove her car to lead us to the hotel ... about three miles away. What a wonderful, charming lady. We met the owner's son at check-in and received what could only be described as exceptionally friendly service ... great guy. We had met Graeme - the owner - by phone when we made our reservations in July but sadly, we could not meet him in person as he was out of town. On our next visit we must meet him in person. Summary: The people who own this hotel run it as if it was their own home and you are their most important guest. They have a very caring style. The hotel definitely exceeded our expectations and the service was absolutely exceptional. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: No noisy streets, every room should be quiet. Make time for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for this lovely review. I am delighted that my daughter was so helpful and my son who is our Manager. I am sorry that we did not meet. The problem with google was in fact highlighted by you and I was told back then. It then happened again and I have since sorted with them . I hope ! Very strange and a coincidence that they directed you to my daughter's house of all places.

Your comments regarding your welcome and your stay are much appreciated,

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    129
    27
    2
    5
See reviews for
81
222
22
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We booked this hotel for an over night stay for 19 people to celebrate our wedding. The rooms in the new part were excellent, clean tidy roomy and well furnished. We all decided at short notice to have lunch before the wedding, not a problem for the hotel and their excellent staff. On return from the registrars we had drinks then speeches followed by what can only be described as a delicious meal, with very attentive but discrete staff. Everything was well planned, nothing was a problem. Breakfast was first class, fresh, varied, well presented and plentiful. A very enjoyable experience which helped make our day so special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Rose and Ian

Thank you very much for your very kind review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us to celebrate your wedding. It was a great pleasure to have you all with us.

With very best wishes for your future.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel. It's an old mansion converted into a hotel. The staff is great. It's not far from the main part of town and is a short cab ride away. The front desk can call you a cab - they are very nice. We would not have stayed longer. The beds are not very comfortable (hard and old) and there isn't anything to do in the hotel - they do have bar, but it wasn't ever crowded.

It wasn't very expensive and you get a clean place to stay (again I wouldnt stay longer than a couple nights).

Room Tip: Stay in the old mansion! Those rooms are bigger and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you found our beds 'hard' they are certainly not old.

Actually the rooms in the Garden Wing are in fact larger than the ones in the main hotel not the other way round.

We do not suggest that there 'is anything to do in the Hotel' other than have a peaceful relaxing stay. If someone is looking for 'activities' then we are not where to stay.

Regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here recently on business for the first time and must say it is a real find ! My room was in the new Garden Wing .It was large and spotlessly clean with a lovely view over the gardens at the rear .
Staff seemed very helpful and clearly very well trained which I put down to the presence of the owner who was himself extremely pleasant and helpful .It's nice to see a pivately owned and run hotel providing lessons that some of the large hotel chains would do well to copy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrampasAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are very fortunate in having excellent loyal hard working staff and they are our biggest asset.

It is nice when they are appreciated and we hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here, while I was attending an academic conference nearby. Our room, a suite, in the modern annexe, was well appointed and comfortable. We ate in the hotel's restaurant every night, and my husband most mornings for breakfast, and the service from the restaurant staff was always excellent, as was the food. I particularly liked how quiet the hotel was during the day, even during cleaning times, which allowed me essential rest and sleep time before and after my time at the conference (necessary due to MS-like illness). On the downside our bed was smaller than we are used to, and the bath seemed quite tiny. But the shower was great, so we used that for most of the time. But in every other respect the hotel was superb. We particularly liked the professional and attentive staff we dealt with. Should we return to Inverness we will come back to this hotel to stay, and will recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review and nice words. Much appreciated.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We drove into Inverness and our GPS took us to a neighborhood instead of this hotel. One of the employees' relatives found us and we followed them to the hotel! We stayed in the more modern section of this facility. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and the clean. The bathroom was very nice. The breakfast was tasty with many choices. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler that preferred a more quiet location as it is located out of the city center and not right next to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Martines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. Sorry you had problem finding us as you said due to some 'blip' on satnav. We appreciate your nice words

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
236 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

An old hotel with a very modern extension. The resturant, reception and a few of the rooms are in the old building, which has a cosy comfortable feal about it. Most of the rooms are in a separate modern, three story building. Very nicely built. The four lower floor rooms have patios where you can sit outside and enjoy the nicely kept garden. Note, because of the sloop where it is built, the ground floor is the middle floor.
Meals were excellent. Plenty of choice. Each day a series of specials.
Staff did their best to ensure you were well looked after.
Good parking. Three for the less able next to the new building.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.5 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing