We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is exactly what you'd expect - room was clean and comfortable but nothing special. The bar was ok and the overall feel of the place was somewhere you'd stop for a night or for a work trip rather than a destination in its own right. Check in was a bit random, the person in reception didn't seem to be the right person to do the check in. All in all pleasant enough. We paid £112 for the room which felt a little high for the quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojom999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review I am glad you found things as expected.

Regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 523 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is a little walk outside of the main city but in a beautiful setting. The rooms are lovely; spacious, well equipped, comfortable and clean. It's a quiet location so you don't get disturbed by traffic etc. the breakfast is served in the conservatory and includes good Scottish choices including kippers, black pudding and freshly cooked eggs. Staff are helpful and offer advice on where to go and will happily organise taxis etc. Its a lovely hotel which shows off Scottish hospitality to its best!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room in the annex as you have a nice outdoor seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZakMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We try our very best and it is nice when appreciated. Our loyal hard working staff are our biggest asset and your kind words are welcome.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel as I was attending a wedding also being held in the Hotel, and I am happy to say that everything concerning both the wedding and my own personal stay was of the highest standard. This was however of no surprise to me as this was my second stay at this hotel, and a high standard of quality and service is obviously something that this business makes a priority to maintain. The staff were excellent in every department, from reception to the restaurant to the service at the wedding. My room itself was excellent, very clean, modern bathroom and comfy. So all in all, thoroughly hopping some more of my friends decide to get married at this hotel as it will give me an excuse to stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Guest


Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service was to your satisfaction once again.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our room was in the extra building on the property and not in the main area. The front desk staff were great, the rooms were clean but the bed wasn't comfortable. We had supper at the restaurant just once and wouldn't do it again. The waiters had no clue about things on the menu or didn't understand the questions or had to go ask someone. Our waiter even had to ask someone in the kitchen if we could add a scoop office cream to the dessert. The food wasn't very good either. It was just ok.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Linkmvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

my daughter held her wedding reception here on the 6th july 2013 the manner in which we were treated on our arrival,and indeed during our stay was nothing but simply professionalism at its very best I would recommend this hotel and all its staff for all their care and attention to detail no matter how small it was a pleasure to stay there and I would do so again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to have you all stay with us and to be entrusted with your daughter's wedding reception. We are delighted that the day went so well and that you all enjoyed being here.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding reception here on 6th July 2013. From the first meeting, we could not possibly fault any of the staff or the service we received. Robert was highly efficient in ensuring the planning of our reception was as we wanted and offered excellent advice based on his evident vast experience in this field, which we really appreciated. On the day everything ran so smoothly. All of the staff from Michelle in reception to the bar staff, waiting staff and other staff who we met either on the day, in the run up or the next day were so professional and worked their socks off for us. Our guests were raving about the food, the venue, the staff and the overall top quality of service and experience. A lot of our guests were staying here as well and could not fault it either.
What else made it perfect? The honeymoon suite was sooo big and comfortable. When the staff realised we were running late for breakfast they offered to bring it to our room. The gardens and the interior of the hotel were just perfect for pictures. The MacDonald suite was a great size for our 120 guests to maintain the intimate feel and then there was the perfect layout for after the meal.
We couldn't recommend this venue highly enough! If you are looking for the perfect venue for your big day then this is the place!
Thank you to all of the staff!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMacDonald30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Fiona and Kenneth

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are all delighted that you were so happy with all the arrangements and your stay here with us.

It was a pleasure to be entrusted with your reception and we all send our very best wishes to you both for the future.

Kind Regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have always enjoyed coming to Inverness and staying at Lochardil House. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much bother. During my recent health issues Graeme and staff made sure I had a ground floor room. I am very grateful to them for accommodating this.

The food is always excellent, with very generous portions!

I highly recommend this special hotel - you will not be disappointed!

Many thanks to all!

Arlene

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Arlenedg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Arlene

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We appreciate your nice words and have enjoyed having you to stay with us.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,783 reviews
4.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
3.1 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
659 reviews
1.5 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $131 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing