We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$182
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$283
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
$154
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmills Hotel(Inverness)
$122
$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveler rating
362
147
30
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
147
30
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden wingnew wingmain buildinglovely hotelhuge bathroomwedding venuegreat showerhotel is situatedcity centrequiet areabusiness tripspacious roombuffet stylean overnight stayhome from homefantastic staycouple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 548 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We drove into Inverness and our GPS took us to a neighborhood instead of this hotel. One of the employees' relatives found us and we followed them to the hotel! We stayed in the more modern section of this facility. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and the clean. The bathroom was very nice. The breakfast was tasty with many choices. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler that preferred a more quiet location as it is located out of the city center and not right next to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Martines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. Sorry you had problem finding us as you said due to some 'blip' on satnav. We appreciate your nice words

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

An old hotel with a very modern extension. The resturant, reception and a few of the rooms are in the old building, which has a cosy comfortable feal about it. Most of the rooms are in a separate modern, three story building. Very nicely built. The four lower floor rooms have patios where you can sit outside and enjoy the nicely kept garden. Note, because of the sloop where it is built, the ground floor is the middle floor.
Meals were excellent. Plenty of choice. Each day a series of specials.
Staff did their best to ensure you were well looked after.
Good parking. Three for the less able next to the new building.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have returned from spending another break at this very well run hotel where friendliness and guest comfort are obviously of paramount importance. The young staff are delightful and have been well trained to combine professionalism and friendly interaction with guests in a highly acceptable manner and strike exactly the right note. It is obvious that this attitude comes from the top and we were made to feel most welcome with all members of staff taking time to exchange pleasantries and to give advice re sight seeing etc. In fact the attitudes were much more genuine than in a famous multi starred Scottish golfing hotel in which we recently stayed. The napery and cutlery in the restuarant/dining room were immaculate and the food was very good and more than adequate in amount. Our room was large roomy and comfortable and everywhere was spotlessly clean.

A comment re disability.
The room adapted for disabled persons might be improved by having twin beds. Some disabilities make it difficult for for people to share the same bed and also often carers who are not bed partners with the disabled person may have to share a room in order for care to be given during the night etc. The beds need not be far apart to utilise the space available.

Room Tip: If disabled the adapted room in an adjacent annexe (12 metres from main entrance) is very well appointed and has ample space for wheelchairs. I cannot comment on the other rooms but I imagine some have do have very nice outlooks.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We were all delighted to see you both again and that you enjoyed your stay with us

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is out of town, and has a quiet location in a leafy suburb. As we flew to Inverness, we commuted to and from the airport by taxi. Conveniently there is bus stop within 2 minutes walk of the front door of the hotel, and you can be in the town centre in 15 minutes.
We received a polite but subdued welcome, probably because we arrived at noon and of course our room was not ready, which wasn't a big problem for us. So we had a bite to eat in the superb conservatory cum dining room. The food was OK but probably all micro-waved. Room 25 is a large room in the annexe, with 2 superb American sized beds. The bathroom is large too with a great shower.
As it was a small hassle to go into town to find a nice restaurant for dinner, we ate in the hotel. We were not over-impressed with the quality of the meal and suspect that the microwave was kept busy again. However on a positive note, I have to say that the waiting staff were very attentive and gave us good service.
Breakfast on both mornings of our stay was good with an excellent choice and variety. Scottish kippers are available - yummy!
This place is OK , but needs a bit of a shake up to make it more attractive in some of the public areas. The bar area is pretty dire as is the garden which could be made more colourful. The dinner menu, at least, needs to be a little bit more exciting.

I am not sure that we would return to Lochardil House Hotel, but it is comfortable, quiet, and it is fairly relaxing.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Hunter B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Of our nearly six week holiday in the U.K. and Spain, this is without doubt the best time and place we spent. Our six day stay was wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, clean and the food and the way in which it was prepared and served was excellent. I would have absolutely no hesitation on returning to this hotel on my next vacation to Inverness, Scotland

Room Tip: The lounge and dining room facilities are excellent and the staff will do anything to make your stay as most enjoyable as humanly possible.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are all delighted that you had such a nice stay here and appreciate your kindness in what you say.

Hopefully we will see you sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews